We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant nights break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
PowderMills Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed here on a one night break. The main part of the hotel was warm but the heating did not come on in the room until early evening and given it was a cool and damp day that was not ideal. the accommodation and meals were good value on the package I used. All the staff I came into contact with were pleasant and helpful/ The grounds on a fine day would be magnificant

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VikingSussexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (670)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

510 - 516 of 670 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

Just returned from a one night stay at this hotel.The drive up to the hotel is wonderful with a large pond with ducks, the hotel is low level and very inviting. As you enter there is a nice open log fire the smell is gorgeous,everything about the hotel is lovely with old furniture and very cosy. The room we had was really nice it looked out to the pond. We had the three course evening meal which was excellent, the staff were very attentive and polite, in the Orangery resturant which was lovely. The breakfast was also excellent everything you could want, great selection.
The staff were all helpful and polite.
Well done Powermill have booked again for next year.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAUREEN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed on a Travelzoo offer for £99. Lovely location and grounds and initially the room was great. Free wifi was on offer and ALL hotels should have this as its a massive rip off when you have pay and winds me up big time!! However, it didn't work in the room and only (seemingly) in two rooms by reception. I can recommend a Belkin wifi extender - everywhere...

Dinner was fine with attentive service and tasty food. I had Duck which was more I could eat but 3 tiny carrots could have been more! My wife had the venison which was good too.

A good nights sleep was interrupted by the comically noisy bed (wooden four poster) and a soft mattress which gave us both backache in the morning. En-suite was clean and spacious so no problems there.

Breakfast was comprehensive and the plate piping hot as was the full English - very nice.

All the staff we encountered were polite and helpful and overall we enjoyed the stay, slightly let down by the bed. Would visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tardis1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We booked one nights accomodation with a glass of Prosecco, 3 course meal and breakfast included through a deal with Travelzoo. After booking we then looked at the reviews on Tripadvisor and to be honest we weren't sure if we had done the right thing! It just shows you not to take notice of other people's opinions and to make your own. The hotel was absolutely lovely and the room was comfortable, warm and clean and also had a lovely bathroom with very nice complementary toiletries. The reception staff were very friendly and welcoming. The restaurant food and service were perfect. The menu was what you would expect at a fine dining restaurant and the wine list had a good variety and was well priced for all diners. The breakfast was lovely, my Husband had a full english and I had smoke salmon and scrambled eggs, both were excellent. We are so pleased that we stayed at the Powdermills and will definatley be returning to both the hotel and the Orangery restaurant and will recommend to all our friends. Thank you for a perfect stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 19 which was smaller than some rooms but was clean, furnished to a good standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

only stayed one night but really good value.
Very helpful and curtious staff.
Very clean and warm rooms.
Perfect for a short break in November.
Next time I will go in the summer and use the pool.
Food in the restaurant was relly good and very well served by really good staff.

Room Tip: we had room 24 and it was just outside the main hotel (about 15 walking steps ) and has a super walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn4848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We only found this place by chance and stopped for a cream tea and found a beautiful setting and would be intrigued to visit again. Lovely place for an afternoon tea, sitting in the library. Not bad value too for tea and scones, or tea and 3 pieces of different cake (£7.20 for either).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graycee54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Have passed this hotel many times - a most beautiful setting, so decided to stop off on our return from a meeting to have a coffee - fully advertised on the hotel driveway along with all their other facilities. It was pouring with rain, so parked with a couple of other cars at the front of the hotel and dashed indoors. Coffee duly ordered - unable to do sandwiches, but how about some biscuits? Fine. Oh, and can you move your car as we are expecting a large party - so back out into the rain to park down the drive. The young receptionist was trying to order our coffees, but it became an 'issue' with whom was going to procure said beverage, due to the iminent arrival of the party. The manageress / owner (not sure who she was really, but most officious) made it quite clear to all, including us, that this was all most inconvenient. We advised this 'lady' that we would cancel our coffee - despite their advertising the peaceful ambiance and great fresh home made food to be enjoyed in sumptuous surroundings.Not able to comment on the facilities of the hotel, just the lack of friendliness and service - but made to feel most unwelcome in the very short time we were there. Oh well! Some great places in Battle just down the road.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
7  Thank J0hnB100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Battle
3.1 mi away
Claverton Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Leeford Place Hotel
Leeford Place Hotel
#2 of 5 in Battle
436 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in Battle
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Brickwall Hotel
The Brickwall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sedlescombe
280 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Cooden Beach Hotel
The Cooden Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bexhill-on-Sea
973 reviews
0.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#5 of 5 in Battle
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PowderMills Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PowderMills Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Powdermill Lane, Battle TN33 0SP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Battle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Price Range: $127 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — PowderMills Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your PowderMills Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powdermills Country Hotel
Powdermills Country Battle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing