We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”
Review of Crowhurst Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crowhurst Park
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Just back from our second short break at Crowhurst Park. Having stayed in one of the Ontario lodges last time we upgraded to the Colorado Plus and were very impressed with the modern facilities, cleanliness and space. It was great to have a DVD player, and a TV in one of the bedrooms. The best bit was the outdoor hot tub which was always on and hot enough for a daily soak even in February temperatures. The pool in the leisure centre is good, and the clubhouse, whilst a little dated, offers generous portions of good food. This is a great place to explore from - Eastbourne, Hastings, Rye, Bodiam Castle, Tunbridge Wells etc. are all within about half an hour so get off site and do some exploring!

Room Tip: The Colorado Plus lodges might be the most expensive, but they're also the most modern and the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elleay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 282 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here twice this year. For the Hastings Half Marathon (3 nights) and for the Battle November the 5th event (3 nights).

Both stays were very good. Cabins are of ok size. Rooms aren't massive, living room / kitchen area is of better size, and managed to fit 12 of us when we met up for drinks in the cabin. Walls inside the cabin are VERY thin. But hearing sounds from other peoples cabin is rare.

Kitchen is well equipped. Beds were surprisingly comfortable and I enjoyed several good nights sleep.

The onsite pool / gym area is very good. Far larger than you would think for a resort of this size.

The grounds are nice and offer good views of rolling hills and fields to the rear.

Staff seem friendly. Only one parking space per cabin, but other parking areas are available. Safe feel resort, and has a very long drive, so is set well away from the main road.

Room Tip: Anywhere. The best two are within a walled garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed with my Mother who is disabled and my two daughters aged 21 & 14 years over Christmas and although I agree with some of the comments about some of the lodges being a bit "weather beaten" and in need of a little "TLC" we could not complain about the service that we received!! We stayed in the Virginia number 1 which I guess is probably one of the oldest lodges and was definitely in need of some updating. The carpet was a bit "grubby" as was the furniture but once we had put up our own Christmas tree and decorations and turned on the fire the lodge was very homely and cosy and very warm!! The bedrooms were fine and none of us had any complaints about the beds. The young lady who welcomed me on arrival had a "beaming" smile and she was very helpful...especially when I couldn't get the TV to work on arrival and she said "someone will be there to help you in a couple of minutes".....and someone was there to help within two minutes!!! Our first evening there we ate in the Manor House and we all had absolutely no complaints with the food or the service from the restaurant or the bar...I had the roast beef dinner which was lovely!!! There is not much in the shop on site but you have all of the major stores within 10 minutes drive. The town of Battle is well worth a visit....we all said that we would definitely return but although Mum is disabled she can manage a few stairs so when we return we will definitely upgrade our lodge but thank you for a... "what the doctor ordered" relaxing Christmas stay!!! Alan, Maureen, Emma, Jojo :)

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and choose a more luxurious lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

If you are planning on going away and just staying in and doing nothing - perfect place. Yet if you are planning on doing loads of activities on site and outside, don't even bother! No one informed us that most of the activities outside were not aveliable until the weekend, yet there is nothing on their website about it! When we asked reception about it, they didn't even bother to explain or suggest something we could do to kill our boredom ( bare in mind, it was a surprise holiday for friends birthday ). No one told us that we couldn't do activities on site, due to the fitness instructor being ill, for 2 days! When I asked receptionist when would he be back.. she didn't even know he was ill!! Then, we wanted to book a few treatments at the spa - but the spa was shut! We got told that the woman was getting married and the spa was shut for a week.
Then we wanted to have dinner at the restaurant, unfortunately.. we found out when we walked in that apparently the restaurant was shut every wednesday. Well, don't you think your customer service is poor and we should have been informed about all this when we arrived?
Will not be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Karolina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
collette c, Guest Relations Manager at Crowhurst Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for your review on Crowhurst Park. I have investigated the points that you have raised and would like to take this opportunity to respond to your comments.

As recommended in both our brochure and online advance booking is advisable for all activities this is also essential for beauty treatments. The off site activities you mentioned we can not be held responsible for, these are independant businesses with no connection with Crowhurst Park. I can only assume as very busy outdoor activity sites you needed to pre book also as they carry age, weight and health restrictions.

I have spoken with all the staff involved in your review and can confirm that the Go Active instructor did have a day sick leave. This was after he checked that he had no guests booked on activities that day. The receptionist did call the instructor for you at home and he agreed to come in the next day to arrange activities with you. He waited in the office from 9am to 5.30pm but you never returned. The on site beautician was on honeymoon but in her absence she had arranged cover for a couple of days a week. However at the same time as dealing with your Go active enquiry the other receptionist working that day was busy online getting beauty salon numbers and addresses for you, you walked out without a word not waiting for an answer.

The restaurant is clearly advertised online, in the brochure and on park as being closed every Wednesday and Thursday during March, November and December however we are currently still open on Thursdays.

After speaking with everyone involved I am more than happy with the customer service that you received with them all going the extra mile trying to organise your free time where you omitted pre planned your stay.

You have not mentioned the value, location,sleep quality, rooms or cleanliness in your review but have marked them all as terrible which I feel is very unfair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at Crowhurst Park for 3 nights over this bonfire weekend. My review is based entirely on the customer service experience we had and it was truly excellent! The staff we encountered were brilliant (this includes the reception staff and the maintenance staff of the hotel). I cannot rate them highly enough!

My husband and I have stayed with Crowhurst Park on four separate occassions over the last 15 or so years, but this is the first time we have stayed with our children (aged 7). We had planned our visit for this particular weekend so that we could see the fireworks in Battle. However, when we arrived on the Friday, we learned the event had been scaled down somewhat for reasons beyond their control. As you can imagine, after planning a weekend around this event, it would have been pretty devasting having to explain to two young children that there were no fireworks afterall!!

The staff were very sympathetic and without prompting them, they began looking things up in newspapers and on the internet and chatting to one another about suitable alternatives! They communicated extremely well as a team and within half an hour, we had made alternative plans and our weekend was completely salvaged!! We attended a local event at Mountfield on the Friday evening (which is a MUST SEE for 2013!!) Then we ventured out for an event that was located at Edenbridge (a fair distance away, but was exactly what we were looking for and well worth the visit!) I would highly recommend Crowhurst Park to everybody for this reason alone .. thank you so much to Serena, Denise, Nic and Alan for making our short visit so memorable! In an age when customer service appears to be the last thing companies worry about, it was so refreshing to receive proper old fashioned customer service without having to remind the staff how important it is to their future business!! Well done Crowhurst Park ... I would recommend you any day of the week!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Jessie1Jessie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have just returned from Crowhurst Park where we spent half term week with one of our daughters, son-in-law and two granddaughters (6 and 8). Our only previous experience of holiday parks has been Center Parcs at Longleat. As most people will know Center Parcs is very expensive. Crowhurst was at the other end of the scale!
When we booked at the beginning of March this year the only lodge available for six people was a Minnesota, the most basic of all the lodges. This was reflected in the price we paid, just under four hundred pounds for four nights so our expectations were quite low. Our expectations were met but not in a disappointing way. However the lodge was very dated, especially the bathroom and kitchen and both looked in need of urgent refurbishment. The kitchen was poorly equipped. However there was plenty of china and cutlery. The odd thing was we found a duster, four pegs and a rolling pin in one of the kitchen draws but there was no carpet sweeper! This was one of our 'niggles'. Another was that there were no instructions for any of the kitchen appliances. We did have instructions but these were for totally different makes and models of equipment. Also, the oven door did not fit properly and consequently we were heating the kitchen as well as food. The bedrooms were ok and the beds reasonably comfortable. The lounge area was OK as well. One important thing was that the whole place was very clean, looked clean and smelt clean. You are given a welcome pack when you check in but an information folder in the lodge would have been useful.
As this was a basic lodge we did not expect any 'bells and whistles' so it is worth bearing in mind about what stuff you need to take with you. We already knew we had to take our own towels. You will also need to take tea towels, dish clothes, bin liners, washing up liquid, spray cleaners, kitchen paper, toilet rolls, toiletries, etc. The shop in the main house is basic in the extreme. It is little more than a broom cupboard with a fridge for milk and some other bits and pieces and cannot be relied upon. However there is a Tesco Express at the Esso station just down the road and most things could be bought there. There is a Co-op supermarket in Battle but we found Tesco much better for our needs. We also found a 'Cook' shop at the top of the high street. They sell very good quality frozen foods.
We ate at the restaurant in the manor house once. The food was tasty and reasonably priced. We chose to go on Curry Night. There was a choice of four curries, all tasted good but were basically one curry sauce spiced up with varying degrees of chilli. We had a problem with the chicken curry which only contained four rather small pieces of chicken breast but this was rectified to our satisfaction. The bar staff were very friendly and helpful.
Like the manor house, the Leisure Club was very dated although the gymnasium equipment looked up to date. Most of our grumbles centred around the Leisure Club. The staff were in the main unhelpful and surly. The changing areas were outdated and in need of refurbishment. The steam room and sauna looked much newer and were very pleasant to use. Other reviewers have commented on how tired the holiday village looked and it is difficult to see how they can continue to justify their 'five stars' without some capital expenditure on the infrastructure. They advertise 40 activities but they seemed to us to be very disorganised, even chaotic. It was difficult to get information about what was going on and where. Some activities were cancelled because of broken equipment. Ask for information at the Leisure Club and you are referred to Reception who then tell you to 'ask at the Leisure Club'!! The pool is open for adults only at lunch time, is closed or partially closed off for other activities during the day. There is a leaflet outlining daily activities in the welcome pack but none of these are particularly well publicised. The children wanted to go to a 'Go Junior' session. We tried to find out what the session included and were promised a phone call to let us know. Guess what? No phone call. However the children went anyway and had a great time. However, considering all these activities are an extra cost perhaps they need better marketing.
Despite what I have written above, we did have a good week. We had fantastic views from our lodge. The children had a great time. The Halloween Night was good fun when even previously surly and uncommunicative staff seemed to have a good time. However, apart from the pool, we preferred to spend our time away from the park. Yesteryear Museum in Battle was very good. Battle Abbey is worth a visit, especially as last week was 'Spooky Abbey'.
All in all is was good value for the amount of money we paid.
..........and finally, Peaches Spa. It is not really a spa but a treatment room but the beauty therapist is very good. Try the hot stones massage.

Room Tip: We found it very quiet and peaceful despite it being school half-term
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smithy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed in a 'Garden Plus' lodge which looked very nice. Very small as you would expect, with good facilities including dishwasher but no washing machine! The lodge was very clean & tidy with pretty much everything you will need. Also had tv (very old one!), DVD & freeview box. Small flat screen tv in 'master' bedroom. A separate cloakroom as well as main bathroom with second door to master bedroom which was pretty adequate apart from non working locks on both doors!! The double bed in master bedroom was probably the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in! It was very hard & had a camp bed type frame to it which was partly broken & very noisy every time you moved! Bed filled the room with wardrobe doors hitting it - but that said, it is a room you aren't in much. The sofa was also incredibly hard with a full length wooden board directly under the cushion! This lodge came with a hot tub, which was superb! Lovely & hot & we spent an hour every evening in it with a glass of wine even though it was very cold outside! We ate once in the restaurant & the food was very good & a reasonable price too. All the staff I met we're very nice & very helpful especially the caretaker that I collared quite late one evening to help me with the hot tub temperature control - he came down within 5 minutes!!
To sum up, very clean, nice staff, nice surroundings, but not that comfortable if you like nice comfy beds & sofas!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muzicman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Battle
1.6 mi away
Claverton Country House Hotel
3.2 mi away
Leeford Place Hotel
Leeford Place Hotel
#2 of 5 in Battle
436 reviews
10.0 mi away
Martello Beach Holiday Park - Pevensey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
#3 of 11 in Hastings
839 reviews
2.0 mi away
PowderMills Hotel & Restaurant
2.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#5 of 5 in Battle
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowhurst Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowhurst Park

Address: Telham Lane, Battle TN33 0SL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Battle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Battle
Price Range: $38 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowhurst Park 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowhurst Park is a quiet, five star holiday village set in 120 acres of countryside just outside Battle in 1066 Country in East Sussex.We have over 50 log cabins available for short breaks and longer holidays. Our park has magnificent views towards Beachy Head and the new South Downs National Park. We hold the David Bellamy Award for Conservation and so we are a dog-free environment. Our lodges all have two or three bedrooms, television (some with DVD player) a kitchen and bathroom and a balcony (some with your own personal hot tub). All bedding is provided but you will need to bring some towels. We have a lovely leisure centre with 18 metre pool, sauna, hot-tub and steam room in addition to a gym. There is a masseuse available to really pamper yourself. Kids are catered for by our Go-Active Club for a small charge and there are a host of things for you to do in the area. Parking is adjacent to the lodge. We look forward to welcoming you to Crowhurst Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Crowhurst Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowhurst Park Hotel Battle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing