We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just what we were looking for!”
other travelers have booked this property
Picturesque  Weavers Cottage first on the right in Spinners Lane.Loom Cottage is next door far side.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Picturesque  Weavers Cottage first on the right in Spinners Lane.Loom Cottage is next door far side.
Lovely setting, private road. Common at the end of the lane! Central to all of Southwold's amenities Weavers Cottage dates back to pre 1840.Originally used as a home for rope weavers/ manual workers.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Picturesque  Weavers Cottage first on the right in Spinners Lane.Loom Cottage is next door far side.
Lovely setting, private road. Common at the end of the lane! Central to all of Southwold's amenities
Weavers Cottage dates back to pre 1840.Originally used as a home for rope weavers/ manual workers.
Front of Weavers Cottage, a great place to sit, relax and watch the world go by! Perfect location.
Comfy front room, seats 6. We can provide a roll up mattress for extra guests. (discuss pre visit)
Tasteful décor.
Pretty! Short stay festive period hamper, min 3 nights
Hamper for weekly stays over Christmas/New Year period
Great walks on your doorstep! Private Rd, off Southwold Common
Quirky touches everywhere.
Games, Books, Blu Ray DVD player. Great up to date DVD selection.
Really comfy sofas. Can provide a roll up mattress for extra guests (discuss pre visit).
Hallway from lounge (recess to hang coats etc), bathroom on left, kitchen/diner at rear.
Bathroom, very effective shower over bath. Boiler on stairs, thermostat only needed to adjust heat.
Well stocked Kitchen/Diner, electric hob, gas oven, fold up table. Plenty of crockery cafetiere etc.
Kitchen/Diner stable door/enclosed small yard at rear.
Enclosed staircase. 9 stairs only, handrail.
Twin Bedroom
Double bedroom. Good size for a cottage
Another shot of the double bedroom.
Enter Southwold from Reydon over Mights Bridge, carry straight on into Station Road, past The Blyth.
Carry on straight past The Blyth Hotel, past shops and Crick Court on the other side of the road.
Start of the High St. Right at John Bennett Architect Shop. This marks the entrance of Spinners Lane
Enter Spinners Lane, cottage first on right, unload  luggage and park !(subject to availability)
Access to rear of cottage via wrought iron gate (on right). Common minutes away at end of the lane.
S. Lane leads right onto Southwold Common (2 mins walk)where there is additional parking available.
Visit the Under The Pier Show! Great fun! Very cheap and entertaining for all ages. See the clock!
The iconic Southwold Pier
The Under The Pier Show (on the boardwalk). Check out the weird mirrors on the far side of the Pier.
The madness of 'The Under The Pier Show'. A must see..
The sea and the front with inland lighthouse (take a tour) in view..
Gun Hill Cannons, just off the beach at South Green
The Sole Bay Inn, The Nelson and The Tap Room are all on the list for drinkies!
Take a tour! Smell the beer in the town!
Right at the end of the lane, straight from the cottage, lovely walks on your doorstep!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Southwold, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John G
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just what we were looking for!”
Reviewed August 19, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Great property that we stumbled over online.... Lucky Us! Having visited - couldn't be bettered. A peaceful location near the common for the dog and great walks to the river. A parking space (not too common in Southwold) and just a short walk to everything in the town.
The property was neat, clean, tidy, with everything you could want for a holiday retreat.
Hopefully return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 20, 2018
What a fab title, and what a well detailed description of the cottage and the location! Great guests too! Thank you so much for leaving this comprehensive review, it is very useful for future guests to read something straight from 'the horses mouth', so to speak! We are so glad you enjoyed your fortnight at 'Weavers Cottage', and hope to see you again! Thank you so much...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B
1 review
“Lovely cottage with very helpful owner”
Reviewed July 21, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Lovely welcome A bottle of wine and biscuits. Well-equipped and spotlessly clean. Well positioned, ten minutes walk to the centre .

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2018
Thank you John and Shirley for coming to stay, and many thanks for leaving this lovely review. Love the title too! We do like our guests to feel welcome, and it was nice that we met you too, we thought you were both lovely. It's great you found Weavers Cottage to your liking, and that you found it spotlessly clean. Hooray! We agree about the cottage being well positioned, we actually walk to the town centre (which I always think of as The Swan) in 5 minutes but there are many distractions (shopping/eating/drinking etc) on the way...
Anyway, we would love to see you again at some point in the future, and we will make sure you always get a special welcome!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
libertyly...
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect short stay”
Reviewed April 10, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We stayed for two nights in Weavers cottage and despite cold weather had a wonderful time in Southwold. The cottage is in a idyllic location which is a short walk from anything you could ever want or need such as the high st, beach and the common at the end of the lane for wonderful long walks to the harbour. The cottage was cosy and homely. The excellent collection of dvds and games kept us entertained. We especially enjoyed the charades and music cards as well as the controversial conversation starters on the mantelpiece which kept us laughing and screen free (which can be rare)! The bottle of fizz and biscuits on arrival with a handwritten note were a lovely, personal touch. As a frequent visitor to Southwold, I found the pictures and paintings of the local area very interesting. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was great! The owners were very informative and replied quickly to any queries we had. The flexible check in time was very helpful. Will definitely return and bring Maya the dog with us next time! Thank you for making our stay so special.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2018
We absolutely love this review! It is very informative, and is so well detailed, mentioning the location (which is fab!) and even describing the specifics of the games selection! It's great to have feedback like this so we know what people like, we can only surmise otherwise and hope people like stuff! We're always on the look out for fun things, items of interest, and we continually add to the dvd collection (we love films) to keep our guests amused. So glad you were entertained during your stay and you enjoyed the little extras! Thanks also for mentioning the bed and the shower, these things are really important, and the key to a comfortable stay in our view! We like the pictures too, glad you found them interesting! Anyway, a massive thank you for this wonderful review, you were both great guests, and it was such a nice gesture to leave us some tulips. How good is that? Thanks Liberty, we really do appreciate this and we would love to see you and Harry return (and Maya hopefully) at some point in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania M
1 review
“A really great weekend in a lovely little cottage”
Reviewed March 25, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Great location. Cottage had everything we needed. Lots of attention to detail. We will definitely be coming back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 26, 2018
Thanks so much Tania for taking the time to write this review, much appreciated! This is a short but (very) sweet review, and packed with plenty of detail which I'm sure will be of interest to future guests!
We are very happy that you enjoyed yourselves enough to want to come back, you were perfect guests so we would love to see you return!
Thank you for leaving everything very orderly, and thanks again for your kind words!
We love the 5 stars! Hooray!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed March 3, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We have just spent a snow filled week in this gorgeous cottage. Despite the blizzard raging outside we were warm & snug in our comfortable retreat. Good size TV, plenty of dvds to chose from & games to play. Comfortable bed & powerful shower (a big plus for me!!)Very well equipped kitchen, not that we did much cooking!!
We found lots of walks across the common so Millie our dog was very happy. We obviously called at various eating & drinking establishments on the way back where Millie was very welcome!!!
The position was brilliant, just a stone's throw from the town one way & the common the other way. Parking not an issue in fact we didn't need to move the car all week.
Communication with Kerry the owner was excellent & information re the cottage & area plentiful & helpful. The bottle of fizz in the fridge on our arrival was also very welcome.
We will definitely be back to visit this little gem in the beautiful town of Southwold.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 11, 2018
This is an absolutely fab review! I love the detail, and there are many useful pieces of information about the cottage for our future guests. The 'Beast from the East' was in full swing, so it's great that the cottage was warm and snug during your stay! We love our guests to be comfortable, so we do buy good quality stuff (for example, the mattresses) and I like a good shower too! Southwold is very dog-friendly and it's a great place for walking, which helps to work off all the yummy food and drink on offer!
Thanks for saying that the communication was excellent, much appreciated! We would love to see you again, and thanks so much for coming!.Thank you very much Sarah.....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveTrave...
1 review
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed January 27, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Weavers Cottage was a great location to celebrate our birthdays with a 3 night stay. Tucked away in a quiet cul de sac with ample parking it was still only 100 metres away from the High Street in one direction or the common in the other.
It was spotlessly clean with a cosy living room, well equipped kitchen and downstairs bathroom plus comfortable bedrooms upstairs. Kerry, the owner, made sure we had all the local info we needed and was very helpful regarding arrival and departure times. Even a wet afternoon was not an issue as there were loads of great films on DVD to choose from.
With plenty to do all year round in Southwold, we will be back sometime in the future!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 28, 2018
Well, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for writing such a comprehensive review! We're pleased you took advantage of the DVD selection (we love our films), a good film can always come to the rescue on a rainy day! We loved having you both to stay, and everything was left spotlessly clean on your departure, we would love to see you again! Thanks for saying I was very helpful by the way, we do try our best to create a comfy holiday experience for our guests! Hoorah! 5 bubbles! Great!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D
2 reviews
“Secret Hideaway in Southwold...”
Reviewed November 28, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Have just returned from a long weekend staying at Weavers Cottage, and were delighted on arrival to a small but super choice of accommodation, so homely and comfortable, well equipped with everything you could ever need whilst away, it was perfect.

Weavers cottage is located in a great spot in Southwold within walking distance to the quaint high street, pier and harbour

Owners were easy and friendly to deal with - highly recommend and will be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 1, 2017
Hi Sarah
Thanks for taking the time to write this review, much appreciated. We are so glad you thought you made a 'super choice' of accommodation, and that you found everything comfortable and felt at home in Weavers Cottage. Thanks for mentioning the location, it's great to have a 'secret hideaway' so conveniently situated!
A lovely review, and we certainly would love to have you back! Thank you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing