We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Food, Friendly Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 19 Southwold B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food, Friendly Service”
Reviewed January 24, 2010

We had an excellent stay in The Sutherland house just before Christmas. This is a very good restaurant with some iconic rooms. We stayed in the Duke of York room which has a great atmosphere with a high decorated ceiling. The location good with just ten minutes or so walk to the sea, although I suspect that the parking might be a bit of a problem in high season. It is not really a traditional hotel, but Southwold is well served with great pubs. However the key attraction is the restaurant, which has some great local food and well worth a visit even if you are not staying here. On top of this the staff were very friendly and made us feel very much at home. I would strongly recommend this for a short stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sutherlandhouse, General Manager at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 9, 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to offer us a review. All feedback is gratefully received and the time taken really appreciated .
We look forward to welcoming you back to Sutherland House.
Regards
Penny Bishopp
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    105
    43
    10
    6
See reviews for
78
586
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2010

We were staying with family after Christmas in Southwold and decided that we would like to explore more of the area with our 2 young daughters. On the spur of the moment we booked one night at Sutherland House but we soon discovered that this was not long enough to stay in such fabulous surroundings! As our room was already booked for the second night with no fuss at all they moved us to another room. So having stayed in 2 of the 3 rooms available I can confirm that they are stunning, comfortable, large and luxurious. Even the smaller room easily accomodated the 2 extra beds they made up for our children.
The food - ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS. We ate in the restaurant both nights as we couldn't imagine we could have got better elsewhere. It is also lovely knowing that the ingredients are from local sources.
The staff - friendly, knowledgable and helpful.
What a find - they can be nowhere else to go in Southwold. I'll definitely be booking a room next time we go (as there are only 3) as I think we were truly lucky to get in on this occasion.
Thanks to everyone who made our stay so wonderful

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Octink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2009

The building goes back to 17thC in parts and has been renovated with great style with beautiful lighting from Porto Romano. Lovely warm atmosphere, welcomed in with smiles. Good for cosy dinner for two and we loved the private room which fits 10 comfortably (but ask for more candles when you book). Food is really delicious, my favourite recently is the beautiful artichoke risotto - to die for. Definitely recommend it to anyone - infact best in Southwold. Worth keeping an eye out for possible noodle bar in the summer. Lovely accommodation esp with bath in the middle of the room.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuffolkDancingqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex,England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2009

We spent two nights in Sutherland House, Southwold , facilities where fantasticly luxurious with the largest bed and bath i have ever seen .
This historical listed building's relaxed and charming ambiance is matched only by the hard work and dedication that clearly goes into the quality focused selection of food and dizzying selection of wine, the fish is truely the finest i have ever tasted.
Thank you very much Penny from both of us for the perfect start to our married life.
Ross and Mandie Freeman

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RossFreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sutherlandhouse, GM at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 26, 2009
Thank you so much for taking the time go offer us such a fantastic review.
Regards
Penny Bishopp
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights in the Earl of Sandwich room for my birthday in October. It was incredible. Stunning room, amaaaazing bathroom, delicious home made cookies in the room, along with a selection of DVDs to watch and L'Occitane goodies. Loved coming back to our room after a walk along the beach, having a bath, then going downstairs to have the most incredible dinner - we're going back again soon, and not for the last time. I have very high standards but I really couldn't fault this place.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2009

We have just had a fantastic break here for my 40th birthday. We stayed in the Duke of York room, which was large and bright - comfy bed too. The meal was wonderful and nothing was too much trouble. The staff were really welcoming, especially Penny, who was just lovely. Breakfast the next day was delicious - I really recomend the porridge. My husband had the cooked breakfast and said that it tasted so much better than normal - it is also nice to know that the food is sourced as locally as possible. The ketchup with the breakfast was home-made, which just about sums up the thought given to everything.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMVColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2009

I had the fortunate experience of both staying and eating at Sutherland House and would strongly recommend it to anyone that is looking for top class accomodation to relax in and a fantastic restaurant to dine in.
The John Sutherland Suite offers all your home comforts but in a way that makes you feel like you are staying in top class accomodation. The suite was clean, comfortable, well furnished and had excellent views, the perfect place to relax and enjoy Southwold.
The restaurant offered a great range of food that was beautifully cooked, presented and served. Each course just got better and better.
Everyone at the hotel made us feel very welcome and comfortable and delivered an experience which i hope to repeat again in the future. Thank you!!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Southwoldstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.8 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
336 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Southwold
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,014 reviews
12.2 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
658 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 56 High Street, Southwold IP18 6DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Southwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel set in a medieval building in the beautiful seaside town of Southwold. Included in THE TIMES; 30 coolest hotels on the coast. April 2016 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutherland House Hotel And Restaurant
Sutherland Hotel Southwold
Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing