We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal setting, hotel, staff and fab food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cooden Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bexhill-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We have just had my daughters wedding and reception at the Cooden beach. From that first meeting with the hotels general manager Jenny we felt as though she was one of the family, and couldn't do enough for us. When the big day finally arrived Jenny and the rest of the team were exceptional at meeting our needs and constant requests, although I don't think we were too demanding. The rooms we booked were of varying sizes and had great views to the sea. They were very comfortable, bright and airy and most importantly clean and well serviced. The complimentary toiletries are very welcome but we would have preferred glasses instead of disposable cups, however I'm sure if we asked it would have been no trouble or inconvenience to have supply. The wedding ceremony room was beautifully dressed and organised and it really was a special occasion for us and our guests. The wedding breakfast was superb! amazing food and was devoured by all, very yummy, and the drinks were being topped up regularly by Jenny and the waiting staff. Mr Kimble the hotel owner introduced himself and made sure we had everything we needed, which was a really lovely touch. The room was quickly turned around to accommodate the evening wedding guests and the buffet looked and tasted delicious. Overall, the only thing I could ask for is "can we do it all over again" E X C E L L ENT!! Thank you to all the staff a The Cooden Beach Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first, but they are generally all good it's personal preference as to your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted your daughter's wedding was such a fabulous event. We love to do weddings so it is great to hear that is was so enjoyed by the Wedding party.

We appreciate the time you have taken to post this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (993)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

780 - 786 of 993 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We stopped off for a cream tea as had been recommended by friends. We were glad we did! Superb location, lovely views, and the most delicious cream tea. Scones were big, still warm and served with a very generous helping of clotted cream & jam. Will definitely return for more!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Daisylilyflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you took your friends recommendation and joined us for a Cream Tea.

Large warm Scones with lots of Jam and Clotted Cream are hard to resist..........

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had the best weekend of our life. Our wedding was the perfect day and we could not fault the wedding team at all. The hotel rooms were lovely and the staff were all friendly and gave fantastic service. Jenny the general manager is amazing and she made our whole wedding journey run like clockwork. She should be very proud of her team and hotel. Thank you all so much. We will be returning for many more events. See u all soon

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with everyone.

We are always aware that each Wedding is such an important day for the Bride, Groom and their families so work hard to make sure it is an unforgettable experience for all the right reasons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Three nights to include a family party for 85 in the Tavern; the throng fitted the owners declared constituency and, no denying, everyone was very happy. After Bexhill County Grammar, I escaped to Dartmouth. Bexhill must be the capital of the Costa Geriatrica. The bunglow dwellers do not use the Cooden Beach. Those who live off them do. Builders and roofers are bronzed. Solicitors, undertakers, financial advisers, estate agents and bankers are more pale. Shaved heads, slogganed tee shirts and bizarre shorts predominate, but they are content and well provided for. Party goers have discounted rooms immediately above the noise and fumes. Our room was big with a good bathroom, of which the door could not be closed. Two lights down and reported, but no remedy. Keep grinning; you get the picture?

Room Tip: Not above the party venues
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank embleton07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

A somewhat unfair view of Bexhill.

The Town in general and the Hotel in particular are really not recognisable from this description.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

A bit delayed but have to say what a great day we had for our wedding in April this year. As the bride, I stayed the night before so I could get ready. Had a nice room with a large balcony from which I could see the beach. Plenty of room for myself and my daughter to get made up on the big day. Awoke to rain but this cleared long enough in the afternoon for some beach photos, even if it was a bit windy! The staff were extremely helpful all day and the food was excellent. We had per ordered meals but the hotel still allowed some guests to change their choice on the day.
The value for money for the wedding package was very good with lots of usual extras included!
To finish the day we were in the honeymoon suite which overlooked the sea And it was a lovely view to wake to in the morning.
Jenny and her team all worked hard to make the day special
Having read some some reviews posted that are very negative, I felt this needed to be said as it is not as bad as they state. When you book into a hotel in a building as old as this with all its character you should realise that it may not be as modern as some new hotels as this would spoil the character of the hotel!
Thanks Jenny and team, have recommened you to a friend for her sons wedding!
Carol and tim Greenfield, 26th April 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cg260413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for your kind comments, they are much appreciated as is your understanding of the keeping the hotel in character with the building.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We both had very fresh dressed crab with new potatoes and a salad, which was quite delicious. They now have live cooking there, normally with two chefs, who were very courteous, together with the bar personnel. They have changed their tables and chairs, of which are very comfortable. Altogether an exceptional evening.
Today, we also attended a funeral reception and I must say the wine and food was excellent. Hot and cold buffet. We were in the main dining room with lovely views out to sea. Would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for your very kind comments about the 'New Look' Cooden Tavern and the open kitchen and your meal as well as your comments about the Funeral Reception you attended.

We are delighted that all went well and thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

As regular visitors to the Sussex coast we have often passed this hotel and wondered what it would be like to stay.
We booked a sea view double for an overnight birthday treat and could not bring ourselves to pass the night there.
It seems that the hotel caters mainly for the elderly and for wedding receptions, one was taking place on our arrival. Our first impression on entering the room was that it was tired, cramped, and more than a little grubby. There was a huge tear in our net curtains and they could do with a good clean too. The balcony/patio offered a lovely view of the marquee and tables where the wedding guests would be entertained. A note in the hotel brochure informed us that the reception could continue until midnight !!
Beware, if you like quiet seaside accommodation this is NOT the place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank VSGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bexhill-on-Sea
5.4 mi away
PowderMills Hotel & Restaurant
5.7 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Leonards-on-Sea
897 reviews
4.2 mi away
Priory Court Hotel
Priory Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pevensey
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
23.5 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
7.1 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cooden Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cooden Beach Hotel

Address: Cooden Sea Road, Bexhill-on-Sea TN39 4TT, England (Formerly Jarvis Cooden Beach)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Bexhill-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bexhill-on-Sea
Price Range: $123 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cooden Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1928 the Hotel is a building of character which has undergone several changes of ownership in its time. The beginning of 2005 was the year the current owner took over the hotel and refurbished at that time also adding a beautiful beachside terrace to enjoy refreshments overlooking the sea and stunning sunsets over the Sussex Downs. The Hotel continues with an upgrade plan throughout all areas. The Beachside Restaurant with its sea view, Traditional English Menu and Sunday Carvery also The Cooden Tavern is a Bistro style eatery to cater for all guest requirements as well as a bar and lounge. For those who would like to relax with a swim the Leisure Club with heated pool, sauna, spa, steam room and gym is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Cooden Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cooden Beach
The Cooden Beach Hotel Bexhill-On-Sea, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing