We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like park homes & a quiet place - you will probably like it!”
Review of Crowhurst Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crowhurst Park
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed in a 'Garden Plus' lodge which looked very nice. Very small as you would expect, with good facilities including dishwasher but no washing machine! The lodge was very clean & tidy with pretty much everything you will need. Also had tv (very old one!), DVD & freeview box. Small flat screen tv in 'master' bedroom. A separate cloakroom as well as main bathroom with second door to master bedroom which was pretty adequate apart from non working locks on both doors!! The double bed in master bedroom was probably the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in! It was very hard & had a camp bed type frame to it which was partly broken & very noisy every time you moved! Bed filled the room with wardrobe doors hitting it - but that said, it is a room you aren't in much. The sofa was also incredibly hard with a full length wooden board directly under the cushion! This lodge came with a hot tub, which was superb! Lovely & hot & we spent an hour every evening in it with a glass of wine even though it was very cold outside! We ate once in the restaurant & the food was very good & a reasonable price too. All the staff I met we're very nice & very helpful especially the caretaker that I collared quite late one evening to help me with the hot tub temperature control - he came down within 5 minutes!!
To sum up, very clean, nice staff, nice surroundings, but not that comfortable if you like nice comfy beds & sofas!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muzicman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 291 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Garden Lodge Plus number 109, it was big enough for two adults and two children (8 & 12). The hot tub was fab, the lodge was warm and the views across the countryside towards the sea were beautiful. The on site restaurant was good value for money and the food was good. Various activities were available on site, swimming pool easy very nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MabelMercian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We’ve returned to Crowhurst Park a number of times over the years & we’ve had a fantastic holiday every time. The log cabins are modern & spacious with great views. The pool is fantastic for the family, as is the out door adventure play-park.

The small shop on site is just adequate for essentials but the restaurant & bar offer a fine choice of food / beer if you want to eat out.

The site is well laid out, always tidy & the staff friendly. We’ll be returning sometime in 2013.

Room Tip: Go for a log cabin with a hot-tub ..............
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MCP163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I can only sympathise with the previous review in respect of the above. We arrived for our usual September weeks break ( we have been going for several years now ) only to find that half the mansion house had been allocated to a wedding reception so only the bar area, and possibly the restaurant, were only available to the site guests and residents. We no more than turned around and walked up to the local pub ( The Black Horse ) which incidentally was excellent food and service. At about midnight as the wedding guests were leaving, two youths decided to scream football chants at the top of their voices for about 15 mins until a car or taxi arrived to pick them up. I complained to Assistant Bar Manager the next day about the noise and he said it was probably due to two 19 year olds who he threw out the bar for abusing the staff. Shame they were not escorted off the site!! We have never ever had to complain about such incidents in previous years
Unfortunately their were several other small service issues as well. Examples being we were asked to order at the bar for our one and only meal in the restaurant whereas at the next table the order was taken at the table making us feel less important. My newspaper, which I ordered every day for a week was forgotten on the Saturday we left as it was not written in the book for some reason.
Finally I do not think this is a 5 star site anymore as the lodges are now a little tired and in real need of refurbishment and the movement towards outside functions has substantially increased the noise levels and affected the service and facilities available. We usually book for the next year on leaving but have not done so this year which is a shame as the site setting is lovely and the grounds well kept

Room Tip: Lodges looking over the South Downs have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derryk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Our family went for a weekend holiday. The holiday was fine and our little child, whom is 3, really enjoyed it. Not a very good selection of shops. Lodges are well treated.
The swimming pool is brilliant and can be very relaxing in the hot tub.
The bad part was that one day a wedding was happening in the holiday park. They covered everywhere. My son and Neice were playing in the park and then the wedding came in and kicked us out. Then we had a couple of wines and we went to dinner. We were told 3 times in different times of the day. The staff said that after 6pm the resturant was open. Well we werent allowed in beacause of the wedding. They should have private staff for that!!!
Then we had to have jam on toast all night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joshieboy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Just returned from a week at Crowhurst Park after having had a great holiday. We were very lucky with the weather which is always a bonus in the UK!

We stayed in a Virginia lodge as this was the only option available when we booked at the start of August. Very comfortable although the furnishings, especially the bathroom, was a little tired and could do with being modernised.

We only used the restaurant once as we were out and about exploring the area. Used swimming pool most days and found the local members of Leisure Club very friendly and helpful in advising places to visit on our travels. Would definitely recommend Camber Sands beach, Rye, Tenterden, Herstmonceux Castle amongst things to do.

Considering it was still the school holidays, we found the park very peaceful and safe for the kids (6 & 4). Can't really comment on kids activities based at the park as we tended to use it as base to explore.

Back to work, school and reality for us :-(!

Room Tip: Some lodges had front line views across the countryside - stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I went to crowhurst park with my family there are 6 of us ages 54, 52, 23, 21, 21 and 9. There were lots to do for our youngest but for the rest of us it got quite boring after the first few nights. Our log cabin was lovely very spacious nice bedrooms good kitchen with everything you could need and good shower. The only thing we didn't like was that there were no proper locks on the doors. The pool was great nice and big, sauna was good also. On the other hand leisure centre staff were terrible!! They gave me and my daughter a locker key to the men's changing rooms so we had to get dressed go back and swap then the same thing happened to my sons when they were given a key to the female changing room, they stood around chatting and left us waiting to get our keys but worst of all we called them to arrange an activity and get some information the girl on the phone told us she didn't know any of the questions we were asking so took our mobile number and told us she would call us straight back which she never did needless to say we never bothered going on any of the activities after that! Staff in general (except for the reception staff and one young girl who worked on the bar I think her name was Abi who were both very good) were terrible there just wasn't enough of them one man at the bar was extremely miserable and as before the leisure staff were rubbish! The restaurant was overpriced and not that great the homemade lasagne was nice but apart from that poor we eat out 3 times in battle which was lovely. The location was great the surroundings were beautiful and only a short trip into battle and a 15 minute drive to Hastings lots of good places in battle the abbey was great and a really nice Shepard neane pub with great food! It was a nice trip overall but could be so much better we all agreed to give it a 7 out of 10 taking away points for staff, food and lack of adult entertainment (although the quiz and bingo were both very good).

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy-Jayne36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
collette c, Guest Relations Manager at Crowhurst Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Crowhurst Park. All Comments are greatly received as without them we cannot improve our service to you.

Your points raised regarding the Leisure Club have all been logged and passed on to the department manager to ensure that these issues are rectified.

I am glad you still managed to enjoy your holiday with us and very much hope you will consider us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Battle
1.6 mi away
Claverton Country House Hotel
10 mi away
Martello Beach Holiday Park - Pevensey Bay
2.8 mi away
Combe Haven Holiday Park - Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
PowderMills Hotel & Restaurant
2.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#5 of 5 in Battle
211 reviews
3.2 mi away
Leeford Place Hotel
Leeford Place Hotel
#2 of 5 in Battle
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowhurst Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowhurst Park

Address: Telham Lane, Battle TN33 0SL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Battle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Battle
Price Range: $44 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowhurst Park 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowhurst Park is a quiet, five star holiday village set in 120 acres of countryside just outside Battle in 1066 Country in East Sussex.We have over 50 log cabins available for short breaks and longer holidays. Our park has magnificent views towards Beachy Head and the new South Downs National Park. We hold the David Bellamy Award for Conservation and so we are a dog-free environment. Our lodges all have two or three bedrooms, television (some with DVD player) a kitchen and bathroom and a balcony (some with your own personal hot tub). All bedding is provided but you will need to bring some towels. We have a lovely leisure centre with 18 metre pool, sauna, hot-tub and steam room in addition to a gym. There is a masseuse available to really pamper yourself. Kids are catered for by our Go-Active Club for a small charge and there are a host of things for you to do in the area. Parking is adjacent to the lodge. We look forward to welcoming you to Crowhurst Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Crowhurst Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowhurst Park Hotel Battle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing