We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anothere excellent dinner”

Restaurant at The Randolph
Ranked #22 of 50 Restaurants in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $61 - $61
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed May 28, 2013

A really good dinner yet again courtesy of David, Donna and staff. Excellent choice on the menu and wine list, pleasant and attentive service. We had a table in the window of the bar area which was lovely. Thank you

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TaylorDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Restaurant at The Randolph, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear TaylorDerby

Another visit enjoyed at The Randolph! we were delighted to see you again and look forward to seeing you again soon

With best wishes

David and Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 108 of 130 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

Eaten here on two occasions each time I have been tempted to three courses something I do not normally do. The normal menu you was good and the specials all looked fantastic. The food is good and it is fairly priced, I shall certainly be visiting again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kimheadboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Restaurant at The Randolph, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Kim

Thanks for taking the time to review us, we are delighted that this was your second time at The Randolph and we look forward to looking after you for your third visit.

Best Wishes

David and Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Lovely people at this hotel, great food, drink and ambience, I advise to go there if you haven't been before.

Thank bredek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Restaurant at The Randolph, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Past Guest

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are delighted that you enjoyed our hospitality at The Randolph and hope to see you again soon

best wishes

David and Donnna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

A large group of us visited or Sunday lunch. I cannot fault the service, it was absolutely brilliant. However, the food just didn't measure up. My partner and I had roast beef. Sadly the potatoes were reheated and tasted awful, neither of us ate them and the gravy was pretty tasteless too. We had thought that maybe we had just had bad meals but since the weekend we have heard that more of the group were also unhappy at the quality of food. There were 21 of us and it certainly didn't feel like the occasion to be making a fuss.

I would just like the management to take notice that reheated potatoes on a £12 dinner just isn't on.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Suzweasel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Restaurant at The Randolph, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Suzweasel1

I am so sorry to learn of your disatisfaction at The Randolph, last Sunday. We pride ourselves on our sunday lunches and can assure you that we do not 're-heat' roast potatoes and that these are made fresh every sunday lunchtime. I am sorry that they gave you the impression otherwise.

Negative reviews are always investigated fully and thank you for giving us the opportunity to review this.

I have contacted you directly and look forward to hearing from you

with best wishes

David and Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We went for a friends birthday meal last Sunday. The welcome was warm. The setting for our meal was great, in a separate room. Despite the main restaurant being busy, we were served well and quickly. The menu choices were good, and the food was well presented and very tasty. All in all, a very enjoyable time for all the birthday party!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank drpetembe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Restaurant at The Randolph, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear DrPeteMBE

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our restaurant at The Randolph. We are delighted that your luncheon celebrations went well and that we offerred everything that you were looking for. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best wishes


David and Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at The Randolph also viewed

Southwold, Suffolk
Southwold, Suffolk
 
Southwold, Suffolk
 

Been to Restaurant at The Randolph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing