We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very slow service and dreadful food”
Review of The Denbigh

The Denbigh
Ranked #20 of 130 Restaurants in Bexhill-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very slow service and dreadful food”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

4 Of us on a weekday, only 2 other tables being used. almost an hour for main course my meal was dreadful, a curry, the only way we could tell was by the menu.it was like a watered down stew.The others fared no better. These pubs charge and try to act like good class restaurants but should stick to being pubs. Simply awful

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    79
    30
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great pub atmosphere, and varied menu”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I took my family for a meal here and was delighted at the service, the varied menu, and a proper pub atmosphere, but one that was family friendly.

I am a local and it is very pleasing to have such a nice pub. We need to support these guys with our custom.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LonePool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Hit and Miss”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Have not been a regular here for awhile, so thought that it was about time to give the
place a go again.
The Denbigh is one of the few traditional pubs left in Bexhill. With a good sized car park, next to a main road and in a catchment area.
Generally it has a jolly crowd of punters, who can bring a dog in, if well behaved. A congenial atmosphere normally prevails.
Booked a table for two, mid week, when I knew the pub would probably be quiet.
Having heard tales of waiting a long time to get served at the bar and for food, we ordered drinks at the bar and the dinner at the same time, to expedite proceedings. This worked in our favour, as after a short while our meal was ready.
We both chose Crispy duck on a bed of Avocado salad with New potatoes. The Duck was excellent. The salad perhaps, could have done with a drizzle of a light dressing and the potatoes maybe a pat of butter. As the size of the portions were small, we went for a sweet.
For sweets my partner chose a Meringue Pavlova, which she said was very good, myself a Pecan cheesecake, which was very tasty. Again the portions were small, so overall the meal was not good value for money.
Dinning here when the pub is crowded is probably not a good idea, as on a quiet night the barman, who doubled as a waiter as well, at times was struggling to cope.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sebbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Used to be better!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Have enjoyed several good meals here in the last few years, however last Sunday was a big disappointment, the roasts were more like a school dinner, the meat was wafer thin and very fatty, certainly not carved after cooking! Certainly not worth £9.50!

It then got worse with the staff almost barking at us to take our sweet orders, followed by them stacking tables and chairs around as we were finishing our meal.

Definitely will give this a miss next time I am in that area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Service awful, waited over an hour for main course”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

It was our first visit to the Denbigh, we decided to go for a traditional Sunday lunch and booked a table for our party of five. We were seated in the upstairs section and it was freezing cold, we had to go back to the car to collect extra jumpers. The starters were ok, but the roast lunch was poor. Thin slices of meat with hardly any vegetables were served on large plates to make it look as though the portions were substantial; they were not. The deserts were very nice and well presented. The service is completely chaotic, everything involved a long wait even though it was only half full. We waited for an hour for the main course to arrive and was on the point of leaving. The decor is very tired and is in need of a major facelift. I would not visit again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank henryairdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Denbigh also viewed

Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
 
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
 
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
 

Been to The Denbigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing