We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ding Dong, Bell !”
Review of The Bell Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Walberswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bell Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Walberswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We have been visiting The Bell as five couples for the last three years (only four this year,but that's another story!) Some of us have been going on and off for over 35 years.The pub hasn't changed one bit Thank goodness. The new owner, NIck has really worked hard to improve an establishment that had become a little tired. The rooms although small ( the fabric of the building is limiting in this respect) were spotlessly clean , well appointed with modern shower facilities. The welcome from all members of staff was very friendly.Special mention to James who made every effort to make our stay memorable(even to the extent of writing out a list of all the beers Adnams brewed.24 I seem to remember.The food is good pub fare with invention at a reasonable price.Lovely location to use as a walking base and for those who like to browse round shops (shuffling as my friend calls it!) Southwold is a few minutes walk away.We are looking forward to our next visit We usually go during the off peak periods.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 275 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2012

We returned here after some 5 years when we used to stay regularly and the rooms have been pleasantly refurbished. Although they were catering for over 30 for a charity quiz, the staff were still unfazed and food was served promptly. As always, the food could not be faulted either dinner in the bar or breakfast in the dining room. Obviously, by the location, they serve a wide range of Adnams beers and Adnams wine - and a surprise - Adnams own distilled gin!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iceman123EastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed there for a night whilst on business in Suffolk. This is a very old pub with accommodation upstairs. My room was clean, warm and had ensuite - I could not fault it. I went down for dinner and the menu was excellent, the food is all cooked fresh and I can recommend the fish pie and whitebait. The beer is traditional Adnams with a wide selection of choice. I will stay there again when I am in the area.

Room Tip: I dont know as it was my first trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel01530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Just spent a week at a cottage in Walberswick, and visited The Bell every day. Good beer (Broadside) and cider (Aspalls), and very friendly staff. We were well looked after, as was our dog, Louis - who is now on a diet and craving for more gravy bones.

Good food, especially the battered cod, although the chips could have been better.

Stayed: October 2012
Thank Nacky9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

4 of us (2 couples) booked for last weekend a 2 night stay on a recommendation of a friend. Rarely have we been made so welcome and come across such a perfectly situated place for exploring the fabulous local scenery and the town of Southwold. We simply cannot fault the rooms, service, food and therefore the weekend and will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Bell was an adorable little place to have dinner and a few drinks. The fish and chips were the best I have ever had, as well as the Pimm's & Lemonade. Also, the bartender, James was very friendly. He made the visit to the Bell well worth while.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jade T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Although the bedrooms are small, all are well furnished and clean. It is a very old building so was not built with B&B visitors in mind! The atmosphere is brilliant and the food excellant. We loved the old bar with its log fires and the dining area was perfect! All the staff were polite and helpful and looked after us so well. There were 12 of us staying there and nothing was too much trouble, in fact the Manager couldn't have been more attentive. Walberswick is such a pretty place and very close to Southwold so The Bell Inn is the perfect place to stay if you're visiting the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walberswick
1 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#4 of 4 in Southwold
44 reviews
1.6 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
348 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#2 of 4 in Southwold
409 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#3 of 4 in Southwold
798 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Inn

Address: Ferry Road, Walberswick IP18 6TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Walberswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Walberswick
Price Range: $94 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away for a relaxing one night break or stay with us longer to discover all that the beautiful Suffolk coast has to offer. The Bell Inn has 6 cozy bed and breakfast rooms to choose from, all individually designed. Our rooms include double bedrooms and larger family rooms with great views over the beach, the gardens or down to the harbour. Dogs are made most welcome in 4 and 5 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bell Hotel Walberswick
Bell Inn Walberswick
The Bell Inn Walberswick, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing