We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" We loved it and we will be back"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
PowderMills Country House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“" We loved it and we will be back"”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Hotel staff Friendly and very polite
Rooms clean and well presented
Wedding coordinator absolutely wonderful {And very efficient}
Standard of food EXERLANT
Grounds well maintained
I can not recommend this hotel more .For its service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    168
    79
    37
    18
See reviews for
108
362
1
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We said we would return and we did. This time we invited our family for lunch which included brothers, sisters, nieces; nephews and grandchildren, what a beautiful afternoon it was, we had a hog roast organised in the pavillion, and enjoyed meandering around the pool area , a beautiful table was set out underneath the granery where we could shelter from the hot weather, this of course would have benefited us had it not been in our favour as we could still dine alfresco. it was wonderful how the staff were attentitive to us if need be but let us enjoy the gathering we had as if it was our own personal garden. Some of the family enjoyed a walk in the woods while others just sat and meused and children swam in the pool.. I told my family how they would enjoy this venue and they were delighted with there visit, we have decided to have a family reunion here every year, i highly recommend everyone to visit this hotel to see how relaxing and enchanting it is.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbojane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2011

The powdermills is quirky and full of character. As one guest observed. It is not a bland corporate hotel but a family home with dogs, animals, wildfowl and the odd cobweb and it would not be appreciated by all guests.
We stayed last weekend arriving very late. The room was large and attractively furnished with a comfortable sofa, a 6ft bed and looked out onto the fromt of the hotel and the lake beyond. The bathroom was new and had a power shower. When we awoke next moring and looked at the view, we both said "Wow". It must be the most romantic hotel we have ever stayed in. There was so much to explore not just inside but all over the place. Antique Furniture, Lots of terraces and beautiful gardens outside where you can have your morning coffee and read your paper in the sunshine. After a very good breakfastserved by wonderful charactersistic staff we climbed the outside steps by the swimming pool and had an amazing view of the 7 acre lake at the back of the hotel. There was a pair of cormorants with wings open, sunning themselves on rocks by the water edge and king fishers were dipping by the waterfall, whilst ducks and geese were being fed by the owner with the bread from breakfast. We came back to the hotel in the evening and enjoyed gorgeous food served in the organery and a good bottle of wine. We left reluctantly on Monday morning promising to return. Powdermill has charm, comfort and individuality which is so rare in the present day.

Room Tip: There are rooms with views over the lake, some with views of the pool garden, and lake add some wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tanya_wLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We love the Powdermills and have visited several times. This time we took friends to celebrate their Ruby wedding and they too were delighted. Our rooms overlooking the lake were particularly pleasant and the food and ambience were, as always, excellent. Particular praise must go to the very high standard of the English breakfast.

Room Tip: Talk to reception staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

For once I failed to check the poorer ratings on Tripadvisor and as a result have learnt an expensive lesson.

The setting of the lakes, wildlife and traditional buildings are all very attractive - from a distance (or on the hotel's website). Close up the hotel is poorly maintained, patched up, jaded and grubby.

Like others, we encountered in our room dirty upholstery and furnishings, cracked tiles and missing grouting, filthy windows, broken patio chairs and no Freeview/digital TV and therefore no radio. From 7.00am drilling and hammering started followed by bottles being broken into a skip and a tractor/tipper truck being fired up.

£170 per night bed and breakfast is very poor value. If you are looking for a special country house hotel break avoid Powdermills. One cannot help but wonder how this hotel secured its 5 star/excellent ratings.....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidW57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

In May we [2 couples] went to the Powdermills Hotel for 5 days. Our friends booked it and when we were told there was no lift booked 2 rooms on first floor. They were supposed to be superior rooms but they were not. On reading a few reviews this morning we too found the bathroom totally horrendous. The shower cubicle was huge and we thought-"this is nice" but when my husband had a shower the water did not run away and the smell in the cubicle was awful-it really put you off, but there was no bath so we had to bear it. Like the other reviewers we did not complain. The room itself was big, with a double bed but no bedside drawers, no drawers for clothes but in the wardrobe there were a few shelves but awkward to get to. There was no air-conditioning and it was a hot week. We had a settee and a table and tea+coffee making facilities + tv. There was a patio door which led out to a decked area which then led onto grass and we overlooked a lake with geese, their goslings[sweet] and ducks and ducklings, and there were dogs which kept wandering into our room through open patio door. On closer inspection outside the decking looked like it had never been swept or cleaned and there were used cigarette butts everywhere and you couldn't walk on grass either as there were droppings everywhere. Our friends had a similar room but they had a window, but it didn't open.They complained but to no avail. NOW the Orangery Restaurant and food was superb-it made up for the room-the staff bent over backwards, as said previously most were elderly and did their job superbly. The breakfasts were amazing too, lots of lovely toast and hot coffee. The cereals and fruit were on a buffet in another room but very adequate. Everyone, guests and staff were very friendly. Battle is lovely with a superb Abbey, lots of quaint buildings and lovely restaurants. The surrounding countryside was breathtaking-lots to see and do. We went to Rye[lovely], Brighton, exhiliarating and Hastings [so so]. Summing up the Hotel is tired and old-fashioned and needs a good clean.

Room Tip: Check rooms first/No lift/Dogs all around
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We decided to stay for one night to celebrate my birthday.
On arrival we were shown the direction to walk to our room (number 31) On walking up the stairs we noticed how these appear to not have been hoovered in some time.
On entering the room everything seemed clean and tidy, the champagne and chocolates we ordered were already in the room. But there was one thing missing - no TV.
This didn't bother us hugely but paying for an executive double we did expect to find a TV. We questioned this at reception who was mostly oblivous on how this could have happended and suggested that we change rooms. We were then given 4 diffferent room keys to have "a look" at the rooms ourselves as she couldn't leave reception unattended. It was after viewing all these rooms we realised just how dirty and dated all the rooms were and how "lucky" we had been to have been given our initial room. We suggested at reception that maybe they could move a TV from one of these rooms and place in ours - of which this was done within the next few hours.
Wi-fi service offered but you have to request a code from reception - surely displayed in the welcome book in your room would be more of a service.
An afternoon drink at the bar - ten minutes waiting, a further wait as they had no wine glasses or any variety of wine, they had bitter on draught but this was not available, no reason, just unavailable.
We had e-mailed with our booking to make reservations for dinner - not received apparently. But at least the restaurant wasn't full and we could be seated.
The service was very slow but when the food arrived (no fish knive or soup spoon given) it was amazing. Cannot fault the food at all, from starter through to cheese - amazing.
Shame the service lets it down, and shame that the orangery hadn't been cleaned.
The four poster bed in our room looked lovely, but very small. Mattress has not been replaced in a while, you are constantly being rolled into the middle of the bed.
Room could do with darker/black out curtains - having 2 patio doors it is very light at 5 in the morning.
Bathroom - you need to be quite able bodied to get your "leg over" into the bath for a shower. Hair dryer - pointless.
Breakfast - the floor in the orangery was disgusting. It was obvious that it hadn't been cleaned from the night before.
There was no glasses or jams/preserves on the table. We waited over ten minutes for tea to arrive, longer for toast. We ordered a full english, after about 15 minutes we were served with a sausage, 1 bacon and a poached egg - we did call over the waitress at this point to say this was not what we ordered. A more senior person came to the table and confirmed this and took them away. It was a further 15 minutes before we got our cooked breakfast - well worth the wait, very tasty breakfast. A little obvious that it had been left at the pass a little too long as the egg was not runny anymore and all was just warm.
The grounds and the food are the best part about this hotel.
Needs to have a very good deep clean, modernisation and general staff training.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nkoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Battle
3.1 mi away
Claverton Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Leeford Place Hotel
Leeford Place Hotel
#2 of 5 in Battle
418 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Brickwall Hotel
The Brickwall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sedlescombe
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in Battle
101 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Cooden Beach Hotel
The Cooden Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bexhill-on-Sea
895 reviews
0.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#5 of 5 in Battle
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PowderMills Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PowderMills Country House Hotel

Property: PowderMills Country House Hotel
Address: Powdermill Lane, Battle TN33 0SP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Battle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — PowderMills Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your PowderMills Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powdermills Country Hotel
Powdermills Country Battle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing