We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Anchor at Walberswick”
Review of The Anchor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Anchor
Ranked #1 of 3 Walberswick B&B and Inns
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Anchor at Walberswick”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We have stayed at The Anchor many times, and have never been disappointed by the quality of the food, the choice of beers and wines, and the level of friendliness we encountered. Mark knows all there is to know about beer, and Sophie is one of the best- and most helpful- chefs in Suffolk. Dinner last night was excellent, stand out dishes including confit of duck, pan fried cod, and a wonderful summer lamb stew- rated by the two ladies who chose this dish as on of the best they had had. The atmosphere is great, and is well frequented by locals and tourists alike. The chalet rooms are very relaxing, you can sit outside and also walk straight onto the dunes. Walberswick being such a popular place in the summer, it can get extremely crowded, and no doubt some visitors passing through can find fault here and there. And yes some of the staff are young, but very helpful and enthusiastic.And the regulars know a good place when they see it....that's why we keep coming back.

Room Tip: Get Mark to chose a beer for you, Sophie to choose your dish, and Luke to select a wine. Easy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwarbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    61
    47
    22
    22
See reviews for
67
131
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ewhurst Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

A wonderful position you can walk on the beach before breakfast and after dinner.Our room was at the front of the pub and wasn't at all noisy but I can see it could be on a hot weekend evening.The room was a fair size,bed comfy and all very clean.Breakfast was very good with choice of kipper and haddock as well as the full English.
Dinner the night before also delicious and there was a roaring fire in the bar-welcome even in late June.
Liked the lovely paintings and photographs you would be happy to have in your own home and lots of books everywhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabethMellor, Owner at The Anchor, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a lovely review. I am really glad that you enjoyed our books and pictures, They are all a really personal collection. We look forward to welcoming you again, meanwhile we are waiting for the Summer!
Best wishes
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Because Sunday lunch looked frantically busy we stayed only for drinks, but curious and undaunted we returned for Monday lunch and found everything faultless. In the bar, with our dog settled under the table, we shared prawn tempura; I then ate the most delicious scallops on a bed of parsnip puree with pancetta and a fennel salad; my husband had pork schnizel with sauted potatoes and mushrooms - both exquisite. We then shared a lavender and rosemary panacotta which was heaven. The coffee was delicious and all reasonably priced. We were very well looked after by the friendly staff, and in particular Matt. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were made to feel welcome, the accommodation is very comfortable and the restaurant continues to serve excellent food. What more could you want? We took some friends whose dog was made equally welcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabethMellor, Owner at The Anchor, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. Positive feedback really does make such a difference. We all try so hard, but sometime seasonality and the weather can make life more difficult. It is great when we achieve what we set out to achieve.
With best wishes
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is my third review of The Anchor and for those of suspicious minds I have absolutely no connection with the owners.
I keep going there because quite simply it is great and I am writing another review with a tip.
Now I have never done B&B so I can't comment on the grouse that results in the odd poor review. Some guests say that the rooms could be cleaner and that cobwebs are around..
But I can comment on the staff aand the food and give you atip that might just help you enjoy your stay.
The staff never fail to give happy and cheerful service and some of the best around. The owners are reasonable people. So if you want to give it a try why not at the time of booking mention that you have heard the cobweb rumour andask if your room could be checked especially before you arrive. That way if there was any substance to the previous adverse comments then the Anchor has a chance to improve standards.
What's in it for you?
Well hopefully all will be well when you arrive and you can then enjoy the real pleasure of this friendly place. and the food.
Some people have said that the food can be expensive but we had lunch today and a couple of drinks and the bill was £43. To be frank, that is a few pounds more than we might have paid elsewhere say Norwich or even Southwold but only by a little and we felt there was no cause for complaint on this score. We enjoyed our courses and the well kept Adnams Broadside and the really enjoyable banter and conversation withthe staff who were delightful so if we paid an extra couple of quid it was still good value. The menu always has plenty of choice. By the way the bill included a still warm home made loaf to take home, cooked on the premises and delicious. So a bonus tip is take one home with you and enjoy the entire experience.

Room Tip: I've given you 2 what more do you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripper1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabethMellor, Owner at The Anchor, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you so much for all of your reviews. I am glad that like us you do not entirely understand some of the reviews you have read. It is also particularily kind of you to point out helpful hints - that we are keen to look after customers and care about the the Anchor.
We all look forward to welcoming you again.
Many thanks
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenfield
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The Anchor is a delightful old Inn in the pretty village of Walberswick. A warm welcome and our bedroom was comfortable. We dined in the restaurant - the menu was varied and whilst the dinner was tasty, we felt the presentation lacked a little, including breakfast the next morning. Perhaps the plumbing should be looked at - the shower whilst hot, made a very concerning noise. Having said the above, we would stay again at the Anchor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nasser13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Despite not looking very impressive from the outside, The Anchor is simply superb. Nothing is too much trouble for the fantastic helpful staff and the food and accommodation is of a very high standard.

Excellent value for money. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you have a family and want a sea view, ask for Room 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alejandro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walberswick
1.7 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
11.2 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor

Property: The Anchor
Address: The Street, Walberswick IP18 6UA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Walberswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Walberswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A village pub with a difference. Our addiction to fresh, top quality, locally sourced where possible produce, combined with a thirst for excellence have evolved into what has been described as a "must go to place on the Suffolk coast." Our approach to food is robust; we want to put on each plate satisfying combinations of flavours and textures. We have a good range of characterful draught beers, and numerous world class bottled beers, organic soft drinks and over 150 drop dead lovely wines from some of the earth’s most inspired winemakers. We offer the same menu throughout, with more formal Restaurant dining on a bookings basis and more relaxed walk-ins, in the Bar. We also have seating for 150 outside on three terraces, with table service available for those warmer days. Our renovated flint barn is a highly versatile space, equipped with a drop-down screen and a projector, ideal for business meetings, strategy reviews, team building exercises, corporate training, presentations, film showings or private parties to mention just a few of its uses. It has been put to good use in the cause of village based charity fund raising projects as well as providing the theatre for Food Safari events, cask beer festivals and the Aldebrough Doc. Fest. fringe event weekend November 2011. Free time relaxation can include everything from Golf at several well established Courses, to Horse Riding at Bramfield Equestrian Centre, Sky Diving for all levels at Beccels, Aromatherapy in walking distance or sea fishing of Walberswick Coast with Mark Felton. Beer Academy and WSCT (Wine and Spirits) educational courses are available by arrangement. Our Hotel Accommodation: We have just undergone a thorough renovation of our Now Cedar Clad Chalets, enhancing the environment in which to enjoy the Sea View. We offer 10 rooms in total, 6 spacious en suite room garden chalets, as well as several room options in the main building. All the rooms have a large flat screen TV, with Freeview and IPod Alarm Clock docking Stations. Ample free parking is provided with direct access to the beach, Dunwich Forest or the Marshes. RSPB Minsmere, Southwold and Aldeburgh are all close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Anchor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchor Hotel Walberswick
The Anchor Walberswick, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing