We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great weekend!”
Review of The Bell Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Walberswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bell Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Walberswick B&B and Inns
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great weekend!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Although the bedrooms are small, all are well furnished and clean. It is a very old building so was not built with B&B visitors in mind! The atmosphere is brilliant and the food excellant. We loved the old bar with its log fires and the dining area was perfect! All the staff were polite and helpful and looked after us so well. There were 12 of us staying there and nothing was too much trouble, in fact the Manager couldn't have been more attentive. Walberswick is such a pretty place and very close to Southwold so The Bell Inn is the perfect place to stay if you're visiting the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    76
    35
    8
    12
See reviews for
72
110
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We've stayed at the Bell on many occasions and have never failed to enjoy our stay. The rooms are comfortable, if a little on the small side, and stylishly decorated. The food is first class, and the service is effiicient and friendly. The garden is a wonderful suntrap on fine days. It's just a short walk from the village green with it's interesting little shops, and a short stoll from the barbour and beach. All in all, a lovely place for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: Dogs are accepted in the rooms on the ground floor. The family room sleeps a family of 4 comfortably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueski23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is a quite small pub with a massive garden that does a roaring trade in peak seasoon. There must be a 100 covers in the garden when it is full.
We stayed in the family room, albeit as a couple and it was delightful. There was a seating area outside one bedroom window, which was very simple but a lovely suntrap in the afternoon. The bathroom is new and was spotless.

The breakfast was superb.
We ate in the pub garden one night and the food was good value, and well presented. The laminated menus are off-putting, but we ate in the supposedly posher pub the other night and the food was not as good.

The website is out of date -there is no free crab catching kit. This village gets a lot of day trippers but is much quieter in the evenings.

I managed to leave some property behind but got it returned at no cost - many thanks Becky!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pikeman1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corwen
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I liked this hotel the bed was most comfortable the room small but clean and I liked the nautical theme very good value for money. The breakfast was lovely and the service was good. and friendly. you could come and go as you please as you had your own outdoor key which was good. The garden was really lovely too. The menu board waqs repetive but it was still a nice little quirky inn.

Room Tip: I do not think they had that many rooms but they were all nice and different by the look of them nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PsychicJeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Rooms are small but very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was superb.
Main menu was a bit repetitive - the Specials Board did not change during our 3 night stay. The staff were friendly and helpful but inexperienced in waiting on. Could have been more attentive to residents.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAE90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Great place for lunch, a very interesting selection of fresh dishes always well cooked and speedily delivered. They welcome dogs, the wealthy clientele arrive with a wide variety of designer breeds, so this is a great place to go after a long walk on the beach.

We had a party including a vegetarian, two fussy kids, an obsessive dieter and two grumpy men; all left quite happy, with the possible exception of the dieter who uncharacteristically ordered a bowl of chips.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Very prettily decorated bedrooms with absolutely spotless ensuite shower rooms. My friend and I each had a double room that we used as a single at a very reasonable rate. Breakfasts, served in a light, attractive dining room, are first-class. Fresh fruit always available, as well as very good cooked breakfast. Altogether an excellent B&B in a setting that remains unspoiled despite its popularity.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walberswick
1.6 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
331 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
688 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Southwold
599 reviews
11.3 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,453 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Inn

Property: The Bell Inn
Address: Ferry Road, Walberswick IP18 6TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Walberswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Walberswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away for a relaxing one night break or stay with us longer to discover all that the beautiful Suffolk coast has to offer. The Bell Inn has 6 cozy bed and breakfast rooms to choose from, all individually designed. Our rooms include double bedrooms and larger family rooms with great views over the beach, the gardens or down to the harbour. Dogs are made most welcome in 4 and 5 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bell Hotel Walberswick
Bell Inn Walberswick
The Bell Inn Walberswick, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing