We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great golf break.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cooden Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bexhill-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Fantastic location for a quiet break . Food was superb as was service . Ideal golf break - golf course is opposite - fantastic condition a good golf test .

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giggsywiggsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (978)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

936 - 942 of 978 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2009

Stayed for 2 nights celebrating Wedding Anniversary. Room in annex with lovely sea views although windows could have done with a bit of clean but overall the room was comfortable. Bathroom refurbished nicely but bath/shower (we prefer showers) was a bit dodgy getting in and out of - almost impossible if you had any sort of disability!

On first afternoon ordered snack from bar which only arrived when my husband went for a second drink and found it sitting on the bar as no one knew who it was for! Luckily not a hot snack. One of the bar staff made it quite clear he didn't really want to be there and Basil Fawlty came to mind!

Oceana Restaurant had a distinct '70s feel to it and the "posh" fish and chips was definately not. We were told by the Receptionist that we did not need to book a table as we were paying for dinner but when we turned up on Saturday evening we were given a pretty frosty greeting by front of house as we hadn't booked, however I noticed that at least 3 tables remained empty for the whole evening. Always had to ask for wine list and on the second night the water at table was warm! On the whole the waiting staff could have done with a short course on how to wait at table. When we ordered a bottle of Champagne the wine waiter asked what we were celebrating and when told jokingly asked if it was our 50th! Given the way we were treated that night this was probably not the best thing to say - good to know we looked old enough though (not)!

We used the pool which was OK but small and could do with a bit of a spruce up.

This hotel relies on its location and is over-priced for what you get.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MegandBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

I have just returned from a stay at this hotel and was more than delighted with the overall experience.

The Hotel sits almost on the beach at Cooden Bay which is about a five minute walk away from Bexhill on Sea. From the front the hotel looks delightful and the public rooms are all of a high standard.

We had booked a sea view double and at check in, which was a simple process, we were informed that our room was in the new annex. This was to the side of the hotel and required a very short walk (maybe 20 yards or so) across the carpark. The room was generously sized had a smart modern bathroom, patio doors that opened onto a Juliet balcony, small flat screen TV and a bed with a very comfortable memory foam matteress. The room was generally spotlessly clean, as was the rest of the hotel, but on our first day the bathroom bin had not been emptied.

The food was excellent, the restaurant manager and his staff were first class and nothing was too much trouble for them. The restaurant can be very busy at certain times, many local residents use it at weekends, so it is important to book a table for dinner to avoid a missing out on the best sea view tables. Breakfasts are buffet style with plenty of quality hot and cold foods avaliable.

The hotel hosts many private functions. On the Saturday Evening of our stay there were two events being held one at each end of the building. The music continued until approximately midnight and could be heard in the bedrooms. If you are early to bed or a light sleeper then you must be aware of this.

Overall we had a wonderful stay and would be happy to return to this hotel and this corner of England again

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beechdalebasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

Stayed here for one night to attend a function and was very impressed with the helpfulness of the staff and the breakfast, nothing was too much trouble. Our room was very nice, in a new wing, with a very comfortable bed. All this and right on the beach. Swinning pool is small but adequate and a nice jacuzzi was had by me and the missus.

Keep up the good work!

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank jonnyp57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

This hotel is in a great location, right on the beach!

However the room we had was rather dated and a little bit tatty. It was also pretty small and in my opinion over priced.

But at the end of the day it was a 1 night stay for a wedding so this didn't matter.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

I was treated to a weekend here for my birthday and it was truly delightful. I love the coast so I was thrilled on arrival to find the hotel on the very tip of the beach. A fabulous setting! Staff polite and attentive on arrival. An incredibly comfortable bed (sank deep into a foam mattress and stayed there!) and a super shower made the room very welcome. We had a lovely dinner followed by a walk on the beach right outside the dining room. A star filled sky after dinner - perfect! The pool, jacuzzi etc and added bonus to a romantic weekend by the sea. Can't wait to return and perhaps take a paddle this time! Please make sure you have more Banoffie Pie in the fridge tho (the desert selection was a little selective, cheesecake or cheesecake...can't believe the Banoffice was snaffled!)

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissR74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2009

I stay here a couple of times a year. Sometimes with the missus, sometimes with a bunch of golfing pals. Great rooms, excellent food and fab service with superb location. And for golfers, the course across the road is top notch.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil_E_Usfog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bexhill-on-Sea
7.8 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,534 reviews
5.7 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Leonards-on-Sea
873 reviews
8 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,496 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#4 of 40 in Eastbourne
902 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cooden Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cooden Beach Hotel

Address: Cooden Sea Road, Bexhill-on-Sea TN39 4TT, England (Formerly Jarvis Cooden Beach)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Bexhill-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bexhill-on-Sea
Price Range: $105 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cooden Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1928 the Hotel is a building of character which has undergone several changes of ownership in its time. The beginning of 2005 was the year the current owner took over the hotel and refurbished at that time also adding a beautiful beachside terrace to enjoy refreshments overlooking the sea and stunning sunsets over the Sussex Downs. The Hotel continues with an upgrade plan throughout all areas. The Beachside Restaurant with its sea view, Traditional English Menu and Sunday Carvery also The Cooden Tavern is a Bistro style eatery to cater for all guest requirements as well as a bar and lounge. For those who would like to relax with a swim the Leisure Club with heated pool, sauna, spa, steam room and gym is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your The Cooden Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cooden Beach
The Cooden Beach Hotel Bexhill-On-Sea, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing