We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flawless!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arden House Bed & Breakfast Bexhill
Ranked #4 of 21 Bexhill-on-Sea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Flawless!”
Reviewed July 9, 2011

My husband and I (we are in our 50s) had tickets to a comedy gig in Bexhill-on-Sea last night. We left work early on Friday (we live in Greater London) and had a leisurely drive down. We had decided to spend the night in Bexhill and - based upon the recommendations here - booked a room at Arden House.

If you ever have occasion to spend a night (or longer) in Bexhill-on-Sea, you absolutely must stay here.

Our perfect experience began even before we arrived thanks to timely and friendly email communications between myself and Peter with regard to reservations, etc.

We arrived about 4.30pm and were met at the door by Peter – a most friendly, welcoming and authentic host. We unloaded the couple of things we had in the car, and Peter asked if we’d like a cup of tea. We certainly did! But instead of a quick cuppa in our room, he suggested we come back to the conservatory once we were unpacked and he’d have a cuppa waiting for us. Well, that thought was good enough for us, but once seated in the conservatory, he brought in the most charming tea tray (see photos) with homemade tea breads and a pot of perfectly brewed tea. Sigh. We knew Arden House was going to be a treat. (I have to mention here the GORGEOUS back garden you see from the conservatory! See photos.)

Previous reviews about this place being immaculate are not exaggerated at all. Now, I will admit that I am a cleanliness-obsessed traveller and not long ago we actually left a B&B in the Midlands because I was just not comfortable with the hygiene. This certainly wasn’t the case here. Everything was supremely clean, tidy, and organised. When I say clean, I mean *clean* - not just masked with good smells.

Our room (No. 4) was superb. Light and airy. Very comfortable mattress and linens. (We both slept like lambs.) Tastefully decorated. A good and varied selection of books were available. There was a digital radio on the bedside table and I thought it was an exceptionally nice touch that about half-a-dozen channels had been pre-set and the information printed onto an information sheet for you. Free wi-fi is accessible as well.

Bottled water was in the room, and tea and coffee making equipment – including a thermos of fresh milk which is of course the ultimate necessity for a true tea drinker! Wrapped biscuits were also on the dresser.

I loved the proper [wooden] clothes hangers in the wardrobe. (My pet peeve are those ‘security’ hangers that most places use.) And by the way, the clothes hangers were in an old, vintage wardrobe. This wardrobe was clean and nice-smelling but, again, not just a nice-smelling ‘mask-over’. Clean.

The ensuite bathroom was bright, roomy, sparkling and spotless. There is a beautiful curved glass shower in the corner and there was not a watermark to be found on either the taps or any of the glass – and there was a lot of glass! It was the little ‘extra’ touches at Arden House that really caught my attention, such as the excellent quality, embossed loo roll – and a small selection of reading material sitting atop the wicker clothes hamper.

After an excellent night’s sleep, we couldn’t wait to see what was in store for us at breakfast and we were not disappointed. The table setting was charming: fresh flowers, classic white crockery, and substantial-weight flatware that gleamed (no cheap, pressed metal knives/forks/spoons. Not a water spot on anything.

My husband had the English Breakfast; I had a bowl of porridge followed by a cheese omelette (see photos). I wish I could come up with a better word than ‘perfect’ … but perfect is what it was. Peter is an extraordinary cook. I would describe this breakfast as being made with a ‘light hand’ – nothing was over-done. The eggs, the mushrooms, the bacon, the fried bread: everything had spent precisely the right amount of time in the frying pan and came out (on warmed plates) as not only a visual feast for the eyes but for the stomach as well.

I don’t think I’ve ever had an omelette so light and fluffy. It was delicious. Oh yes … another one of those ‘extra’ touches that, to us, make a difference: No hard, cold pats of butter here; the rack of warm toast was accompanied by softened butter in its own little china pot.

Without a shadow of a doubt, we have no hesitation at all with recommending Arden House. And to Peter: You are an absolute delight – your friendliness and attention to detail is second-to-none. Thank you for what must be a tremendous, tremendous labour of love that you put into making Arden House the success that it is. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
178
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at this superb bed and breakfast. Peter the owner was very hospitable and made you feel very welcome. The room and bathroom were both spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. The breakfast was cooked to perfection with plenty of choice. Overall we had a very good stay. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyWhitstable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We stayed three nights with Peter Lapham at his delightful Arden House, and would recommend it to anyone looking for a base for exploring the South East Coast. We really liked Bexhill--it's a wonderfully quiet backwater, which means even in early July you might have the beautiful beach almost to yourself.

Our room was very spacious and comfortable, the bathroom recently remodelled and equipped with a great Grohe shower and top-of-the-line toiletries. Lovely bay window.

The breakfast is delicious (free-range eggs and Peter caters for (ovolacto!) vegetarians), and they are served in a pretty conservatory overlooking an exquisitely maintained English garden we were invited to use. Free wifi is a nice touch.

Peter's willing to offer tips for places to visit, and restaurants--not Bexhill's strongest point, but do try to Denbigh, which serves pub food with an Ansian twist. It really works!

Do visit the De La Warr (spelling?) Pavillion--with luck you might catch the kind of concert you wouldn't really expect from a little town like this one, or an interesting art exhibition.

Can't recommend Arden House, or its host, too strongly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudeandJem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2011

It was a joy to stay at this Bed and Breakfast. The hosts Peter and Martin were very welcoming. The room was airy and comfortable. There was tea and coffee with fresh milk in the rooms and biscuits. It was a very peaceful place to stay. The breakfast was excellent. Very very tasty and cooked to perfection. The sausages are locally sourced and really good. Peter recommended some good places to eat in the evenings and also provided some maps of walks around the local area. Nothing was to much trouble. Will definitly be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneDoug58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2011

This was our first stay at Arden House, having made the selection and booking purely from internet information - and its central location for our planned day trips in East Sussex and Kent.

In the event, we soon realised we had found a real gem. Our ensuite room was spacious, absolutely spotless and with all facilities we could need. On arrival, we were greeted with offers of assistance with our luggage followed by tea and cakes in the delightful conservatory. Breakfasts were delicious and chosen from a varied menu.

Throughout our stay Peter and Martin were most excellent hosts, always available to chat and help with local information.

We feel that Arden House far exceeds its official 4 star rating and my wife and I look forward to our next stay in this first rate B&B.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rbgeoffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
le mesnil le roi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

what a nice place !
we felt we were friends as well as guests!
cosy , comfortable room and a wonderful English breakfast
we strongly advise you to put up at Arden House

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oscarLeMesnilLeRoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed here while we attended a family function. What a great find. The hosts were fabulous and made us feel very comfortable. They even recomended places to eat that we were able to walk to.
The room was clean and spacious and the house was immaculate.
We particularly enjoyed sitting in the garden having cups of tea and fruitcake upon arrival.
The breakfast was in a league of its own, all sourced locally and cooked to perfection.
We cannot recomend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bleakhouseLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bexhill-on-Sea
2.6 mi away
The Cooden Beach Hotel
The Cooden Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bexhill-on-Sea
873 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel
0.4 mi away
Coast B&B
Coast B&B
#1 of 21 in Bexhill-on-Sea
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Seaspray Rooms
Seaspray Rooms
#2 of 21 in Bexhill-on-Sea
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
English Rose B&B
English Rose B&B
#10 of 21 in Bexhill-on-Sea
86 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Driftwood Bexhill
The Driftwood Bexhill
#3 of 21 in Bexhill-on-Sea
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden House Bed & Breakfast Bexhill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden House Bed & Breakfast Bexhill

Property: Arden House Bed & Breakfast Bexhill
Address: 28 Manor Road, Bexhill-on-Sea TN40 1SP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Bexhill-on-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Bexhill-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arden House Bed & Breakfast Bexhill 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Bexhill Old Town, Arden House offers a warm welcome and relaxing ambience. The sea front with its famous De La Warr Pavilion, and the town centre are a few minutes walk. Breakfast is served in the conservatory overlooking the peaceful and mature garden. Ample street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Arden House Bed & Breakfast Bexhill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arden House Bed & Breakfast Bexhill Bexhill-On-Sea, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing