We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
PowderMills Country House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Really pleasant”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We spent the best part of 10 hours at the Powder Mills Hotel for a dear friends wedding reception. The building, grounds and interior were well maintained and cared for.
The service was attentive and the meals a visually appealing and very tasty.

The various reception rooms, dining rooms, lounges and bar areas were well appointed and comfortable.

They make the very best of what they have and do it very well..!!

Well done to everyone..!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeOutAndAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    171
    79
    37
    18
See reviews for
113
366
1
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, England
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We held our daughter's wedding here on the 30th November 2013. The whole day was a fantastic success. The hotel grounds are beautiful and she was lucky to have a bright sunny day.

The hotel itself is charming with log fires and an old country house feel. The ceremony was held in the music room which was a lovely setting. The wedding breakfast was held in the orangery restaurant which looked amazing when fully dressed. The food and service were both excellent.

We held the evening reception in the cloisters and again this was an excellent venue and the food at the evening buffet was also very good.

Many of us stayed in the hotel that night and everyone seemed happy with their rooms. Breakfast was excellent and obviously cooked to order.

All the staff throughout the whole day were really friendly whilst still being professional. Special mention should go to the wedding planner, Stella, who liaised many times with our daughter throughout the build up and on the day to ensure that she got the day she and her fiance had dreamed of. We should also mention David, the toastmaster, who made sure that everything ran smoothly throughout the day. Everyone was in the right place at the right time but this was always done in a fun and professional way and enhanced the day.

All in all Powdermills proved a great wedding venue and we would definitely recommend it. Our daughter and her new husband said it lived up to all their expectations, as it did ours.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleBigHorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maidstone
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I choose this establishment, based on previous trip adviser reviews I had read on this page, and we were not disappointed.

On arrival at the property after a one hour drive from the channel tunnel, we were met and the hotel door, by the owner, and our bags were unloaded from the car for us, and taken straight to our room, the hotel is an ancient property and just oozes character,

We were shown to our room, which was just fabulous, beautifully decorated, in a smart country style, with a huge on-suite bathroom, with marble floors, double sinks, loo, and walk in shower, everything you could ask for.
The bed was supremely comfortable, and was huge, the room had a wonderful view over the lake with ducks at the door, a nice touch was fresh roses in the room,i slept like a baby.

We ate in the restaurant on two evenings, both meals were fab, a good choice on the menu, but not overwhelming as in some other restaurants I have visited in the past, I had the asparagus to start, followed by the fish (sole), which was beautifully cooked and served on the plate, the deserts and cheese were also fab.

The restaurant has an excellent wine list, and the prices are good, let the head waiter, guide you, with your choice, and you will not go far wrong, as we did.

Mrs C had the beef as a main course, which she said, was perfectly cooked for her (well done), and the bit she let me taste was excellent, with a superb flavour, just as good beef should be.

On returning to the room, after a nightcap in the bar, (stocked with a good choice of whiskeys) we found the curtains in the room, had been drawn, and the bed turned down, a nice touch by the staff.

Breakfast, was also excellent, lots of choice, and extra dishes available to order if reqd, (bacon, eggs etc), and was good value for money in my book, not like your run of the mill continental breakfast

From the hotel it is an easy walk into Battle, which is no bad thing as parking in Battle itself is hell, and not cheap.

The hotel has its own private car park. Battle itself is a beautiful town, with plenty to see and do, to fill a weekend.

All in all a fab weekend away, we are already planning our return with friends for another weekend

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davec06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford UK
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I would love to say a huge amount of positive things about Powdermills and not criticise it all, but I am afraid all was not quite as it should have been when we stayed there.

Firstly, the good points:
1. Very dog friendly and treated the dogs with huge love and respect.
2. Dining room service was excellent
3. The food was also excellent and reasonably priced. Great bread and breakfast was lovely too. Shame the tea at afternoon tea came in those cheap catering teapots rather than a china one though. I think I would expect that in a country house hotel.
4. Lovely place to be. Beautifully kept grounds and George the peacock was an added extra to wake up to outside the room.
5. When something did go wrong it was rectified fairly quickly.
The bad points:

1. Freezing cold rooms. Upon arrival greeted to really cold rooms which made us nearly turn round and go away again. The heating is turned off at night so if you wake up at 4am, it is really chilly. They definitely need to do something about this. The bar area is also cold as is the conservatory. It is winter, warm it up!
2. Afternoon tea and cakes, just not up to the standard expected. Mediocre cakes and that tea-pot!
3. Noisy when there is a big function.
4. slightly haphazard service during the day - a little bit fawlty towersish at times. One override to this, the lady on reception later in the day and on the sunday was quite charming.
5. Shame the rooms, which are nice enough, are not more country house hotelish rather than modern and mass hotel like.

I had been recommended this place by a couple of people, but there are better places to go for a really relaxing and pampering weekend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DL_ALB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed for our fifth time at beginning of November and it was absolutely wonderful as usual. Lovely sitting in the Drawing Room with afternoon tea whilst reading as the rain battered the windows. As always dinner and wine was superb and was well complemented by excellent service. Lovely to round off the evening by sitting in the library with a nightcap. Our room was bright and clean and comfortable (room 11) and it is so nice to be able to run a bath with an endless supply of hot water which is unlike other places we have stayed where it can run out when half full. Very tasty breakfast with ample choice on offer and we were well looked after by the friendly waiter for whom nothing was too much trouble. Would thoroughly recommend PowderMills for a stay - there is so much to enjoy including the fabulous grounds, waterfowl, George the peacock as well as the friendly and helpful staff and beautiful food. Thank you PowderMills we will back for our sixth visit on our next wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

There isn't a lot to criticise about PowderMills but on the whole I thought that it was rather expensive compared with other good quality establishments we have visited recently. We paid £160 for a superior room with breakfast and first impressions were pretty good - very friendly check-in staff, beautiful old traditional feel to the reception and quite glorious grounds. Our room (41) had sliding patio windows (which I couldn't lock) to the garden and the lake and overall, the decoration was really lovely and the room spotlessly clean. I can't quite put my finger on the slight disappointment with the accommodation and I almost feel that I am being unfair - maybe it was the fact that it was a queen bed or maybe we had just been spoilt by spending the previous night at the Grand in Brighton for about the same money? Anyway I really am being subjective and of course it's all about personal taste. Drinks in the bar before attending the Battle Bonfire celebrations went down well and reception duly obliged in organising a taxi for the purpose. Breakfast next morning was in the lovely Conservatory / Orangery and it was as good as it comes. Plenty of cereal, fruit and juices choice and the served hot breakfast comprised eggs (we chose poached), bacon, sausage, mushrooms, tomato, baked beans (ordered separately) and black pudding. Thick white and brown toast with decent coffee complimented the breakfast very well. Really liked the idea of individual "pots" of brown sauce (same as normal mini jam pots!).

Check out was efficient and courteous. I would certainly recommend the hotel despite my earlier comments.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyccpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed just two nights. And will most definitely repeat our visit as often as time and commitment allows. My Wife and I originally planned our stay here so that we could attend a "Murder Mystery Dinner" but had we known how beautiful the whole site is, and how good the food is, it would have been on the list of places to visit a lot sooner. Conveniently situated for visiting the Sussex Coastal Resorts, and even Tonbridge and Tunbridge Wells are quite close to hand.

Room Tip: Pick any Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Battle
3.1 mi away
Claverton Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Leeford Place Hotel
Leeford Place Hotel
#2 of 5 in Battle
423 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in Battle
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Brickwall Hotel
The Brickwall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sedlescombe
270 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Cooden Beach Hotel
The Cooden Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bexhill-on-Sea
921 reviews
0.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#5 of 5 in Battle
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PowderMills Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PowderMills Country House Hotel

Property: PowderMills Country House Hotel
Address: Powdermill Lane, Battle TN33 0SP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Battle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — PowderMills Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your PowderMills Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powdermills Country Hotel
Powdermills Country Battle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing