We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suit Fans of Prisoner. Expensive”
Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
George Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is an old town centre Inn and good location for high street. The owners are improving the fabric but have a long way to go with everything else. The room was very spacious and clean and no real criticism but in bathroom fittings probably not done professionally and a bit DIY. Surpisingly apart from liquid soap dispenser in shower no other soap or usual frills, no tissues. Only one small towel rail.

Several things were misleading. It is not a hotel but at best a B&B so should change its name. Off street parking is advertised for all guests. This is clearly not the case as at best about 10 slots, so first come first served.

Most of lower floor is an Italian Restaurant and access is at back to an austere unmanned reception with telephone. This is on dirty corridor to restaurant toilets with "breakfast lean to" further back. In 3 days the only time we saw staff other than breakfast man was when we got keys. I guess we could have picked up phone. Money taken in full on arrival and checkout just by leaving key in box.

The family room not suitable for family. It was unsafe with opening sash window in second floor with low sill, no stop on window and no safety bar. This is not safe for anyone with children. It was over high street and noisy and not helped by burglar alarm going off each night.

Also possible trip hazard for people on stairs with CCTV cables at one point badly fixed to wall . Internet via George Inn network didn't work although I was able to piggy back on BT wifi (as have BT account).

And now to breakfast. Tempted if we hadn't paid so much to go to the high street!
Breakfast was in lean to at back reached via grubby corridor. Breakfast room not too clean and too small for numbers so table sharing at times. Self service from far end. At times ran out of milk, juice, coffee..if you were lucky you could get 2/3. Also ran out of mugs and cutlery. When milk replenished breakfast man brought only half a jug so it was race to add milk to your coffee before someone else put milk on their cornflakes! Breakfast man looked unkempt and was hoplessly organised. Would travel whole length of room with one jug and return to kitchen without removing used dishes. I would have though t difficult to ruin breakfast. The bacon and fried eggs were fine. Avoid baked beans in small pot microwaved. Pot hot but beans cold. Avoid hash brownies..probably frozen so cooked to a crust on outside but cold or uncooked on inside. Similarly avoid vegetarian sausages unless you have chain saw. Toast ok but it would be good if you like Apricot Jam. Looked like dish of jams in plastic sachets left on table overnight and just topped up. Apricot jam less popular so accumulated.

Room OK but Overpriced ++ with lack of any personal touch (or any person!)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 209 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

Shocking, shocking, shocking!!

Booked two family rooms for 1 night. We would have been more comfortable and less itchy in our car!

When we arrived we discovered the entrance to the "hotel" was around the back of the building. The front of the hotel is not as photographed on the website - do not be fooled!! There is a nasty cheap looking Italian restaurant with an awful neon sign on the ground floor of this hotel. Not the picturesque English Inn you imagined. The car park is free but not terribly large and extremely awkward to park. First impressions as soon as you enter the hotel is the foul stench that hits you immediately along with the ripped wallpaper, cracked walls and several punch holes in the wall!

Reception is a tiny little desk with staff that can barely speak any English. We discovered our family rooms were right at the top of the hotel - up a very windy staircase decorated in the most vulgar purple carpet. Again, please note, the foul stench is so overwhelming you may actually pass out - I kid you not! There is no lift! Not much fun carrying young children, babies and luggage!

We did book a travel cot but this never appeared. Reception is never manned so therefore no staff are available to help. Our rooms were an absolute disgrace and incredibly disappointing. The family rooms were small, very stuffy, not family friendly and unclean. Our litte toddler actually hurt is head and has 2 very nasty marks on his head! There was a TV but no remote control. The bin in the dated dirty bathroom was still full from the previous guests.

Our room had a tiny window and our night was stifling. The bathroom had no shower and was very very dated. The toilet was brown and our bath had pigeon feathers in it from the tiny opened window. What was particularly attractive was the punch hole in our bathroom door. Wallpaper was peeling as well as paint.

The curtains in our room were as thin as tissue paper and therefore the light was shining through all night. The beds were very old and our headboard was actually nailed to the wall. All evening the children and ourselves were itching all night and we woke up with some bites!!

Breakfast was pretty awful. The breakfast room was accessed through a dingy corridor with filthy floors, windows and peeling wallpaper - again the occasional punch hole in the wall. The cereals, coffee etc were pretty basic but ok. The cooked breakfast is another story! The smell of grease was evident from the moment you opened your bedroom door. I ordered an omelette that looked more like a brown lump of goo! Totally unedible.

I do not understand how this place can call themselves a hotel. There are no facilities, no bar, just your rather depressing extremely smelly room. The owners of this establishment clearly do not care about their hotel guests and I absolutely regretted having to pay them my money.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank zemfru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I booked this hotel as I was expecting an English Inn experience in Battle in keeping with our "castle tour" holiday. What a mistake. The nasty Italian restaurant downstairs was an immediate stomach dropping moment followed by the dodgy back door reception that required you to call for someone who appeared out of the ether. In his defense, he tried his best to make us feel welcome and seemed to be doing all the jobs a hotelier can do. We were in the fire escape room which had a glass box on it containing a key in case other guests had to evacuate via our room. I've never experienced this before and it put us a bit on edge. However, the room was quite large and clean with brewing stuff and a nice flat screen. The bathroom was also large but dated and in need of a refit, some evidence of a leak upstairs what with the bulging ceiling optimistically papered over. Breakfast was Little Chef-tastic, over fried and mass produced but tea was served in mugs not china cups with pinky holes. Quite an expensive stay compared to other hotels we stayed in this week.

Room Tip: Room 11 is fire escape room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElmojitoElmojito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

First of all we rang them late in the day and were happy just to have a bed for the night.we reserved a family room and I explained that there were 2 adults and 3 children.as we walked into room 12 there was only one double and one single,I rang reception and he said that it was a family room,I told home to bring another bed in and he did.our room was a very nice size although the decor was a bodge job.cheap shower fittings not attached properly,a 2 inch step going into the bathroom that was caused by poor floor fitting.
Very comfy beds,lovely large flat screen tv,and a powerful shower,the room was clean and the hotel could really be something special,but would need investment. The chap who booked us in also cooked our breakfast in the morning that was lovely.at the end of the day,£80.00 for five people with breakfast is very reasonable and I think they do a good job there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamieMcgrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

great jacuzzi, friendly staff strange decor quite a bizarre layout and just weird the decor furniture cleanliness was more of a budget hotel with a higher price tag

Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneAtTheGeorge, Owner at George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Thankyou for emailing back to me regarding your review, and your confirmation that you have in fact posted the review to the wrong business. I have now contacted Tripadvisor directly and asked for them to remove your review as it is incorrect. However, I really appreciate you coming back to me so quickly and for your honesty as our reviews are important to us. If ever you are coming to Sussex again, we would love to look after you and give you "The George Inn at Robertsbridge" experience instead of what you received at the other establishment. Thankyou once again.
Kind regards
Jane & John Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We booked a room through laterooms, so went for the cheaper option, we were only staying one night. On entering reception, I got a bit worried, it's in the back of the hotel, you have to ring an extension number, then eventually someone comes down. Had misgivings from the start as I was told that pets would be admitted to the hotel for an additional £10.00. So I wasn't expecting much as we made up the spiral staircase to our room. We were very pleasantly surprised. Very nice comfortable 4 poster, flat screened TV with good reception. Powerful shower and fantastic breakfast. Okay so the decor wasn't anything special, but as we only sleeping there, what does that matter. We would certainly go there again, the staff were really pleasant and very helpful. Italian restaurant in the front, Thai restaurant at the back; private parking (a bonus for us) and really nice chip shop just across the road.

Room Tip: We had a front room, very quiet, even though facing high street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Our group of 4 were walking the 1066 way from Rye to Pevensey and chose The George for the midway stopover on a saturday. The 4 rooms we had were all clean and comfortable. The receptionist was friendly and the breakfast was good. We had no complaints at all and would stay there again. The Bull pub a few doors away sells good beer and pub food and is recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rw1Northants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Battle
5.9 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#8 of 11 in Hastings
305 reviews
1.8 mi away
Leeford Place Hotel
Leeford Place Hotel
#2 of 5 in Battle
435 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in Battle
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Claverton Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
PowderMills Hotel & Restaurant
5.4 mi away
Travelodge Hastings
Travelodge Hastings
#6 of 11 in Hastings
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Address: 23 High Street, Battle TN33 0EA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Battle
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Price Range: $52 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 300 years, The George Hotel has been at the centre of life in Battle. Starting as a coaching inn in the 17th century (the Ostler's cottage and stables can still be seen to the rear of the building), today The George is an elegant hotel, combining modern facilities with original features, principally the magnificent 17th century spiral staircase.Boasting views of Battle Abbey, the hotel is close to all the town's historic sites, including Senlac Field the site of the Battle of Hastings in 1066.Stay in one of our brand new refurbished comfortable en-suite rooms, enjoy a traditional full English breakfast, and then set off to explore the historic and picturesque town.The staff at The George Hotel look forward to offering you a warm welcome, whether your stay is for business or a relaxing break.We have private off-street parking - a real bonus in a busy town - and modern facilities to make your stay as pleasant as possible. They include Direct Dial telephone, free Wi-Fi, tea & coffee making facilities, colour TV and en-suite bathrooms in all bedrooms.We are easy to find in the heart of Battle, a 5 minute taxi ride from the train station and only a 2 minute walk from Battle Abbey, so come and visit soon.The George Hotel has a no smoking policy and a no pets policy throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Battle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing