We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gurkhas

The Gurkhas
Ranked #12 of 125 Restaurants in Bexhill-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Authentic Nepalese Cuisine
Sussex
Level Contributor
97 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Visited with friends last weekend. What a lovely evening.

As there were nine of us we were seated downstairs which was great for a large party.

1st class service and excellent food. I could not fault the service or the food.

Thank you very much for a really enjoyable evening. I would recommend this restaurant wholeheartedly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SussexCherries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    53
    10
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill on Sea
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Another enjoyable evening at the Ghurkas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

It is sometime since we visited this restaurant and we were very interested to see if the quality and ambiance had been maintained. We were served by the same waiter who was extremely helpful in enabling us to choose dishes that would suit us and generally attentive throughout the meal. We have very little experience of Nepali food but both of us enjoyed our meal immensely. It is so nice to have a restaurant on your doorstep that you can trust to provide you with something out of the ordinary at a reasonable price. We shall certainly be back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank evergreengrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is an excellent little restaurant which I have used quite a few times. You are always assured of a warm welcome from the staff and the food is second to none.
I think Barney970 has reviewed the wrong establishment!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill on Sea, East Sussex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Something a little bit different”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Wanting to try a new restaurant in Bexhill, I came across this restaurant on Tripadvisor, and fancied trying it out. My wife reluctantly agreed, not been a fan of Indian flavours and spices.

Approaching it, it hasn't the nicest frontage or interior, but the seats were very comfortable and the restaurant was a pleasant temperature and ambience. The restaurants only small with only a handful of tables so it is advisable to book, luckily they squeezed us in. The one waiter was very friendly and courteous, but they could have done with another waiter as he seemed a little stretched at times.

With a good selection of appetisers and a vast array of main dishes, there's plenty of choice and something to suit everyone. We went for the meat rolls and chicken wings, which both had interesting flavours and were delicious. For mains, we went for a Biryani dish and the incredibly hot but delicious "Hot Garlic Lamb". Both dishes put to shame the curry dishes from our local Indian.

The food had fresh flavours and interesting spices. I would happily come here again, and as a bonus they also offer takeaway. Unfortunately my wife who isn't really into Indian food or spices found this a little too similar and didn't really enjoy it as much, so I would say that if you aren't a fan of Indian you probably wouldn't be a fan of this restaurant. That said, if you're like me and like Indian, then you'll be bowled over with the fresh ingredients and fresh flavours this restaurant offers.

Our bill came to £40 with a couple of large soft drinks each, 2 starters, 2 main courses and a couple of naan breads, I think it worked out extremely good value for the quality of food you get.


This will become my new favourite takeaway...when the wife's away :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bog Standard”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Come on. I know they try hard and the staff are very pleasant, but the food here is very average to say the least.Its like sitting in a rather drab lounge of an old Aunt.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Barney970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gurkhas also viewed

Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
 
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
 

Been to The Gurkhas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing