We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great small restauant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Di Paolo's Cafe

Di Paolo's Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Bexhill-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $16
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great small restauant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We have just visited Di Paolo's for the first time & took a friend who went there when it opened in 1981.
Lovely welcome & we were very happy with the quality of the lunch. As mentioned by previous reviewers the ice creams were delicious ,so much co, that we bought a carton of chocolate & vanilla to take home with us.It was very well wrapped up & did not melt even though we had a journey of 3 hours.
The Christmas lunch looks very interesting & we hope to book a table.
Would recommend for the friendly staff & all round helpfulness.
It is useful to know that payment can only be made in cash.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    55
    16
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Would return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

I'm not in Bexhill very often, usually only for an occasional visit to the De La Warr, as with today's visit. Chose this place at random for lunch at about 1230 on a Sunday.

Welcoming and efficient service, and a pretty good range of types of meal to choose from.

We both had cod and chips and found the cod to be fresh and succulent and enjoyed the food very much.

Helpful?
1 Thank JupilerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Killer Ice Cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

If you want the best home made ice cream in the south they they have it at Di Paolo's in Bexhill loads of flavors not cheap but worth every penny

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mark1162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Icecream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Loved it. We know the owners and its the owners son that makes all the icecream himself! Brilliant. Great Service and friendly staff

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JenniferMcGrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Family Favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Been going to Di Paolo's for around 20 years. Lovely welcome always and consistently good food. Ice cream amazing! Visited today and pleased to see updated frontage with bifold doors. Wifi too ... glad it looks like we can visit for at least another 20 years.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jane521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Di Paolo's Cafe also viewed

Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
 
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
 

Been to Di Paolo's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing