We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and Local”
Review of The Northern Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bexhill-on-Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Northern Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bexhill-on-Sea
bexhill
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely and Local”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and I had the opportunity to visit the Northern Hotel
for Sunday lunch. We found the hotel most welcoming
and the food exceptionally lovely. The two dining rooms were full,
one facing the back garden and the other, the front of hotel.
Our starters, main course and puddings were delightful and the attention to detail with 'plate presentation' by chef, made a welcome respite from the normal
'Sunday Lunch'. We welcomed the change from the usual carvery menu and also found many other items on the menu also tempting. Staff were attentive and timely and front desk reception was most gentile.
I could go further on about puddings....as they were 'first class'.
All in all a hotel we would to visiting friends and family.

Room Tip: We dined at hotel but did not stay overnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank russell n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNorthernHotel, Owner at The Northern Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Restaurant. Quality Home Cooked Fayre has always been an essential feature to deliver to our Guests and we are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    14
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
8
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My daughter got married last weekend and many of the guests attending had travelled down from in and around Manchester to attend the wedding and had to stay a couple of nights. They were all thoroughly impressed by this hotel, the service was excellent, the staff were all friendly and polite and nothing was too much trouble for them. Our relatives all had an excellent stay at Bexhill for the weekend of the wedding and the Northern Hotel made their stay very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheryl503756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNorthernHotel, Owner at The Northern Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for recommending your guests to our hotel and thank you so much for your generous review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

superb.great service.wonderful food should be 5 star.relax in a wonderful friendly atmosphere,cant fault this hotel how nice to find all of this today and only five minutes from the railway station.thank you d e mcculloch

Room Tip: Room 25 and 27 29 great all the family felt at home
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNorthernHotel, Owner at The Northern Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Creating a relaxing, comfortable and friendly atmosphere for our guests is our prime concern. I'm glad we delivered. Thank you so much for taking the time to give a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

As much as the people seemed very nice I am afraid I cannot say only positive things about this place. My room (exception of bathroom) was very old fashioned and not in a charming way. It felt like a room in a nursing home rather than a hotel room. My bed was very soft and the headboard hit the wall when you sat on it. The two chairs were straight backed chairs i guess to suit the more elderly clientelle. The bathroom had been refurbed and was fine but I had barely warm water in the morning which disappointed. The other thing all of our guys said was how hot it was in our rooms. It was very warm indeed. I hate to say it but my room didn't smell very fresh the first thing I had to do was get some windows open. For the price you cannot knock it really. I think this is more suited to more senior guests and I am sure they enjoy it. I felt I had to write this as those other reviews seem a little OTT. My gripes are pretty small and you kind of get what you expect there but in this day and age I am not sure that will bring in younger return visitors. The staff were all very nice and I wish them luck.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank filmlocationhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNorthernHotel, Owner at The Northern Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and I’m sorry we didn’t meet your expectations on this occasion.

With so many other positive comments I feel you were you were indeed unfortunate to receive a service that was less than the acceptable standard that we set for ourselves and our customers.

We have a constant resolve to improve our facilities and services using period furniture to enhance, coupled with more modern facilities like improved bathrooms and Flat Screen TV’s. We acknowledge that such furniture may not be to everyone’s taste and have taken this comment on board.

Getting the temperature right for everyone is a challenge and I’m sorry you found it too hot. All rooms are fitted with radiators that can be individually adjusted to suit. If perhaps the room was too hot due to the afternoon sun we can only apologise and advise that we are considering reflective curtaining to alleviate this problem during exceptionally warm weather.

We of course apologise for you getting only warm water from your bathroom and can only imagine that it was perhaps a particularly high demand moment, we do believe we have addressed this problem now.

We do feel we offer excellent value and service commensurate with our charges. I’m sorry we were not able to please on this occasion but do hope we will have the opportunity for a “Second Chance” at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

So wonderful to discover a truly traditional hotel still existing in this age of plastic corporate facilities. A joy to stay here; you'd think that Miss Marple is going to enter the comfortable lounge at any moment.

Great foor and two lovely restaurants, although the Garden Restaurant provides a welcomed intimate atmpsphere.

Staff and management can't do enough for you; they're all so proud of this super little hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms to the rear are very quiet, ask for room 17/18 as it's lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bexhillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNorthernHotel, Owner at The Northern Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
We are proud indeed. Thank you so much for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

The previous review sums up this hotel perfectly. We have stayed 3 times ( for the reasons the previous reviewer made) and cannot fault the dedication and care the staff and proprietors extend to all. They go the extra mile which is so refreshing. The food is good- breakfast especially so- and the rooms comfortable.
There is no dedicated parking- but the street parking we found is never a real problem

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gerardWiltshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNorthernHotel, Owner at The Northern Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
We have been getting up to date with our reviews and want to thank you for taking the time to give some nice comments. Good personal service means a lot to us and all our staff appreciate when the efforts are acknowledged. Hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2010

This little 3-star hotel is a gem and harks back to a period when service and the comfort of guests is everything. Although the floorboards creak and the corridors are narrow, the rooms are extremely comfortable in that 'old fashioned' way.

Don't expect high-tech facilites here, just peace, quiet and comfort. The main clientele comprises elderly visitors (this is Bexhill after all!) or middle-aged couples visiting older relatives who live in Bexhill. There are two restaurants, with the Garden Restaurant being more congenial and intimate. Food is generally good, although can be a little over-cooked. The menu represents a traditional safe English style, with one or two variations. Vegetables are always fresh and plentiful. An acceptable wine list compliments the food.

The hotel is owned and managed by the 'Sims' family, comprising two brothers and one sister. They are supported by a delightful team of dedicated staff who (rarely in this day and age) obviously enjoy their work and serving their guests. The last important part of the team is Charlie, an ageing Colliedog who is a bit grumpy, not to be petted, but watches over everything in reception.....quite a character.

So, if you want to go back 40 years and stay in a traditional caring hotel, visit The Northern in Bexhill.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruokh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNorthernHotel, Owner at The Northern Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. Our dear Charlie is still with us and over 15 years old now. We continue with our style of excellent personal service within a quite, comfortable and peaceful environment. Hoping you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bexhill-on-Sea
2.2 mi away
The Cooden Beach Hotel
The Cooden Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bexhill-on-Sea
919 reviews
9.8 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,142 reviews
4.0 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seaspray Rooms
Seaspray Rooms
#3 of 22 in Bexhill-on-Sea
64 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Driftwood Bexhill
The Driftwood Bexhill
#2 of 22 in Bexhill-on-Sea
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Northern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Northern Hotel

Property: The Northern Hotel
Address: 76 Sea Road, Bexhill-on-Sea TN40 1JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Bexhill-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bexhill-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Northern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northern Hotel has been developed and improved by three generations of the Sims family. Today, while maintaining the friendly atmosphere that has always been a feature of the hotel, the family and staff endeavour to provide a high standard of cuisine, comfort and personal service. We are ideally situated in the heart of Bexhill, just a short distance to the Seafront, the famous De La Warr Pavilion and the Town Centre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Northern Hotel Bexhill-On-Sea, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing