We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B in our two weeks trip!!”
Review of Tollgate Farmhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Battle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tollgate Farmhouse
Ranked #2 of 9 Battle B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The best B&B in our two weeks trip!!”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife andd me were travelling to battle and stay with the Tollgate Farmhouse for one night. We were given a room at a small house just next to the main building.

Good things:
1) The room was tidy, the bed & linens were clean and very comfortable.
2) The host was very friendly
3) It provides plenty of amenities; tea, coffee making facilities, hair dryer, a TV with DVD..very good.
4) Superb breakfast in the morning, a traditional English breakfast in a sunshining breakfast room. We have no choice but to put a full mark for the full breakfast.

We felt no adverse coment with ths B&B at all. (Although this is a little bit out from the town centre, it is not a matter to us as we were driving.) A very pleasant stay here!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EH613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
14
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My adult son and I recently spent three weeks touring the south of England, staying one or two nights in B&Bs, all of them lovely in their own way but it wasn't until we arrived at Martin and Christine's that we decided immediately to spend our last three nights there. One look at the spacious accommodation (we are both big guys and Christine offered us the roomy bedroom/living room unit next to the dining area), and the briefest of chats with this most delightful couple was all it took to change our plans for our last few days in the UK and stay with them in East Sussex. Other reviewers have commented on the friendliness shown by Christine and Martin, the bowls of fruit on arrival, the extensive range of toiletries-truly huge!- in the bathroom, the large selection in the room of teas coffees and other hot drinks, and the vast range of jams spreads and sauces in the bright and airy dining room. To that I can add that each afternoon after we returned from our travels there were either home cooked mufffins or slices of cake waiting for us. The breakfasts were varied and of generous proportions, and Martin, who is a fountain of knowledge on the area's attractions, was always available to help us plan our day once breakfast was over. The twin beds were probably the best we'd had and the room was always spotless when we returned at the end of the day. It was our first ground floor room of the trip which was a welcome change and this made it easy to walk out into the beautifully maintained and picturesque back garden. There's a pool too it you're there in the warmer weather. If ever I'm in the south-east again I know where I'll be staying, only next time I hope it will be for much longer. This was the perfect way to end a most enjoyable visit, and I wish Christine and Martin many years of good health and happiness so that many more visitors can enjoy their beautiful house and their genuine and warm hospitality.

Room Tip: If there are two of you and you are planning on staying more than one night, you could request the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at Tollgate Farmhouse for three nights. Christine and Martin are welcoming and their attention to detail was outstanding. The breakfast menu was most extensive and was served in a bright and spacious sunny conservatory overlooking the garden. The room was really comfortable and the bowls of fruit, sweets, biscuits and other thoughtful touches were much appreciated. We also really enjoyed the home grown figs - what a treat!

Room Tip: We chose a room with a walk in shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosieSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth UK
Level Contributor
192 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed two nights as a part of five, so took up most of the accommodation. Everything we could need was provided, down to up-to-date weekly magazines. We arrived very late in the evening, but nothing was too much trouble for Christine and Martin. Breakfast quality and variety truly are magnificent - you choose your cooked breakfast options beforehand, and it all arrives promptly in the large and comfortable south facing dining room. Sadly we had not brought swimming costumes so can only report of hte swimming pool that it is a good size and looked very welcoming. Can't guarantee the same hot sunny weather, but everything else seems consistently excellent. Fully recommended :)

Room Tip: The disabled access twin room has a large bathroom; the twin in the top of the garage style block re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric_the_Bish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2012

This was our second stay at Tollgate Farmhouse. This trip we stayed 6 nights in our spacious room with large bathroom, fully equipped with all the toiletries you require. The lovely breakfast was served by our hosts, Christine & Martin. This B & B is a must if you are staying in the Sussex area. We wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stugay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed at Tollgate Farmhouse B & B this April 2012 for four nights. The hostess Mrs Howe served up a fab breakfast with plenty to choose from. In our lounge we had a fridge, tea and coffee making facilities. Very spacious bedroom, good size bathroom with all the toiletries you require, just everything you wanted. We found Mr & Mrs Howe very friendly and extremely helpful. We would recommend this B & B to anyone. It is in a ideal position for visiting the surrounding countryside. Mr & Mrs H ( Malvern, Worcestershire )

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2011

My two night stay was the most comfortable I have experienced in the UK. All I had to do was arrive, every conceivable want was provided for. Immaculate in cleanliness, light and airy, large bathroom ( provision of all toileteries/towels and dressing gowns !!!), lovely little touches in living area-biscuits and sweets.
Breakfast choices for the faddiest of appetites. Mine was the traditional English, plentiful, hot and tasty. Superb view overlooking spacious garden, which must be a joy for spring/summer/autumn guests.
As to the hosts, Martin and Christine. Such nice people, warm and welcoming, without being intrusive. So approachable, equally professional. They are a perfect example of how to be genuinely hospitable.
i shall be returning, with my wife next time, to re-sample this excellent accommodation and would recommend this venue to anyone who wants to enjoy an 'up market' experience at reasonable cost.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank villaman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Battle
0.7 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#5 of 5 in Battle
193 reviews
0.9 mi away
PowderMills Country House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Leeford Place Hotel
Leeford Place Hotel
#2 of 5 in Battle
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Claverton Country House Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in Battle
97 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Brickwall Hotel
The Brickwall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sedlescombe
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tollgate Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tollgate Farmhouse

Property: Tollgate Farmhouse
Address: Tollgates Farmhouse 59 North Trade Road, Battle TN33 0HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Battle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Battle
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tollgate Farmhouse is a family business set in the historic town of Battle. Being within walking distance to Battle town centre and Battle Abbey and Station, with all amenities, it is an ideal place to stay. A warm welcome awaits you at Tollgates ensuring your stay is comfortable and relaxed and enjoyable as possible. The house is a modern spaciously planned accommodation, offering six en-suite rooms which includes a family suite including one room with disabled facilities. Our en-suite rooms are well stocked with toiletries, towels and towelling robes, tastefully decorated and each has its own freeview flat screen television, alarm clock radio, free wifi and mini fridge stocked with fruit juice and mineral water. The property enjoys a large well stocked garden to the rear with a large paved patio equipped with tables and chairs for relaxing. The heated swimming pool may be used by guests at proprietors discretion. A choice of full english or continental breakfast is served every morning to all our guests in our new recently extended sun lounge that overlooks the garden and swimming pool. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing