We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cooden Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Coast B&B(Bexhill-on-Sea)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
De La Warr Guest House(Bexhill-on-Sea)
$126
$123
Orbitz.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaspray Rooms(Bexhill-on-Sea)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Driftwood Bexhill(Bexhill-on-Sea)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
English Rose B&B(Bexhill-on-Sea)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Buenos Aires Guest House(Bexhill-on-Sea)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Park Lodge(Bexhill-on-Sea)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,049)
Filter reviews
1,049 results
Traveler rating
460
303
149
84
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
460
303
149
84
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewbeachside restaurantwedding receptionsunday lunchrestaurant staffleisure facilitiesafternoon teawaiting stafffish and chipsfunction roomoverlooking the beachwedding partysteam roomlovely locationsingle roomtrain stationhigh standard
Filter
Updating list...
891 - 896 of 1,049 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Gone down hill drastically in the last couple of years. Pool area is nice and quiet the only good thing about the place. Very out of date. Looks like a retirement home not a hotel.

Food is very poor! Meat very dry and not worth the amount of money we had to pay!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mills2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

We are at present undergoing a programme of refurbishment and redecoration in some public areas of the Hotel and function rooms, the rolling refurbishment of the hotel bedrooms continues so that we are constantly updating the look of the hotel.

We have since the beginning of 2013 introduced an a la carte menu to the Beachside Restaurant specialising in local produce of the season, giving a much wider and innovative menu still at reasonable prices.

I do hope that you will come back and visit us again so that we can show you the best of what we can do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

For almost 20 Years we have eaten and stayed at this hotel Our stay was comfortable but very noisy untill quite late. However we have visited the Restaurant very frequently and the Friday before Christmas we went there for the Christmas Lunch! What a disaster! The starter I had was a mediochre pate which could have been topped by Tesco , tasteless and the presentation was awful. Then the Turkey was like eating plastic, tasteless , dry and certainly not fresh carved turkey. The vegetables were uninteresting and bland, and not sufficient for 5 people! 2 of our party opted for Salmon which was appreciated but was of a meagre quantity. The profiteroles were a disaster , again dry , and because of the poor starters and main course, 3 of us opted out of the dessert, still having to pay £27.00 for 2 courses which I was appalled at! This was the last straw and we wont ever return because standards have dropped in the past 2 years and they certainly couldnt have dropped any further on that day!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jennywren300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and I returned from here yesterday after 3nights.I have to say the room we had 121,didn`t look anything like pictures advertised.It was dark,very poky and disappointing.The en-suite was almost as big as the room.Bedroom had small window with dark curtains.Had to have window open all night as so claustrophobic and hot.We had the heating switched off but still no air in room.God knows what it is would be like in summer months. Bath mat in bath was mildew.The fire alarm went off twice the first night we then couldn`t go back to sleep.
The food however was lovely, hot and plenty of it but expensive.Staff in restaurant very good.After evening meal on sunday we went into the bar for a drink,there was no bar staff.We waited about 10minutes then left.Unacceptable I feel as hotel appeared quite busy.Dont think we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

I am very sorry that you felt that the room you was allocated did not meet your expectations, being an older building sizes of the rooms do differ but we would have happily moved you to a different room if we had been aware. I can only apologise for the fire alrm disturbing you, I have also spoken to housekeeping and am assured that any bath mat not in pristine condition has been replaced.

I am glad however that you did enjoy the service and food in the Beachside Restaurant and can assure you that service in the bar has now been addressed and procedures put in place so that the bar is always manned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Very poor, turkey was dry and not carved from( whole turkey ) potatoes were so hard inedible! plenty of greens, if you asked for them but they had their hands full and it took a long time to get the over worked staff to help. Christmas pudding was small tasteless with little sauce. Profiteroles were empty, rather like eating fresh air!!! Staff were wonderful, helpful and hard working, NOT value for money. Will not go again for Christmas!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed again today. Still took 5 minutes to get a arman to serve me - despite 5(!) staff chatting together in the hallway outside the bar. Still it is Xmas - but then you would elect the hotel management to n sure that h bar was properly staffed to maximise sales.....

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Sunlovverjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews