We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, value and location”
Review of The Bell Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Walberswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bell Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Walberswick B&B and Inns
Oswestry
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent service, value and location”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Great place for lunch, a very interesting selection of fresh dishes always well cooked and speedily delivered. They welcome dogs, the wealthy clientele arrive with a wide variety of designer breeds, so this is a great place to go after a long walk on the beach.

We had a party including a vegetarian, two fussy kids, an obsessive dieter and two grumpy men; all left quite happy, with the possible exception of the dieter who uncharacteristically ordered a bowl of chips.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    79
    35
    8
    13
See reviews for
75
111
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Very prettily decorated bedrooms with absolutely spotless ensuite shower rooms. My friend and I each had a double room that we used as a single at a very reasonable rate. Breakfasts, served in a light, attractive dining room, are first-class. Fresh fruit always available, as well as very good cooked breakfast. Altogether an excellent B&B in a setting that remains unspoiled despite its popularity.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This really lovely little pub offers bed and breakfast. We had a small but very clean and modern double room in a nautical theme. The staff were cheerful, friendly, helpful and made us feel very much at home. The included breakfast we excellent with a choice of cereals and fresh fruit with yoghurt and also various cooked breakfasts, I had fresh fruit and yog and then a full english which was very very nice.
I think they have covered every detail, with thought and consideration and have not missed a trick. I would most definately go back again. We also enjoyed an evening meal here which, again, was very tasty.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank blueemmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

A great welcome, friendly and hospitable from local lads and lasses. Clean decently sized rooms with good storage. Great breakfasts (especially their kippers and poached eggs with smoked salmon). Decent pub grub later in the day. Great (Adnams) beer, really good pub.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We were one of the first people in the bar as it was early evening, a member of the bar staff was behind the bar, we weren't greeted at all, they were quite unfriendly and abrupt, this did take the edge of the eveing before we started, however, the food was quite nice, and the person who served us then was friendly. When we had coffee we still had all our dirty plates on the table as no-one had cleared them, we had to get our coffee from teh abr which I think is the normal practice there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Visited the Bell Inn for a quick pit stop whilst walking in the local area. The Inn exudes unspoilt charm and on our visit was reasonably quiet ( probably due to the inclement weather!). Excellent Adnams on draught and the reason for this review is really to recommend the food! Had an amazing Cromer crab salad ( the best crab I have ever had!) and girlfriend equally impressed with her fish pie. This would make an excellent base to stay ( although cannot comment on the rooms and leave that for those who have stayed there etc) as there are some great things to do without resorting to four wheels from here. We got the ferry over to the Harbour ( £0.90 each) and went for a lovely walk back over the bridge. Of course you could walk and visit Southwold over the Common or if feeling energetic walk along the beach ( and back) to Dunwich. Personally think The Bell is far superior to the competing Anchor, older and better located, and if you have never been to the area suggest very unlikely that your expectations will be exceeded.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nos6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

The Bell is well worth the price for Bed & Breakfast, room was clean and comfortable had a really good nights sleep, evening meal was delivered quick and very good, breakfast superb and cooked to order breakfast room lovely. Will be going back agian.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walberswick
1.6 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
336 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
708 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Southwold
598 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
795 reviews
7.3 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Inn

Property: The Bell Inn
Address: Ferry Road, Walberswick IP18 6TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Walberswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Walberswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away for a relaxing one night break or stay with us longer to discover all that the beautiful Suffolk coast has to offer. The Bell Inn has 6 cozy bed and breakfast rooms to choose from, all individually designed. Our rooms include double bedrooms and larger family rooms with great views over the beach, the gardens or down to the harbour. Dogs are made most welcome in 4 and 5 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bell Hotel Walberswick
Bell Inn Walberswick
The Bell Inn Walberswick, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing