We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Ball ... We certainly had one!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Leeford Place Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Certificate of Excellence
east sussex
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Ball ... We certainly had one!!!!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Attended charity function at hotel along with 19 of my guests, what an evening,! Organised professionally from start to finish .... With out being regimented.

The food was exceptional .... the function room was full! The food was hot and the table was served together by experienced waiting staff, ( no waiting for all on the table to be served)

I would like to share a comment i received from one of my guests :

" what a great evening, please pass on my thanks to Leeford Place for excellent service , food and atmosphere"

Staff were very attentive with very little requirement to move from your table during the meal, they were on hand to keep us topped up with bottles of wine!

The room looked beautiful...... I Would recommend this hotel for any function they really have got it down to a fine art


Well done everyone at Leeford and Bella Therapy

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thejenners5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    40
    21
    16
    14
See reviews for
153
104
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bexhill
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I would like to say a very big "Thankyou" to all the management and staff at Leeford Place for helping to make my son's wedding to Sian a wonderful day. I know that Gareth and Sian had been made to feel that their day was important and were given lots of help and advice. We were all made to feel welcome and everyone I spoke to said what a lovely day it had been. Thankyou once again for helping to make some great memories!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bexhillbroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Having organised a number of similar events at this venue over the years I was again very pleased with the food and service. I was MC on this occasion and found no problems at all with the food service or venue. All were as good as we have come to expect. Steve and his staff always look after us well.The weather was poor but you cannot control that. Feedback from those who attended was full of praise for the hotel and the event. Liz N who commented was not on the guest listing so is false or used an alias. That view is totally at odds with the near universal approval I received from others. We have booked again for next year and will hold another 7 events there over the next year.

Barry C

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I had the happy experience of organising a function at this small and friendly hotel. It is in a very rural location but has parking facilities adequate for our guests and March this year turned out o be a bit unfriendly weather-wise! However, once inside our welcome was very warm indeed. The meal was excellent and chosen from a good range. We hired outside entertainment and every assistance was given to them to enable them to provide their services in style. Steve and his staff did a wonderful job of ensuring all was to our satisfaction. A good choice of wine was available and all our guests seemed extrememly happy with both meal and wine. I was lucky enough to meet the lady who arranges the room decorations prior to the start of the event and, as we were supporting a charity, she happily organised relevant colours for me. Since the event I have had numerous phone calls and notes expressing how much the evening had been enjoyed by all concerned. All in all a good night was had by all - even the organiser!! Seriously though it was a pleasure to deal with Steve and his staff and we will certainly return again to take advantage of their warm hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

event venue, not stayed in the hotel. parking limited near venue, dark car park, muddy, food average, service poor (not the fault of the staff just not enough staff on duty) bar poorlystaffed, not enough choice of wine or spirits, suspect spirits watered down. Overall shabby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeefordPlace, Owner at Leeford Place Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Madam,

We are sorry that you have found Leeford Place unsatisfactory in ways described in your recent review. This is however somewhat surprising as, on the day, the Management and staff only received excellent feedback at the event you attended. We must however point out a few things by way of correction. Firstly, Leeford Place has two car parks (upper and lower). The upper car park can comfortably accommodate up to 35 vehicles and the lower (overspill) car park a further 45 vehicles, there is also specified parking for our disabled guests. Leeford's grounds are delibrately designed in such a fashion that is in keeping with the countryside surroundings, i.e. we are not inclined to tarmac every car park and access road and risk spoiling the natural feel of the property and the land surrounding it. Furthermore the outside lighting was renewed to a high standard in January 2013. Secondly, Leeford Place have an extensive wine and spirit stock and customers only need to ask to be provided with a wine list detailing the options available. You only need to take a look at our Trip Advisor feedback since our ownership to see that 85% of our guests have rated their experience with us as either very good or excellent. We are striving all the time to make sure that extra 15% of our customers leave us having had a great stay/attended an excellent function. You will also see that our staff (including staffing levels), our chefs and our food are regularly praised by guests, and whilst we accept that it is difficult to maintain these high standards all of the time, we aim to do so and understand that the event you attended was delivered to the highest possible standard and received high praise at the time.

We always look to our customers for feedback and ways to improve our service but accusations of watering down drinks are both libelous and indeed unfounded. Please feel free to come back to the hotel and the management will be happy to discuss any concerns that you have.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My family entertained me at The Leeford Hotel, Whatlingtion, Battle, East Sussex on Mothering Sunday.On arrival the welcome was warm and this was extended throughout the meal. The food was good and the waitresses very attentive. We will return there for another meal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 29Rosetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I have been to several functions at leeford over the years and have had some of my best nights out there.the warm and welcoming atmosphere is consistently excellent as is the food.we stayed over a couple of times recently in the bridal suite which is decorated very tastefully and has a lovely jacuzzi bath.it was no problem to the chef or lovely Lisa that we did not turn up for breakfast until 11am and put us under no pressure to check out on time which further enhanced our wonderful stay there.i would highly recommend bella therapy as I have had several treatments there which have been thoroughly relaxing and professionally carried out using clarins products.i could not recommend Lisa highly enough or indeed the hotel as a whole.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Battle
2.8 mi away
Claverton Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
PowderMills Country House Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Brickwall Hotel
The Brickwall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sedlescombe
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in Battle
103 reviews
1.8 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#5 of 5 in Battle
193 reviews
8.1 mi away
Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leeford Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leeford Place Hotel

Property: Leeford Place Hotel
Address: Mill Lane | Whatlington Road, Battle TN33 0ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Battle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Leeford Place Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leeford Place Hotel is situated within the idyllic and historic 1066 Countryside with a picturesque setting and landscaped gardens it is the perfect place for weddings, conferences, or just a relaxing break.As Leeford Place is well connected by road and rail we also provide business guests with a convenient yet tranquil base.With a spectacular combination of coast and countryside that is scattered with relics and ruins from the past, 1066 Country is a magical place to visit for everyone.Battle Abbey is only 10 minutes away whilst the seaside resort of Hastings is just 6 miles to the south. There are many National Trust and English Heritage properties and gardens within easy reach, and the spectacular south coast is easily explored, from Beachy Head to Lewes, Rye to Camber Sands…At Leeford Place we offer:» 18 comfortable en-suite bedrooms» À la carte restaurant» Lounge bar» Conference facilities» Free WI-FI» Licensed wedding venue» Wedding receptions» Functions and parties» Ample free parking» Well behaved pets welcome ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Leeford Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing