We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special at all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cooden Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bexhill-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The room I stayed in was very old fashioned - and looked like it could do with an update. Clean though. Tea / coffee / hot choc available with biscuits. Very small TV. Bathroom nice (more modern than bedroom) and shower wonderful. Service variable - some superb staff members - blonde girl on reception a credit to the hotel -truly understands customer service. Very small pool and gym, but at least they have one. Pool hard to swim in as half of it is extremely shallow. Steam and sauna (didn't try) - jacuzzi great - very relaxing after a swim. Had pool area to myself bar one other late at night which was nice. Right on sea. Breakfast OK - they didn't have the fruit bread that is in their menu........had usual croissants / pastries / fruit / cereals and then cooked options. Shame they don't have quorn sausages for veggies.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, your feedback is much appreciated.

I was very pleased to pass your very kind comments to our Head Receptionist, thank you.

It was good that you enjoyed our leisure club and managed to find a time to enjoy the facility almost to yourself.

It was unfortunate that we had run out of fruit bread at the time of your visit, its clearly very popular and we have noted that we need to make certain this is taken care of. We do offer a vegetarian cooked breakfast which does include quorn sausages, we will make certain this is made clear when our breakfast menu's are re printed.

Your comments have been very useful and we are pleased to be able to act on them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (973)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

770 - 776 of 973 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

Went to the Cooden Beach Hotel last Sunday for something to eat as we've driven past before and heard their ads on the radio. A funny old place this one. When you arrive it looks lovely, the seating area by the beach is delightful but there are giveaway signs. A scruffy trolley with ketchup, salad cream and vinegar plus your knives and forks... Tables with used glasses, plates and cutlery on and not cleaned, by the looks of it, between visitors. You have to order at the bar and no tab so you need to go in, grab a menu, see what everyone wants and then go back in, order food and drinks and pay! Bit of a faff. Bar staff friendly...ish, if a little abrupt in the sort of, that's the way we do things here, type of way. Food arrived in good time and was fine, my wife had 'posh fish and chips' which she enjoyed, had the choice of Cod or Haddock with chunky chips and mushy peas. I had a home made burger with cheese and chunky chips with a bit of salad too, again it was fine but both meals were around £12 each so not cheap. Beer and wine was fine and it was all, OK... If it hadn't been for the stunning position and views I'd probably be giving it a 2 star rating. As for inside the Hotel.. Seems stuck in the 80's, very much harvester/holiday inn feel to it. Can't comment on the Hotel part of it but I would go again on a lovely evening sitting right on the beach in the sun. It's still amazes me how owners can't see how simple changes in service and decorations can transform a 3 star place such as this to a 5 start experience. Ho hum!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kipims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we appreciate the feedback and your comments have been taken on board.

On a very busy day we do put a condiment table outside for the convenience of our guests also
a very busy day (such as it was on 14th July) can experience a delay in table clearing which is unfortunate, we have noted this was a problem and will work to be more vigilant in this area.

The interior of the hotel has a continuous policy of decorating and improvement while keeping sympathetic to the age and style of the building.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a wedding. Family sea view room was beautiful and clean with a nice big bed and bathroom. The breakfast was fabulous- enjoyed every bit. Very helpful staff and easy check in. Easy to find and park too. Only thing is we had a moany guest about us using pool at 9.15 and apparantly we wasnt supposed to be in there until 9.30 so had to wait for a moany lady to leave....that was the only bad bit. I would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, we can only apologise for the complaining leisure guest but pleased it didn't mar your overall experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a friends wedding , absolutely beautiful setting right on the beach, however once greeted by very friendly staff and was pointed to our room, was disappointed to find we was in an outer building facing a train station with callouts frequently, a fast road and a carpark, not quite the setting I was expecting, had lots of problems with the door cards and could not get the cold water to work !! the room was of a satisfactory standard and breakfast was some wait to be served but very nice once finally received it.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view !! not all rooms have the beautiful setting one would expect with this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foxylady67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, we are sorry to learn you were disappointed with your experience.

As with all hotels we have a front and a rear so rooms will have a split between outlooks. The hotel does benefit from a car park at the rear and a nearby train station (trains do stop before midnight) and a number of rooms do have this outlook.

I would question the 'fast road' as it is little more than a country lane where 2 cars pass slowly with care and the hotel is situated on a junction.

The rooms in the Sea House are modern rooms and therefore perhaps not to everyone's taste, we were sorry to learn of problems with the key cards and our maintenance Manager has looked into this.

Breakfast is cooked to order and we think it is worth a short wait for a freshly prepared breakfast.

We do appreciate you taking the time to review the hotel and we can use your review to improve where possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We booked a family room for myself my husband and two children. We had a double bed, single bed and camp bed. All beds were extremely comfortable. The room looked a little dated, but we could forgive this as the comfort, prompt help from staff and general atmosphere made up for it.
The sea view is lovely and the room was very quiet, other than a bit of noise from people outside.
Breakfast was excellent! We felt it was one of the best hotels we have visited for the selection and quality of food. Bar service was also very good.
The only thing I would have liked was a small fridge in the room. Other than that, it was a very good stay. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janine417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments, we are delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on our breakfast and award winning sausages and are pleased to learn you enjoyed the breakfast.

A plan for the bedrooms to be upgraded in the not too distant future in on the table and your suggestion has been noted.

Many thanks for taking the time to share your views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our daughter arranged her wedding at this hotel. It could not have been better. The hotel is a "one off", not part of a group, the building is not state of the art but satisfactory in every respect. The food was well presented and well cooked. The staff could not have been more accommodating, nothing was too much trouble. We intend to return in the future, not part of a wedding party!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments, we are delighted that your daughters wedding went well and was enjoyed by all. Many thanks for taking the time to submit a review, it is always appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights for a wedding. Food was excellent, staff very attentive, and the hotel was very comfortable. Would love to return.
Location right on the beach.
Food was very tasty, and presented nicely, no long waits for your food to appear.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loulou024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Cooden Beach Hotel and hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bexhill-on-Sea
5.7 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Leonards-on-Sea
867 reviews
7.8 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,459 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#8 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,488 reviews
23.5 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
8.4 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#4 of 40 in Eastbourne
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cooden Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cooden Beach Hotel

Address: Cooden Sea Road, Bexhill-on-Sea TN39 4TT, England (Formerly Jarvis Cooden Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Bexhill-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bexhill-on-Sea
Price Range: $131 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cooden Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1928 the Hotel is a building of character which has undergone several changes of ownership in its time. The beginning of 2005 was the year the current owner took over the hotel and refurbished at that time also adding a beautiful beachside terrace to enjoy refreshments overlooking the sea and stunning sunsets over the Sussex Downs. The Hotel continues with an upgrade plan throughout all areas. The Beachside Restaurant with its sea view, Traditional English Menu and Sunday Carvery also The Cooden Tavern is a Bistro style eatery to cater for all guest requirements as well as a bar and lounge. For those who would like to relax with a swim the Leisure Club with heated pool, sauna, spa, steam room and gym is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The Cooden Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cooden Beach
The Cooden Beach Hotel Bexhill-On-Sea, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing