We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and good quality”
Review of Amber House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southwold
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amber House
Ranked #5 of 19 Southwold B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good location and good quality”
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Located on the waterfront, less than 5 minutes from the pier and 10 minutes from the centre of the town. Everyone at Amber House was welcoming, the room was spotlessly clean. Room 5 is at the top and back but the Suffolk sunset views were still lovely. The B&B and neighborhood is quiet. The breakfast is good. The hosts are welcoming but not overbearing. I highly recommend this place and if I return to Southwold, I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Take the Adnams brewery tour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Meagen_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    15
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
40
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2009

We stayed at Amber House with another couple and had two adjacent rooms on the 3rd floor. This is a wonderfully comfortable and welcoming B&B, right on the sea front. Peaceful and quiet and Di Spring is a wonderful host and a real character. A pefect and relaxing weekend break and we wouldn't hesitate to go back there.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cambridge29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2009

I left 2 voicemails & sent an email to Amber House to try & book but nobody called me back or responded to my email.
Shame!

Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank kellyrmiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2008

For those of you looking for a get away to the quintessential English seaside resort you will struggle to beat this. There's a distinct lack of the amusement arcades, McDonalds etc that now blight most English sea side towns. The house is superbly placed ON the sea front with views of the pier and beach. Ask for Room 1 if it is available as it is the largest room and has a lot of space. The landlady (Di) is extremely friendly and helpful. I paid 90.00 per night for two nights last week. The breakfasts are plentiful with the usual choices if a 'full English' is not required. There are some lovely local walks including one to Walberswick where you can enjoy a very hearty lunch at the Bell Inn. A trip to Minsmere RSPB Reserve is also recommended. Evening meals at the Nelson's Head will not disappoint, nor will the Adnams Broadside to wash it down!

Only minus observation re Amber House is the lack of 'stand up' shower fittings in the bath.

  • Liked — A home from home.
  • Disliked — Nothing in particular
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CambridgeUnitedFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2008

After a hectic few months, what a joy it was to get away from it all at Amber House. We were made most welcome by Di Spring, the room was very comfotable and had a fantastic view of the sea and shoreline, and, being on the third floor of the house, we did not feel as if we were intruding on the family life of Di and Dick. Equally, we were able to come and go as we pleased as in an hotel.
The breakfasts were excellent, and Di's intimate knowledge of Southwold was a great boon. All her recommendations were followed - and all lived up to, or went beyond, expectations.
Amber House, and Southwold, are to be thoroughly recommended, even in February, although warm clothing is essential if one is considering a walk on the beach or a stroll on the pier. The house is within easy walking distance of the town centre, the lighthouse, and the pier - even for someone who only walks ten feet from home to office every day!!
We will definitely return!!

  • Liked — Sea views and friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2007

Although I have mentioned this B & B in my previous review on Southwold. After reading other hotel reviews I feel I should elaborate on the Guesthouse a little bit more.

Amber House is on the sea front not far from the pubs and shops. It is a lovely home filled with oldy worldy furniture and interesting curios. The furnishings are what you would expect - elegant. The house exudes character and is very welcoming just like the owners, Di and Dick Smith.

The dining-room and lounge are also attractive and very comfortable. Breakfast is plentiful. I even had freshly caught kippers one morning!! All rooms have en-suite and I paid 85 pounds a night for the deluxe room at the front overlooking the sea which consists of a double and single bed. The other rooms are a little bit cheaper.

Amber House and Southwold are a perfect marriage.The guesthouse compliments the quaintness of Southwold. You will not be disappointed.

Helpful?
6 Thank Mowdip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.9 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
324 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
385 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Southwold
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
765 reviews
12.4 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
646 reviews
12.5 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber House

Property: Amber House
Address: 24 North Parade, Southwold IP18 6LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Southwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have set out to make Amber House the home-from-home that will turn every one of your visits into a happy memory. This spacious Victorian family house on the seafront has been completely refurbished, retaining the period style of the spacious, well-proportioned interior while placing the emphasis on up-to-date comforts. We have personally designed and furnished our guest rooms, giving each its own distinctive style. All are en-suite with central heating, colour television and tea-making facilities. Three have magnificent sea views including our superb, well appointed triple room whose generous bay window affords a breathtaking panorama across the whole of Sole Bay. Amber House is our home. We want you to make it yours too, whenever you're in Southwold. We guarantee a warm welcome! Full English or Continental Breakfast, Double and Twin Rooms, Spacious Deluxe Room with double bed and a single, lots of room, sofa, armchair and superb views of the beach, pier and sea. Large Comfortable Sitting Room and Dining Room, Full Fire Certificate, Wireless Hairdryers provided, Prices for Double or Twin: £85 - £100, Triple Room: £110 for 2 sharing or £130 for 3 sharing (10% discount for 7 nights or more). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amber House Hotel Southwold
Amber House Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing