We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best week of my life! So pleased I went.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Battle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Slimmeria Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I have been home from Slimmeria now almost 3 weeks and I have kept off all the 10lbs that I lost, and I am successfully now losing (albeit at a slower pace!) approx 1lb per week. I am 5ft 3 and my weight was 158lbs when I went to Slimmeria and I left at 148lbs - this was the kick start that I needed and I felt amazing on leaving and I still feel amazing now. The experience is not one to be missed.

The staff are really lovely and are on hand to help with everything, Phil and Lisa who do the classes were excellent teachers, the physical exercise was just the right level for the average person, in my opinion, you cannot over work as the food intake is low. Gemma and Ann were extremely motivational. Ann who does the massages was excellent too which is very welcome after a day spent walking, exercising and relaxing in the grounds.

If you want to switch off, relax, get away from your busy life, get rid of the junk food and sugar cravings and loose up to 13lbs or more(!!), then this is the place for you. Do not be fooled, it is not easy, it is a hard week, but the people you meet help you get through it, the portion sizes are surprisingly large and the food is delicious.

The week surpassed all of my expectations.

Thank you Siimmeria you have moved me from overweight / fat to feeling normal and happy again. Only a further 10lbs to lose on my own now, a MUCH more manageable amount. THANK YOU! Maybe even see you in a couple of months time to help shift the final couple of stubborn lbs!

The nutritional talk does need to be refreshed.. the lady who does this has some definite ideas and her focus is very narrow. However the nutritional tips I learnt from everyone else on the week more than made up for this.! And this is the only thing I would want to change about the entire week.

The rooms are really lovely and the house is very clean, the grounds are beautiful and I would not hesitate to recommend this retreat to everyone and anyone. If you want to relax, lose weight, kick start a new you then go to slimmeria and you will not look back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BEMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 333 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

The world would be boring if we all experienced life in the same way. My friend and I visited Slimmeria the week of glorious weather early June. We both have been to other retreats so we are not naive in our views. Our bedroom was in the main house and was prettily decorated hence The Green Room. We slept well each night the comfortable beds easing the healthy aches and pains due to us joining in all the exercises organised by the staff throughout the morning and early evening. The spa treatments were relaxing if thats what you needed, or more strenuous if like me you experienced the birching treatment and the honey massage , all staff well trained, polite and gracious. We lost an average of 8lbs during our stay and worked hard to achieve this. BUT its not all about weight loss
, its learning discipline in portion control, its about listening and learning from the nutritional talks, and alternative therapies. Its about listening to others stories and learning from then. This health retreat is Galias dream and we feel privileged to have been part of that and yes we will certainly be going back on a regular basis. So as I said before the same experience will be seen from many angles, try it out for yourself , throw yourself into the strict regime without preconceived ideas Hye House is a wonderful retreat

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynnmccole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I could only stay 5 days this time, but still lost 11 lbs and have lost another 2 lbs in the last 3 days since returning to normality. My third time at Slimmeria and the results have always been really good as long as you are willing to put in the work when you are there. I have also kept the weight off. Time with Galia is always a boost as she is very motivational, and the other detoxers are a great support.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slimmeria, Guest Relations Manager at The Slimmeria Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

We would REALLY like to congratulate Terry on her personal achievements and maintaining her weight-loss between her visits with us plus looking REALLY amazing at the end of each retreat.

1st visit 16 pounds in 7 days
2nd visit 16.5 pounds in 7 days
3rd visit 11 pounds in 5 days and a further 2 pounds straight afterwards.

We know Terry is feeling de-LIGHTED !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I had reservations when I first made the booking (butterflies in the stomach!), but Slimmeria is there to bring out a better you. If you stick to the programme (food and exercise), the results are unbelievable! I managed a 25.5lb loss in 2 weeks, and the staff at Slimmeria made me feel very proud of the achievement. Maintaining that loss after the time at the retreat was always going to be difficult, but a healthy lifestyle was instilled into me. I took away fitness, food and psychological advice, which is indispensable and 2 weeks later, I feel great! Highly recommended to anyone looking for weight loss, lifestyle change, group support and guidance, relaxation from stress/work and fitness regiment.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaron_dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I've decided to write this review, in the full knowledge that most of my comments on here will be ignored or excuses made. Sorry it is going to be quite detailed but hopefully quite fair.

I spent a week here wanting to tone, lose weight and have some time to myself.

First the good points.
-Beautiful house in very nice grounds
-The staff were friendly
-The group on holiday were in the whole lovely, fun and supportive of each other
-We were incredibly lucky and had gorgeous weather
-The little food we had was very good, well prepared and well presented. It was surprising how good cabbage and carrots, which are the mainstay of the diet, could taste
-Very nice room with antique furniture
-The morning walks were gentle walks through pretty countryside
-the zumba teacher was great
-I did manage to forget about work for the week

Now the not so good
-Unfortunately the staff who normally run the exercise classes were away. The woman who did the classes instead was lovely and encouraging, but clearly aimed the classes at people who rarely if ever exercised.
-She spent a lot of the class explaining about the exercise and why it was being done, which is probably great for those who don't exercise, but for those like me used to exercising, not so great. One 45 min class involved only about 10 mins exercise.
-We were lucky that we could exercise outside most days as the one day we went inside, you could only fit half of the class in at any one time.
-I barely slept more than 3 or 4 hours sleep a night which may have been one of the causes for my poor weight loss with a lack of growth hormone during sleep.
-The room I was in was lovely with antique furniture. I had asked for a softer mattress when I booked. What I was given was an antique bed with a mattress probably from the same era. It was faded and all the springs were very prominent. I mentioned this to one of the staff members and was not offered a topper. I asked for a spare quilt so that I could fold it and lie on it-this was duly sent to my room with no quilt cover which I then had to ask for. When I mentioned it to Galia and explained that 4 other people had also mentioned how uncomfortable their beds were, I was told it was because I was detoxing. No it was definitely because the springs were digging into my back.
- The house is locked at 9.30 every night, and we were told off nicely for being in the lounge after that time and watching tv. If you fancied going out to the cinema or anywhere else in the evening this isn't possible. Considering my other option was to try and sleep on that mattress. Not great! If it had been raining all week, I think you would go stir crazy
- Galia is lovely to chat to, very funny and clearly passionate about what she does. However she doesn't take criticism very well at all even when constructive, and tries to blame it on the guests
-the 4 people I have kept in touch with, have all put all the weight they lost back on within the space of a fortnight, just by eating normally.
-I lost 7lbs which was the least of anyone in the group despite doing extra exercise and walks. I have previously lost more in a week with a high protein diet
-the "nutrition" talk! Some of it sensible, common knowledge. Eat more fruit and veg, less red meat and less processed food. Clearly sensible good advice. When she started to talk about the cells in the body having a daytime and a nightime mode of action, and the night mode was caused by "the gentle pull of the moon" -really!! Not drinking more than a pint of water at a time because it stressed the kidney. Eat organic potatoes and other veg which grows underground but that anything that grows up out of the ground is fine not to eat organic as you can wash it. That we should eat gluten free as gluten lines the bowel! Someone asked her to explain complex carbs-she didn't answer and it seemed clear that she didn't know.
-the last thing is the "spa" which is a room with 3 or 4 treatment tables separated by hospital screens which allow you to hear your neighbour's treatment and any other noises around. My 2 inclusive treatments only lasted about 20 mins and were pleasant but very average.

All in all a very expensive waste of money, except for meeting some lovely people. Yes I lost a bit of weight, yes I toned a bit, yes I put it all back on within a fortnight from eating normally. If you have a special occasion and want a short term weight loss than this is the thing for you. Longterm probably not although I know the reply to this will say that lots of the guests keep the weight off.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank pesmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slimmeria, Guest Relations Manager at The Slimmeria Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

We thank our guest for listing the good points and rating our location, rooms, cleanliness and service so highly.

We were surprised by her comment comparing our fitness teachers because she did not have first hand experience of our other fitness teacher to be able to make a comparison. It also seemed a shame that rather than being appreciative of the beautiful weather during her week, she was concerned about how it would have been for her if it had been raining.

Our guest had requested a soft mattress, so she was given our yellow room on the first floor. We are regularly complimented by guests staying in this room because they find the bed to be very comfortable. We even have some returning guests specifically requesting this as “their” room. Where there has been a consistent message from guests that a particular mattress has been uncomfortable, we have acted and replaced that mattress. However, there is often a variety of reasons for insomnia – especially on a detox and weight loss retreat.

Many of our guests have a regular routine of going to be bed very late and I know “Pesmes” told us that she does shift work in a medical environment so this is probably why she was upset that we wanted people in bed by 9.30pm (our website indicates that a typical day starts with a wake-up call at 7.15am and ends with bedtime at 9pm). On a detox, fitness and weight loss retreat, it is about retreating from normal hectic routines and socialising, including evening social activities such as going to the cinema or eating out. However, when guests request to go to the cinema, we don’t object.

When people are eating earlier in the evening and especially a light detox diet, their food is digested quickly and they will experience a different sleep pattern than if eating heavier food, later in the evening and going to bed very late.

We always recommend our guests avoid having an afternoon sleep as bedtimes are early and because when people are on a low carb diet, it can also result in ketosis which can affect sleep patterns.

Richard Veech, an NIH researcher who got his doctorate at Oxford University with the Nobel Laureate Hans Krebs, says that “ketosis is a normal physiological state. I would argue that it is the normal state of man. It’s not normal to have McDonald’s and a delicatessen around every corner. It’s normal to starve…We may have evolved to efficiently store fat for times of famine, but we also evolved ketosis to efficiently live off that fat when necessary. Rather than being poison, which is how the press often refers to ketones, they make the body run more efficiently and provide a backup fuel source for the brain.” Veech calls ketones “magic” and has shown that both the heart and brain run 25 percent more efficiently on ketones than on blood sugar.”

Everyone’s personal experience is obviously different, some optimistic and others more pessimistic and we are sure potential guests value reading different reviews to help them form their own guidance as to whether our retreat is for them or not.

We thank our guest once again for all the positive comments about our retreat. Given the fact that our fairly slim guest started detoxing prior to arrival (and possibly lost weight), her 7.5 pounds weight loss is commendable and overall there’s no need to be that “pesmes”tic. Obviously our guest’s diet and lifestyle outside of the retreat are totally out of our control and therefore we can’t comment on why someone would put all the weight back on in such a short time.

We have had no less than four positive reviews from guests on the same week as “Pesmes” who have maintained their weight loss and one of these emailed us to say she was delighted as she has lost even more weight.

We wish our guest well and trust that in her normal routine she has an excellent sleep pattern.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have just come back after spending a week at Slimmeria and I LOVED IT! The food, the accomodation, the staff, the classes, the walks & Galia. I lost 5 and 1/2 inches and 5.2 kilos. But I gained a lot more. I feel happier, healthier and wiser.

When I read the very few complaints about Slimmeria it is so obvious to me that some people do not have realistic expectations.

Galia is very accomodating and she also has a clear program that she knows that works and it is a program that is suitable for variety of people. I don't eat parsley and when everyone else had parsley in their food I did not! Wow, I would say that is over and above and I was not the only person catered for in this way. The yoga teacher was absolutely fabulous and kind constantly walking around the room talking with people.

The Spa was beautiful and the treatments Sublime.

All the staff were so kind and caring and this is usually a sure sign that the managment is doing the right thing.

Galia you are wonderful thank you for being you for helping me stay on track when I waivered and thank you for the fabulous program you have put together. I think you are probably ahead of your time with your knowledge of health & healthy eating never change your kind, caring nature.

Many thanks and see you soon.

Tania xxxx

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taniarosem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Wanting a break city-life, my partner and I looked for a detox spa retreat to rest, have a bit of pampering and kick start healthy eating habits. We chose Slimmeria, a beautiful Georgian mansion in the English Countryside, why not? We were not disappointed. Hye house is amazing beautiful, clean and quiet - the perfect place to think, relax in tranquil surroundings, toped off with massages and body treatments. We booked the Blue room in the Mansion. We came back relaxed, well rested, full of life and energy (David lost 1/2 stone in 3 days, I lost 4 pounds). The strict eating regime (set by Galia the owner) did us a whole world of good (inside and out).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllieBannerBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Battle hotels
3.2 mi away
Claverton Country House Hotel
2 mi away
PowderMills Hotel & Restaurant
2.7 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#5 of 5 in Battle
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Leeford Place Hotel
Leeford Place Hotel
#1 of 5 in Battle
457 reviews
2.9 mi away
St Benedicts Byre
St Benedicts Byre
#4 of 9 in Battle
19 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crowhurst Park
Crowhurst Park
#3 of 8 in Battle
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slimmeria Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slimmeria Retreat

Address: Hye House Royal Oak Lane | Hye House, Crowhurst, Battle TN33 9BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Battle
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Battle
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
The Slimmeria Retreat Hotel Battle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing