We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home from home in lovely Walberswick”

Troy Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Walberswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Troy Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Walberswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 23, 2011

My Husband and I spent 3 nights here at the beginning of June. We were expecting the worst after having read some of the reviews on here prior to our arrival but i must say that i found everything commented upon to be completely unfounded...!

The house itself is set in a quiet private road away from the busy main street in Walberswick and we found it easily after excellent directions from the proprietors. We were greeted at the door by Mrs Harris and had a really warm welcome. We were shown to our room which was really lovely - spotlessly clean, modern and bright with everything you need - great tea making facilities, television and some useful local information - not that the hosts were not more than happy to offer some advice of their own. The B&B was full at the time and we were apparently in the smallest of the three rooms but it was perfect and even had its own lovely little balcony.

In the morning, after a great night's sleep, we had a delicious breakfast - a range of cereals was on offer and there was a menu from which we could pick and choose exactly what we wanted to create our perfect meal. The food itself was delicious and we were really full up...! Mr Harris served us and was friendly and helpful and pleased to chat - we felt almost as though we were old friends!

When the time came to say goodbye at the end of our stay, we spent over half an hour chatting to Mr and Mrs Harris before we left - having now experienced their hospitality, i was really shocked about some of the unkind remarks made about the proprietors of this homely B&B and hope that this more accurate review sets the record straight...

We will definitely be returning to Troy and have already recommended some of our friends to visit...!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fiona_littlewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 15 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2011

We stayed at Troy for 4 nights over Easter and had a very relaxing, thoroughly enjoyable stay. We recieved a warm welcome on our arrival and the owners could not have been more obliging. Our rooms were spotlessly clean, warm and comfotable with all the mod-cons you would expect.

Breakfast was amazing, loveley to get such a wide choice and a true "FULL" English for a change. We even had Kippers on one occasion which we have not seen in many of the other establishments we have stayed in.

Excellent value for money and we will be returning again in the autumn. Thoroughly recommend TROY to anyone considering Walberswick.

Room Tip: Bothe our rooms were excellent quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David_of_Chippenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

First the good news, this guest house has a good location in the lovely village of Walberswick, the rooms are clean and comfortable.

Now the bad! The owners are so rude, they are obviously unhappy to be sharing their house with strangers, just wanting your money. We called to say that we would arrive at 9PM on Friday and we got told 'As long as its no later than that', then when we arrived there was no 'did you have a nice journey?' but we were given they key and told where the room was. At breakfast there was no conversation apart from asking what we wanted to eat. When I said 'full breakfast but no tomatoes please', the owner said 'I asked you what you want, not what you don't want' so I had to go through the whole of the breakfast menu to tell him what I wanted. In fact there were no pleasantries at all until we were leaving and as soon as they had our money in their hands they were all pleasant asking if we had a nice stay and to have a safe journey home.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank philymanjaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We stayed 3 nights at Troy guest house. The house is in a great location on the outskirts of the village.

The rooms are modern if a little small but all fitted to a high quality and breakfast was good.

We got the impression that the hosts were not exactly enjoying running a B&B. We called to let them know we were going to be arriving later than planned and we got a frosty reception although we would still be arriving at a reasonable hour. They were also were not particularly friendly at other times.

Breakfast was a little early at 8-9am even on a Sunday. Check out was 10am and check-in was 4pm.

Generally it was a nice B&B but we never felt particularly welcome. Given the large amount of competition in the village, B&Bs need to put the effort in.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank benoz2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2009

This was a lovely place to stay in a quiet, peaceful country village. The house was very nice - clean and tidy with all mod cons - very nice en suite in the room and big tv with DVD player and coffee making facilities. Breakfast was great - a good choice of food and the hopitality was excellent - willing to cook things just as you like it and satisfy the slightest whim. The price is high but I think very much in line with the rest of the locality and you definately get your monies worth - the rooms and beds were very comfortable and the owners were very friendly and, having lived in the village for a number of years, all too keen to offer good, useful local advice. I would definately recommend Troy to those looking for a peaceful break away - a really lovely place!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minibreakdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2009

We arrived to a friendly welcome, House was really nice, rooms of average size with own en-suite nicely fitted out. Had a lovely hot cooked English breakfast with cereals to start and loads of toast, Gentleman that served us was really friendly who gave us good local info. We had a really relaxing break with peace & quite. Will be going again next year.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happysoleSurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

Talk about a rip off! We had to stay 2 nights, got woken up at 6am on the first morning. The rooms were tiny and the breakfast was tiny! A brick monstrosity with a jacuzzi (for the owners) in the back yard). the brief said 'welcome to our house' not so much welcome but give us your money!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
2  Thank ECEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Troy Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Troy Bed & Breakfast

Address: | Churchfields, Walberswick, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Walberswick
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Walberswick
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Troy Bed & Breakfast Walberswick, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing