We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit of fun, it whiled away an hour or so.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Yesterday's World - CLOSED

Yesterday's World
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Watford, Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Bit of fun, it whiled away an hour or so.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

This an interesting and quirky little place. It's set over 5 floors in an old house and every room represents a different shop or room in a house (ie the nursery). It's a bit of fun just to see all the old items in each "shop". It whiled away an hour or so and it's great if the weather is bad.

Helpful?
Thank AliWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    72
    42
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great we day acivity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Great half day out and well worth the money. Me and my sister wen and we had a real giggle about our childhood and memories all via the displays and exhibits. Remember "Spangles" - Remember when potato crisps came in a jar?? What a great activity rain or shine.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Could be a lot better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Quite disappointed. Boys were expecting a proper trench and wwI experience. Not enough lighting in shops and exhibits on.upper floors.Prince Charles waxwork very dodgy! It needs a good overhaul. We stayed a couplebit hours. Coffee and cake was nice. Garden looked lovely but sadlybit was raining. Sadly bit disappointed. Doesn't live up to advertising.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank abbeyangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great day out for lovers of History”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Myself and my husband visited here about 13 years ago, before we had the kids. We took our two children aged 7 and 11 and my parents. We spent about one and half hours there, it cost £23.00 for a family ticket and about £7.00 each for OAP's. We had a tea in their tearoom, very lovely and reasonable costs, we were served our hot drinks in lovely china cups and saucers, which was a nice touch. There were lots to see and for all of us something we were interested in. I would probably not take children younger than our 7 year old, he loves history and had a good time. As usual we purchased some lovely souveniers, and the cost was about usual. Very friendly staff. You can use Tesco vouchers to purchase tickets, you do have to order in advance from Tesco.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mandyw1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We had very low expectations of Yesterday's World and almost didn't visit at all. I had a littlebird voucher for the attraction and decided we'd squeeze in a quick look in the morning before heading elsewhere. We were greeted by a lovely friendly lady on the desk who gave the kids an Easter treasure hunt to do. We had a quick look at the shop and saw things we wanted to buy before we left. The museum was amazing. It was laid out with great care and attention to detail similar to the victorian shops area in the museum of London, but even better due to the voice overs and sound effects. The audio commentaries were excellent. Special mention must be made of the fantastic and moving video account of a girl's evacuation during World War 2. The whole museum was really accessible to the kids too, and really interactive. In the end our visit was a bit rushed. We'd have loved to spend more time and visit the lovely looking cafe. I'd strongly recommend a visit for anyone interested in domestic history or just a bit of nostalgia. Brilliant.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grant B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yesterday's World also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing