We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best ice cream in Bexhill” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Di Paolo's Cafe

Di Paolo's Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Bexhill-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $16
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
57 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best ice cream in Bexhill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Lovely ice cream, best I have tasted in a long time. Whilst there ,it was clear that they had many regulars popping in for coffee or ice cream. Lovely photos depicting the Di Paolo's family history , fascinating. Has a lovely 1950's feel about the place . Hopefully will be returning when in Bexhill next. Lovely place,lovely ice cream .

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rhett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    55
    16
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The absolute best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Heard some fab reviews about this place and only live 5minutes away so decided to give it a go! Legit the best ice cream I've had in a long time. So many choices of both ice creams and cones and all for an amazing price. Three ice-creams for under £10. The staff were also very friendly and the decor inside Di Paolo's is modern and inviting. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best Cafe in Bexhill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have been visiting Di Paolo, s Café for over thirty years. You always get a very warm welcome and very good food,also the Ice cream?well if you have never tried it,you don't no what you have been missing. Thanks John and your family.
Alan and Gina

Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Spectacularly good ice cream!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

The rating here is based entirely on the ice cream, which is some of the best I've ever had, and very good value. Can't comment on anything else except the coffee, which was nothing special. Service was very friendly, and the place seems to have a lot of regular customers.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely ice cream.. Poor everything else ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

We have had ice cream here on a number of occasions and it has always been divine - however the service has rarely been good, with them making clear they will only accept cash rather than cards and the server being tolerant at best. This morning we decided we would sit outside and have breakfast - a bit of a mistake. We had a pot of tea, which was brought out with grubby tea cups and one saucer between them, they did not bring out sugar or spoons. We asked for new cups as they were dirty, to be brought some slightly less grubby than before. I had a full English whilst my partner had a cheese and onion baguette - both incredibly underwhelming. They forgot to bring my toast, which we had to remind them of, only to be presented with one piece of toast smothered in butter. The full English was ok - sausages clearly relatively cheap, tomatoes were tinned plum tomatoes and the bacon was largely fat; other than that it was fine. My partner's baguette and side salad was literally a long roll with a couple of slices of cheese and some onion, with two slides of cucumber and tomato with some shredded lettuce; again, very much 'ok'. The service was relatively poor, with relatively moody teenagers serving us who at no point thought it prudent to wipe down the table from the previous people. All in all, the ice cream is wonderful but I really would not recommend breakfast.

Helpful?
4 Thank EleandRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Di Paolo's Cafe also viewed

Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
 
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
 
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
 

Been to Di Paolo's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing