We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“needs the hotel inspector” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
George Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“needs the hotel inspector”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

great jacuzzi, friendly staff strange decor quite a bizarre layout and just weird the decor furniture cleanliness was more of a budget hotel with a higher price tag

Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneAtTheGeorge, Owner at George Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thankyou for emailing back to me regarding your review, and your confirmation that you have in fact posted the review to the wrong business. I have now contacted Tripadvisor directly and asked for them to remove your review as it is incorrect. However, I really appreciate you coming back to me so quickly and for your honesty as our reviews are important to us. If ever you are coming to Sussex again, we would love to look after you and give you "The George Inn at Robertsbridge" experience instead of what you received at the other establishment. Thankyou once again.
Kind regards
Jane & John Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    49
    46
    34
    37
See reviews for
41
83
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We booked a room through laterooms, so went for the cheaper option, we were only staying one night. On entering reception, I got a bit worried, it's in the back of the hotel, you have to ring an extension number, then eventually someone comes down. Had misgivings from the start as I was told that pets would be admitted to the hotel for an additional £10.00. So I wasn't expecting much as we made up the spiral staircase to our room. We were very pleasantly surprised. Very nice comfortable 4 poster, flat screened TV with good reception. Powerful shower and fantastic breakfast. Okay so the decor wasn't anything special, but as we only sleeping there, what does that matter. We would certainly go there again, the staff were really pleasant and very helpful. Italian restaurant in the front, Thai restaurant at the back; private parking (a bonus for us) and really nice chip shop just across the road.

Room Tip: We had a front room, very quiet, even though facing high street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Our group of 4 were walking the 1066 way from Rye to Pevensey and chose The George for the midway stopover on a saturday. The 4 rooms we had were all clean and comfortable. The receptionist was friendly and the breakfast was good. We had no complaints at all and would stay there again. The Bull pub a few doors away sells good beer and pub food and is recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rw1Northants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

We had a very large room which was clean and comfortable but it lacked any touches that would have made it more welcoming. We had a double and a single bed to choose from which was unexpected but did not really reduce the space in the room. The bathroom was modern but the redecoration had not been completed with enough attention to dtail. A beautiful old stair case was quite a feature but, as with so many old staircases that wind round, the treads were uneven and very tight around the central well. For a hotel which boasted an Italian restaurant, instant coffee for breakfast was not good enough. The hotel seemed to be run on an absolute shoestring in terms of staff but as an overnight stop that did not worry us and staying there was infinitely better than our previous stop in another establishment in Battle.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

This was a pub and is now rooms above an Italian restaurant, which has obviosuly replaced the heart of the old building. I thought we were staying in a pub, so was a little disappointed with this. The reception is chaotic. You have to ring a bell and wait for someone to come. Takes a while. I asked four times for some soap, something that should have been in the room already. Having said that, the room was clean, comfortable and had a nice TV. Overpriced as it is. Needs some improving and could be really good. Great central location. Breakfast tasty but basic.

Room Tip: Four poster room was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jelttil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London , UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

My husband was taking a long walk from Pevensey to Rye and Battle was about half way so I met him, together with other friends, in Battle. We stayed at The George. It was obviously once a lovely traditional town centre hotel and has become very badly run down. It's very central and convenient and there was parking for customers out the back - so credit where it's due! It now has an italian restaurant on the ground floor, with nasty blue plastic signage which made it all look very tacky. We followed signs to reception, a dingy little table and a sign suggesting we phone if we want service. The lady came and checked us in and was actually very charming and trying very hard to make up for the whole shabby dump. We followed her up the steep, purple carpeted and uneven spiral staircase, to yale-opening doors with pain peeling off, to rooms 12, 13, 14 and 15. Each room contained a "selection" of beds ; singles and doubles, as many as could be crammed in. The rooms were big and bright with sash windows on to the high street. The place is full of potential. The beds were ancient, and bore no relation to the headboards, nailed randomly to the walls. One bed was about to collapse. The bed linen was clean at least. There has been an attempt to improve things but it's all been done badly and on the cheap. It was £80 for 2 of us including breakfast. One room had a bath - the others only showers and had been refurbed badly and cheaply. The toilet seat was not properly attached and the extractor fan was exceptionally noisy. The girl who checked us in also served (and we think cooked) breakfast. She was run off her feet. She spoke barely any english and was trying very hard to make us happy but sadly breakfast was a disaster too. The buffet was ok but the hot breakfast was overdone eggs, plastic white toast and disgusting undercooked bacon. It's a real shame because this hotel deserves to be restored to its former glory and that will be expensive. Meanwhile I congratulate the lady who did all the work for keeping smiling - she is wasted there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nashes_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Battle hotels

Brighton
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

Battle is such a lovley town and the surrounding areas are stunning so you would think the standards of the local hotel would match but sadly it doesnt. The Room looks like it had been resently refurbished although the standards were not of a good quality,although a substancial size room the bed did not match and the quality was less than substancial and the bathroom hasnt been touched since 1970's what with scum marks around the bath and the smell of pee. Breakfast wasn't up to much either with small portions and all the food tasting of old oil that proberly has'nt been changed in months im sure. All in all i would not stay here again i'd book into the Powdermill hotel only 5 more min's down the road.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Battle
2.8 mi away
Claverton Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in Battle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
1.8 mi away
Leeford Place Hotel
Leeford Place Hotel
#2 of 5 in Battle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
PowderMills Country House Hotel
5.9 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#7 of 11 in Hastings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Hastings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Property: George Hotel
Address: 23 High Street, Battle TN33 0EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Battle
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 300 years, The George Hotel has been at the centre of life in Battle. Starting as a coaching inn in the 17th century (the Ostler's cottage and stables can still be seen to the rear of the building), today The George is an elegant hotel, combining modern facilities with original features, principally the magnificent 17th century spiral staircase.Boasting views of Battle Abbey, the hotel is close to all the town's historic sites, including Senlac Field the site of the Battle of Hastings in 1066.Stay in one of our brand new refurbished comfortable en-suite rooms, enjoy a traditional full English breakfast, and then set off to explore the historic and picturesque town.The staff at The George Hotel look forward to offering you a warm welcome, whether your stay is for business or a relaxing break.We have private off-street parking - a real bonus in a busy town - and modern facilities to make your stay as pleasant as possible. They include Direct Dial telephone, free Wi-Fi, tea & coffee making facilities, colour TV and en-suite bathrooms in all bedrooms.We are easy to find in the heart of Battle, a 5 minute taxi ride from the train station and only a 2 minute walk from Battle Abbey, so come and visit soon.The George Hotel has a no smoking policy and a no pets policy throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms and Travelocity so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Battle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing