We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good evening out”
Review of The Gurkhas

The Gurkhas
Ranked #18 of 125 Restaurants in Bexhill-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Authentic Nepalese Cuisine
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good evening out”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I have been to the Gurkhas Nepalese restaurant numerous times over the past years and it has never disappointed. Generally the food on offer is similar to Indian but is normally less spicy hot. However, they will adjust the 'heat' on request. And there are a number of items you won't see in an Indian. As a vegetarian I can confirm that there is a good choice, while my carnivorous friends were full of praise following our recent visit. The service is good but not over-attentive. It has to be said the restaurant is a little small- the staff looked relieved on my last visit when I explained that one of our party of nine was unable to attend at the last minute. Last but not least, the prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DataCollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    53
    11
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended!!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

One of the best restaurants in Bexhill. Food and service second to none. Try it once and you're certainly be back for more!! Spot on :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leebo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Ghurkas (Bexhill), a hidden gem!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a bit of a hidden gem of a restaurant which i discovered by accident..............and so glad i did. Been using it regularly for about 4 years. Had been an indian fan before i found this place. The food is always excellent and the service is great. Don't expect a plush interior, this place is all about the food and is great value for money.

There's something for everybody from mild to spicy and the free popadums and chutney tray is a nice touch while the meals are being cooked. The quality of the meats they use is fantastic...........go for the lamb options, you won't be dissapointed. I'm still working my way through the menu and finding new favourites all the time. Looking forward to my next visit, got a new dish to try.

Recommend booking well in advance if you want to go on a friday or saturday evening. Otherwise you'd have to use the takeaway service........which is also great and you get a good discount.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“First Gurkha experience”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was our first try of Gurkhan food, and we really enjoyed it! The restaurant is small, and I guess a little tired looking, but food and service were excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Orla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always great”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Great food and made to feel very welcome. Highly recommend this restaurant. We have also had take aways which are always great.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gurkhas also viewed

Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
 
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
 
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
 

Been to The Gurkhas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing