We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't bother with side vegetables”
Review of Trattoria Italiana

Trattoria Italiana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A brilliant Italian restuarnt in Bexhill. Quite unexpected! Very busy and the most fantastic seafood pasta I had ever had. Brilliant and a must for those who love Italian cooking and happen to be in Bexhill on Sea
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“don't bother with side vegetables”
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Somewhat redeemed by the grilled veg starter made from fresh raw veg ...otherwise the reheated frozen and even tinned veg and untruth about their origin brought this restaurant right down. Please either present us with what you have stated or cancel it from the menu.
very sad indeed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank seeteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ines333, Owner at Trattoria Italiana, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Madame,
We are really, truly sorry for the bad experience you had in our restaurant and at the same time very disappointed because of the reason of that.
In fact we are always very proud to sell (actually our veg come for free on the side of our main dishes) only fresh ingredients. Every morning, Monday to Saturday, our local supplier delivers fresh vegetables that we cook before twelwe o'clock when we start the service for lunch.
In other words: we don't use frozen or tinned veg so what it's written on our menu is 100% true.
As I said we are sorry you didn't like the taste. We defenitely use your comment to improve the quality of our side dishes, whether it's possible, in order to reach higher standards. If you'd like to please us with a new visit we will try our best to give you attention and better quality of service.
Thnk you very much to bring helpful contribution.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    449
    253
    73
    37
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Even better!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Trattoria Italia now has a new restaurant just two doors along from the original one which is still open for breakfasts, lunches, teas and coffees. The new and larger restaurant now has an upper floor and mezzanine overlooking the ground floor. It is very nicely appointed and has an excellent decor.
As for the dining experience, the food, wine, and service are all first class. It's just as good as ever, with very friendly and helpful staff. We enjoyed it so much that we will be dining there again in a few days time!
Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Aljen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful cake”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I just love this restaurant especially their sweets - was passing yesterday and just couldn't resist going in for a coffee and a slice of their delicious chocolate torte cake (picture enclosed)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loving the new restaurant, everything is just tip top”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Outstanding work on new restaurant, just loving its new location and look, what a wonderful atmosphere. Now a lot more romantic, luxurious setting and feels like a proper treat when you go there not just o we're just go trattoria as we can't be bothered to cook. On behalf of 4 of us who ate, food and house red wine seems to be better than ever!!!! Even so restaurant was full, waiters couldn't of been more warm and attentive, plenty of waiters to tables. Plus I'm pregnant so they gave me a specialised mussels dish that was ubber scrumptious, safe as houses and as usual perfect generous portion.
Strongly recommend melzane parmigiana and the seafood pasta dishes.
Was another tables birthday and the whole restaurant sang happy birthdays with the birthday music too whilst they brought out a candle cake!!
Super impressed. Love that this is a local restaurant to us and is finally of Eastbourne standards, can't wait to go back and have my own amazing calzone (rather than sharing dads lol).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlanichole148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Evening meal”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Pierro is going to be rewarded for opening another Italian restaurant in Bexhill. After all the hard work with the preparation of the restaurant, this is now a beautiful restaurant, which is much more spacious and has a mezzanine floor. The waiters tonight, ie. Carlo, Pepe, Igor were all very professional, attentive to detail and charming. As are all the other waiters in the restaurant. The food was first class and you can watch the live cooking. Such a pleasurable evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeannette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Italiana also viewed

Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
 
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
 

Been to Trattoria Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing