We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hotel on the Beach by Dorothy & Colin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cooden Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bexhill-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Dorothy & Me had a excellent Valentines evening at The Cooden Beach Hotel. The food. The decoration of The strand room. The entertainment from Singer Steve Dunnett . Dorothy said to me it was the best ever Valentines evening she ever had as we dance the night away. As the main man knows, James, we have seen The Cooden Beach Hotel come to its great excellents over the years You have owned it. For all the Occasions that the guests & business people use it & stay, relax, keep fit in The Club, Swim etc. Thank You James & Family & not forgetting the hard working staff who keep the hotel running smooth & clean for us all A1+ and more. Yours Dorothy & Colin.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colinkersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments, I have passed them to the Owner, On behalf of the staff we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (993)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

830 - 836 of 993 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

We spent yesterday evening at Cooden Beach Hotel's Valentine Dinner Dance. The venue was amazing, beautifully decorated in keeping with the occasion, the staff brilliant and the food lovely. Added to this there was a talented singer leading the evening. Our party of eight had a wonderful evening and will definitely frequent the hotel again. Well done Cooden Beach.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments with regard Valentine's day, I am really glad that you all enjoyed yourselves and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Cooden Beach Hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed the valentines evening at the hotel. The room had been beautifully decorated for the occasion, the entertainment from Steve Dunnett singing Frank Sinatra and Michael Buble songs was very enjoyable and we both danced the night away after indulging in a delicious 3 course meal with a good choice on the menu followed by coffee and mints.
We regularly visit the Tavern bar for a meal and drinks and are always completely satisfied with the food, service and the staff are extremely friendly, nothing is to much trouble for them.
Thank you to all of you, you do an excellent job.
Anne and Kevin Knowles.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you so much for the very positive comments with regard to our Valentine's day cabaret evening. I am so glad that you enjoyed the meal and especially glad that you enjoyed the entertainment. Steve Dunnett will be back with us in April, check our website for the dates and I very much hope to see you there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Last night, we very much enjoyed the new a la carte menu. There is an excellent choice, nice ambience and the waiter and staff were most helpful and could not do enough for us. Highly recommended. We also went to the Tavern on Thursday night and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The posh fish and chips were excellent and, although you have to order at the bar, the service of the waiters were excellent. Good value and attentive staff.

Room Tip: The new rooms on the south side facing the English Channel with view looking out to Beachy Head, Eas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeannette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

I asm so glad that you enjoyed the new a la carte menu in the Beachside Restaurant, thank you for the positive comments, I have passed these on to the staff and both myself and my staff look forward to welcoming you back to The Cooden Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

After having written a glowing report previously about the Cooden Beach I have to change my opinion after todays visit. It has been decided, I understand that because the restaurant is not making the money required, the 'Tavern' will now not offer table service and it is not possible to have a 'tab' ie the customer has to go to the bar to order EVERYTHING and pay as purchased. Bearing in mind the age of the clients (usually over 60 during the lunch period) it is a backward step to expect a customer to approach the bar for each course and to have to carry a tray of drinks to their table. I have, for the last 3 months enjoyed by lunch in the Tavern and always 'tipped' the waiter/waitress at the end of the meal. I DID NOT SEE ANYONE TODAY SO I COULD NOT TIP!!! THINK AGAIN MR. KIMBER !!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank DaisyBexhillonSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

I am very pleased that you have enjoyed your experiences of eating in The Tavern for the last three months and would like to assure you that following a very short experiment with the service in the Tavern that full table service is in fact back in operation, so not only is waiter service available in the Beachside Restaurant with it's new a la carte menu but also as it has been in the last two years in The Tavern. We look forward to welcoming you back for lunch soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Unexpectedly needing a room for the night, this place popped-up on my sat nav, so I phoned. At the price I was offered I really didn't expect much but it was late so I booked. What I found was a great location, friendly staff, a very comfy bed in a nice, clean room with en-suite and digital TV - a real surprise and just what I needed. I expected to have to pay extra for breakfast but no... Breakfast is included. Next time I'm in the area I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulineandjohnL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments, I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us at The Cooden Beach Hotel, I am glad that you enjoyed your included breakfast, we pride ourself on the use of locally sourced produce and the fact that every breakfast is cooked to order. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Cooden Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Gone down hill drastically in the last couple of years. Pool area is nice and quiet the only good thing about the place. Very out of date. Looks like a retirement home not a hotel.

Food is very poor! Meat very dry and not worth the amount of money we had to pay!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mills2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

We are at present undergoing a programme of refurbishment and redecoration in some public areas of the Hotel and function rooms, the rolling refurbishment of the hotel bedrooms continues so that we are constantly updating the look of the hotel.

We have since the beginning of 2013 introduced an a la carte menu to the Beachside Restaurant specialising in local produce of the season, giving a much wider and innovative menu still at reasonable prices.

I do hope that you will come back and visit us again so that we can show you the best of what we can do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bexhill-on-Sea
5.4 mi away
PowderMills Hotel & Restaurant
5.7 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Leonards-on-Sea
898 reviews
4.2 mi away
Priory Court Hotel
Priory Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pevensey
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
23.5 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
7.1 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cooden Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cooden Beach Hotel

Address: Cooden Sea Road, Bexhill-on-Sea TN39 4TT, England (Formerly Jarvis Cooden Beach)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Bexhill-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bexhill-on-Sea
Price Range: $123 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cooden Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1928 the Hotel is a building of character which has undergone several changes of ownership in its time. The beginning of 2005 was the year the current owner took over the hotel and refurbished at that time also adding a beautiful beachside terrace to enjoy refreshments overlooking the sea and stunning sunsets over the Sussex Downs. The Hotel continues with an upgrade plan throughout all areas. The Beachside Restaurant with its sea view, Traditional English Menu and Sunday Carvery also The Cooden Tavern is a Bistro style eatery to cater for all guest requirements as well as a bar and lounge. For those who would like to relax with a swim the Leisure Club with heated pool, sauna, spa, steam room and gym is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Cooden Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cooden Beach
The Cooden Beach Hotel Bexhill-On-Sea, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing