We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
PowderMills Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
George Hotel(Battle)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Brickwall Hotel(Sedlescombe)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Northern Hotel(Bexhill-on-Sea)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (705)
Filter reviews
706 results
Traveler rating
374
188
85
38
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
374
188
85
38
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspowder millsjunior suiteresident peacocktravelzoo offersunken bathextensive groundscourse dinnerafternoon teascallopssunday lunchhigh teabeautiful hotelwedding partysconespatio doorswine listlovely setting
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
526 - 531 of 706 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Close to the coast, but nestled in the deep countryside. Best enjoyed in the summer, but even in winter a welcoming fire and beautiful reception rooms. The bedrooms are a little cramped and the beds bouncy, but generally in good condition.

The restaurant is large and service excellent. The food was varied, and in particular, the scallops superb.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank domtheirishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have just returned from one night at PowderMills hotel, we arrived and was greeted by a very professional and polite Receptionist. Because we had our dog with us we were Given a ground floor room with access to the garden, this was great room and suited us well, they layed on a special table for us in the Library so we could have our dog with us during our meals. All the staff were very polite and helpful, the manager took the time to talk to us and gave us some very valuable information about Battle and the surrounding area. The food was really very good and beyond our expectations. The only down side was our room was not sound proofed and we could hear the people up stairs using the bathroom during the night however this would not stop us from going again. We will return for another break later in the year.

Room Tip: Room 1 very good if you have a dog.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ianbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed for a weekend break and everything was superb. Reception was extremely helpful, the room was probably the best we have stayed in for a long while and all the other 'evening' staff really very polite and courteous. Evening meal was good on the first night but not spectacular whereas on the second night it was first rate. Overall, very good indeed!

Room Tip: Try and get Room 11
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrenchSnail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We booked this hotel via a Travel Zoo deal as my husband had always wanted to go there as he passed it many times on the way to work. We went last weekend and were not disappointed. The room was perfectly adequate for a nights stay everything you could need it was all clean and tidy with tea and coffee and nice bathroom with little bottles of shampoo and body lotion etc.

We went and had a wonder round and had a drink in the bar all the staff were very friendly and all said hello and started conversations effortlessly. We went down in the evening for our meal and had a drink in the bar first. ( two glasses of sparkling wine were included ) they bought us a menu out which had a good choice. My husband had the soufflee and I had the scallops and then main was steak for my husband and I had the haddock they were bother very nice and presented well. For pudding we had the chocolate pots with the beetroot sorbet which were delicious and would definitely recommend. Wine list is very good with lots of choice.

Breakfast was just as good mu husband had the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and asked for a small portion and i had the full english which was very good. Cereal and fruit and juice is all laid out for you to help yourself. It had snowed overnight so it looked very pretty in the morning. It is a lovely building with lots of history which you can read in the menu.

Would go again on a deal as it is quite expensive for a normal stay but would recommend

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mingomango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Booking was made through Travel Zoo.
Normally we would not have been able to afford this hotel.
We were made welcome from the time we got there to thr time we left.
Very nice dining room, attentive waiters,excellent food.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanOxted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews