We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revisit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cooden Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bexhill-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
2 reviews
“Revisit”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Found the Cooden Beach Hotel very reliable as in cleanliness and really good food. Staff as friendly as always. We love the memory foam Beds, but the best thing is being right on the beach, can't beat it, whatever the weather. Great for walking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the hotel and your kind comments about he staff, food and cleaning level.

We do place a lot of importance on a good night's sleep and as such have mostly Tempur Mattresses and a few Pocket Sprung Mattresses so all of our guests are relaxed and refreshed on waking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    263
    128
    71
    40
See reviews for
269
292
62
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Truro, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband and I recently went to a wedding here. Food at the wedding, lunch and breakfast was great especially the scampi yum! The staff were amazing so friendly and very helpful.they couldn't do enough to make the wedding special for our friends. It's in amazing spot very pretty.
the rooms were clean and the bathrooms very modern. The beds were so comfortable. Would stay again next time we're in the area seeing friends.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linzi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, we are delighted to learn you enjoyed the Wedding you attended here and look forward to welcoming you for any future breaks you have in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The hotel is ideally located on the outskirts of Bexhill, with plenty of parking. I stayed in a single room (104), which was adequately sized for my needs. The room is above the function room, which I thought might be a problem when I discovered there was a wedding reception being held there on the Saturday night, however the music stopped at 11pm - so not a problem at all.

I only had cereal and toast for breakfast and did not eat there, so cannot comment on the food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Cooden Beach Hotel, we appreciate the time you have taken to do this.

We are pleased you enjoyed our stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and I decided to take a ride out through the Kent and Sussex countryside today and we came across the Cooden Beach Hotel. We had no trouble parking and found a table on the terrace outside overlooking the beach with panoramic views of the sea. We had a simple lunch: a ploughman's and a cider and a beer but the menu was very varied with hot and cold options. The food arrived at our table quite quickly and was a fair sized portion of cheese, lots of salad and pickles and some freshly baked bread. Inside the hotel, a pianist was playing relaxing music to accompany lunch, all of the communal areas were all spotless and the toilets were very clean. We have decided, based on this initial experience, to book in for a long weekend. Can't wait!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippa226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are delighted your day our brought you to our door step and that having found us you stayed to enjoy the location and lunch.

We look forward to welcoming you for a longer visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were staying nearby to this hotel so we thought we would have lunch (we had before that had a cappuccino £3 for a small cup but good ). We had fish and chips for lunch cooked in a tempura batter. They were accommodating as the plaice was normally grilled but they were happy to do it in batter. Generally is was ok.

The outlook is great from the bar (but you can't have hot food there) and the tables outside as they are right on the beach. We were in the tavern which did not overlook the sea.

We will try other places in bexhill.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VioletJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your lunch experience, we will always do our best to accommodate our guests requests to make sure they have a good experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

My grandfather passed away not long ago and we decided we were going to have his wake at the cooden beach hotel. The grounds are beautiful, but inside is old dated and tired. Time for a update?! Anyway, we were piled in a smallish room, and paid extortionate prices for the food. We had a couple of different bland sandwiches which didn't even go round all the guests, and then when we said there was not enough to the staff they brought out Iceland party sausage rolls. Gross! To top it off they brought out one small plate of cakes, which didn't even reach half of the guests. We were not impressed one bit! Why are they so over priced for the less than satisfying food and experience over all? It was tremendous money for half a sandwich each and a bite of cake. Won't be going there or booking anything there again. Rethink your prices and decor!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsU3113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
We are most sorry to learn of your unfortunate experience at a funeral reception with us.

Funeral Receptions are unpredictable, family estimate the number of people expected to attend the reception then book and cater for that number, sometimes more people than expected attend, this could make the room a little cramped if for example a expected number of attendees is 20 so a room for 20 is book but 30 arrive.

The same problem is then extended to the food, if more people arrive than catered for the food quantity will be inadequate, in these situations we do our best to quickly provide additional food.

We do not use food from Iceland.

The character of the hotel is not ultra modern so the décor is appropriate to the building, this is not to everyone's taste, we décor is refreshed continually.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We have just had my daughters wedding and reception at the Cooden beach. From that first meeting with the hotels general manager Jenny we felt as though she was one of the family, and couldn't do enough for us. When the big day finally arrived Jenny and the rest of the team were exceptional at meeting our needs and constant requests, although I don't think we were too demanding. The rooms we booked were of varying sizes and had great views to the sea. They were very comfortable, bright and airy and most importantly clean and well serviced. The complimentary toiletries are very welcome but we would have preferred glasses instead of disposable cups, however I'm sure if we asked it would have been no trouble or inconvenience to have supply. The wedding ceremony room was beautifully dressed and organised and it really was a special occasion for us and our guests. The wedding breakfast was superb! amazing food and was devoured by all, very yummy, and the drinks were being topped up regularly by Jenny and the waiting staff. Mr Kimble the hotel owner introduced himself and made sure we had everything we needed, which was a really lovely touch. The room was quickly turned around to accommodate the evening wedding guests and the buffet looked and tasted delicious. Overall, the only thing I could ask for is "can we do it all over again" E X C E L L ENT!! Thank you to all the staff a The Cooden Beach Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first, but they are generally all good it's personal preference as to your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted your daughter's wedding was such a fabulous event. We love to do weddings so it is great to hear that is was so enjoyed by the Wedding party.

We appreciate the time you have taken to post this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bexhill-on-Sea
8.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,567 reviews
5.4 mi away
PowderMills Country House Hotel
5.7 mi away
Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 40 in Eastbourne
846 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
6.2 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cooden Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cooden Beach Hotel

Property: The Cooden Beach Hotel
Address: Cooden Sea Road, Bexhill-on-Sea TN39 4TT, England (Formerly Jarvis Cooden Beach)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Bexhill-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bexhill-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cooden Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1928 the Hotel is a building of character which has undergone several changes of ownership in its time. The beginning of 2005 was the year the current owner took over the hotel and refurbished at that time also adding a beautiful beachside terrace to enjoy refreshments overlooking the sea and stunning sunsets over the Sussex Downs. The Hotel continues with an upgrade plan throughout all areas. The Beachside Restaurant with its sea view, Traditional English Menu and Sunday Carvery also The Cooden Tavern is a Bistro style eatery to cater for all guest requirements as well as a bar and lounge. For those who would like to relax with a swim the Leisure Club with heated pool, sauna, spa, steam room and gym is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Cooden Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cooden Beach
The Cooden Beach Hotel Bexhill-On-Sea, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing