We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,277)
Filter reviews
1,277 results
Traveler rating
577
362
174
97
67
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
577
362
174
97
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view sunday lunch reception staff beachside restaurant wedding reception our waiter gin palace restaurant staff main course afternoon tea wedding party fish and chips overlooking the beach function room steam room lovely location single room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
249 - 254 of 1,277 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2018

Bottom line will be going again - Recommended. Stopped for a drink at the gun palace before dinner and whilst not cheap not too expensive either. Good range of gins and mixers. Brasserie set out well and can accommodate groups as well as couples. Good good served well. Wine list ok. Prices as you'd expect in such a place. Overall impressed. Try the chicken kebab or the fish and chips to name but two!!

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RandRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali R, Guest Relations Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2018

Dear Guest,
Its fabulous to read how you enjoyed your recent visit.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, hopefully we may see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2018

We use the brasserie at the hotel fairly regularly as we live locally and so far, each meal we have had has been lovely.

Most recently we were here on Saturday evening and once again the food was delicious and the service attentive without being pushy.

We all ordered different things, including the seafood skewer, sea bass, pork belly and lamb cutlets - and we all really enjoyed our choices.

The peanut butter parfait was a naughty but nice treat to finish the meal.

Our only negative and it's a personal view is that we feel the contemporary decor of the Brasserie is spoiled by the rather loud carpet. Given the modern feel of the restaurant and it's beachside location it would have been so much nicer if a lovely limed wooden floor had been laid.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Service
Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali R, Guest Relations Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your dining experience with us.
Lovely to read how you all enjoyed the food and I have passed on your comments regarding the flooring to the management team
Hopefully see you again soon on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2018

I have just returned from a 1 x night stay in a single room on the second floor. I understand this is a 3 star hotel, but there is no lift and no offer to help with luggage. I was surprised to find no full length mirror in the room and although the toiletries were nice, no shower gel, just shampoo, conditioner and body lotion. The room was very clean if a bit 'tired'. Staff were friendly and the food in the restaurant was very good.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 500Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali R, Guest Relations Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2018

Dear Guest,
I was sorry to read that you were not offered any help with your bags upon arrival, this should be standard practice at The Cooden Beach Hotel and I'm sorry it did not happen in your case. .
We do actually offer an all in one body/hair shampoo in the bathrooms which we have had some very positive comments on, again I am sorry you were disappointed with this.
I have passed on your comments regarding the mirror and lift to the General Manager.
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2018 via mobile

It was a lovely day and we found the hotel when driving along the coast road out of Eastbourne. The position is great and it looked very promising as a place for lunch and a drink.
Sadly the food was terrible. We both ordered a ciabatta with crushed avocado, smoked salmon and crab, with potato salad. Instead of crushed avocado it was a slimy guacamole mixture (catering?) and the fish on top (which was OK) was drowned in a cheap Marie Rose sauce. The potato salad was mostly mayonnaise with a lot of dill. The best thing was the green salad with a light vinaigrette. We scraped off as much of the pink glupe and green slime as we could without losing too much of the fish, but it was not the dining experience we hoped for!
Such a shame as with a few small tweaks (using fresh avocado and the sauce in a pot and not on the food) it could have been an enjoyable eating experience. We left with a bad taste in our mouths of feeling we had been ripped off.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Foodella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali R, Guest Relations Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2018

Dear Guest,
So sorry you didn't enjoy your meal when you recently dined with us, I was surprised to read this as the 'Open Crab Ciabatta' is a very popular choice for many.
However, Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts and I have passed on all your feedback to our Head Chef, Mikey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2018 via mobile

Since when we went in this place we cannot
Wait to be back there! The city just 3 minutes with the taxi is small but beautiful, the hotel has a big cleaned room and we were lucky enough
To have a room with balcony so we could enjoy a drink with the great view! The food at the hotel was so good that we never had dinner outside! The breakfast was good, but I hope they added a little bit more choice to the buffet. The gym spa and pool small, but cosy and
Cleaned! We di le not have the opportunity to have a massage so maybe next time we will be able to have one as well! We will repeat surely!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank giuliacZ613KK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali R, Guest Relations Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2018

Dear Guest,
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at The Cooden Beach Hotel.
Hopefully we may get the chance to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews