We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now this is a true English Pub!”

The Anchor at Walberswick
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Situated in the pretty seaside village of Walberswick, with views from the rooms and terraces over to the sand dunes, beach and sea. A short walk to the beach, wonderful walks to Dunwich and Southwold.A cosy pub with a log fire in the bar, restaurant and family room. We have 10 comfortable bedrooms, 4 in the main Arts & Craft building and 6 garden chalets, clad in eco-sourced wood. The garden chalets have sofas and outside seating for sunny days. We also have 3 dog friendly chalets with French doors opening onto the back garden.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
95 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Now this is a true English Pub!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I write this as a Brit, but one who has lived away for many years. I visited the Anchor twice because the experience was so good. Not only were the staff and owners welcoming and friendly, but the food was excellent and should silence those tiring relentless critics of English pub grub. This food is really well thought out and brilliantly prepared. Their fish and chips are gourmet, and I don't use that word lightly. Great job, makes me proud to be British!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pmcleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    122
    75
    42
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good food in pleasant surrounding's”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is very much a Gastro Pub so expect to pay accordingly. We ate here early evening on a warm July evening. We had not pre-booked but we were found a table straight away. This pub seemed to be frequented by a lot of Rupert's, Lucinda's, Tarquin's and Henrietta's which is fine, but you get the picture. The sea food is the way to go in this establishment, I had the cod and my wife a sardine salad, both dishes were superb, excellent presentation and cooked to perfection.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Faultless light lunch”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Popped in here after walking from Southwold. Clearly a restaurant rather than a pub. There is a good-looking set lunch menu with some interesting choices, but we wanted something lighter. My wife had sensational scallops, I went for the hearty ham-hock terrine. Both were beautifully cooked and impeccably presented: thus, the terrine came with perfectly toasted bread and salad served with a light garlicky dressing. There is an impressive range of drinks, including four of five different fines/manzanillas. The knowledgeable batman recommended a Duvel to go with the terrine - and it did! The Anchor manages to combine its fine food and drink with a relaxed and comfortable setting in one of its light and airy rooms.



Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank debelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham on Crouch
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“More like a city winebar than a Gastro Pub”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Foolishly didn't check online menu before travelling. Relied on decent (old?) Good Food Guide cooking rating

On the plus side: Nicely designed/decorated interior, good vibe, friendly (albeit overly laidback) staff, decent wine choice, excellent outside seating

On the downside: an odd eclectic and not particularly attractive menu, food a bit of an assembly operation with little cooking, quite high prices (although Walberswick obviously commands a premium compared with the many really good Suffolk country pubs a few miles away), most portions small, incredibly limited range of bottled beers.

Comedy moment of the day came from the one 'large' dish one of the women in our group ordered (she assumed it would be filleted). Smoked Mackerel salad: turned out to be a mega whole, head-still-on un-boned fish, over hanging both sides of the plate with two splodges of Potato and Green salad. Watching the poor girl trying to tame this rustic staring monster was great entertainment

As I said .. Maybe shame on our group for not looking at the online menu in advance .. If we had, we wouldn't have gone there

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Opsimath_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
253 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Stylish Lunch in Friendly Surroundings”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Popped in for an unbooked lunch - our first visit here.

Greeted by friendly staff we sat at a table next to a large collection of cookery/food books, which occupied my wife.

It was a hot day so we wanted a fairly light lunch, so chose 3 small items, all to be served at the same time. A fish soup, confit duck salad, and a charcuterie plate. All were good - the range of charcuterie was limited to just two, but the local made piccalilli, and pickled cucumber and carrot added interest. We had a Manzanilla and a cider to drink. They offer a taster plate of 4 puddings, which we finished with, with coffees.

So a very fine casual lunch, served by pleasant staff, and good value. We would happily go again, because there were other items of interest on the menu - and there are obviously food/drink enthusiasts running the place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Anchor at Walberswick also viewed

Walberswick, Suffolk
 

Been to The Anchor at Walberswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing