We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
PowderMills Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed for a weekend break and everything was superb. Reception was extremely helpful, the room was probably the best we have stayed in for a long while and all the other 'evening' staff really very polite and courteous. Evening meal was good on the first night but not spectacular whereas on the second night it was first rate. Overall, very good indeed!

Room Tip: Try and get Room 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrenchSnail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (672)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 672 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

We booked this hotel via a Travel Zoo deal as my husband had always wanted to go there as he passed it many times on the way to work. We went last weekend and were not disappointed. The room was perfectly adequate for a nights stay everything you could need it was all clean and tidy with tea and coffee and nice bathroom with little bottles of shampoo and body lotion etc.

We went and had a wonder round and had a drink in the bar all the staff were very friendly and all said hello and started conversations effortlessly. We went down in the evening for our meal and had a drink in the bar first. ( two glasses of sparkling wine were included ) they bought us a menu out which had a good choice. My husband had the soufflee and I had the scallops and then main was steak for my husband and I had the haddock they were bother very nice and presented well. For pudding we had the chocolate pots with the beetroot sorbet which were delicious and would definitely recommend. Wine list is very good with lots of choice.

Breakfast was just as good mu husband had the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and asked for a small portion and i had the full english which was very good. Cereal and fruit and juice is all laid out for you to help yourself. It had snowed overnight so it looked very pretty in the morning. It is a lovely building with lots of history which you can read in the menu.

Would go again on a deal as it is quite expensive for a normal stay but would recommend

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mingomango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Booking was made through Travel Zoo.
Normally we would not have been able to afford this hotel.
We were made welcome from the time we got there to thr time we left.
Very nice dining room, attentive waiters,excellent food.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanOxted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

All we can say you must go to this fantastic hotel,staff are very welcoming,bedrooms are very comfortable nice bedding good size sitting area with comfy sofa and chairs,flat screen tv,bathrooms are very well equipped with hairdriers,the resturant or as they call it the orangery we had a first class meal and they should be proud of the quality of not only food but also the staff,well done.we well be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Youngatheart325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I discovered the PowderMills through a travelzoo offer and we had a lovely one night stay at this characterful hotel with dinner, bed and breakfast and a glass each of sparkling wine for a bargain rate. Set in 150 acres of woodland and lakes we had a lovely walk around the lake before darkness set in and built up a good appetite. It must be amazing in the summer! Our room was a little cold in comparison to the rest of the building when we arrived but the receptionist couldn't have been more helpful and we were soon warm with the extra heater. The power shower was strong and hot, the food in the beautiful Orangery Restaurant was delicious for both dinner and breakfast and we can't wait to go back again :-)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ptgrrtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were lucky enough to get a cancellation for New Year's Eve, and what a treat. We arrived in the rain and dark to be greet with the news that we'd been upgraded to a fabulous suite with a vast sitting room. The staff were charming and the meal was delicious. A ceilidh band were good fun and we saw midnight in with a very jolly company. Next morning we woke to find the two huge picture windows gave right on to the lake, complete with ducks. Delightful, and a lovely breakfast too. Thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for the Lake Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We booked for the 2 night stay including meals and New Years Eve party. We had A fantastic time, the staff were friendly and created a lovely atmosphere for the guests to enjoy a party in the evening. The days were warming and calm, sitting around the huge open fire in the dining room with afternoon tea, reading the paper was a delight. We had a relatively small room but it was beautifully furnished and clean. The food exceeded all our expectations, expertly cooked and well presented with a menu to suit most tastes. The only problem was the lack of mobile phone signal and the complimentary WiFi was patchy at best, although some may think this a blessing! All in all a lovely hotel stay, would definitely return.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Nicola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Battle
3.1 mi away
Claverton Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Leeford Place Hotel
Leeford Place Hotel
#2 of 5 in Battle
444 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in Battle
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Brickwall Hotel
The Brickwall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sedlescombe
281 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Cooden Beach Hotel
The Cooden Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bexhill-on-Sea
978 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PowderMills Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PowderMills Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Powdermill Lane, Battle TN33 0SP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Battle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Price Range: $128 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — PowderMills Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your PowderMills Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powdermills Country Hotel
Powdermills Country Battle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing