We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place for ladies that lunch!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 19 Southwold B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The perfect place for ladies that lunch!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I often stay in Southwold, and have eaten in many of the assorted restaurants in the area. On this summer trip my aunt and I were treated with a fabulous lunch at Sutherland House. The hotel itself is beautiful inside and full to brimming with Southwold charm. The staff were extremely friendly, welcoming and also had great knowledge on the menu, which is great if you're not very good at choosing. They went the extra mile to ensure that every aspect of our lunch was perfect. I love sea-food and choose the sea-food tagliatelle..honestly it was the best sea-food I have had in this country, fresh, beautifully cooked and seasoned and well presented. After lunch we were shown to a tranquil seated garden area with plenty of tree shade where we had coffee before heading off to the close by sea-front.
I will definitely re-visit and would highly recommend it to any food lover!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    105
    43
    10
    7
See reviews for
78
587
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Great evening with exceptional quality food. Great service from the staff and lovely setting. The food is all extremely well prepared and looks lovely when presented. The local southwold atmosphere is really embraced with the menu and the detail of each item. The selection of all courses for dinner was varied and all looked and tasted wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bantoft_Accountants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromer, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

From the moment we set eyes on Sutherland House to the moment we stepped inside to the goodbyes at the end of our stay it was without doubt amazing, pure hospitality magic. Andy and the Sutherland House team made us feel incredibly welcome as if we were the friends they hadn't seen in a while. Our room was splendid just what we were expecting from looking at the website but oh so much more.........comfortable, chic, everything we could possibly want so very inviting and a real pleasure to be in. Our evening meal in the restaurant and our breakfast the next day was spectacular........quality ingredients, well presented, fantastic flavour combinations and served with flair and warmth. The attention to detail throughout is to be admired and we would without question return as Sutherland House ticks all of the boxes.........THANK YOU.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Sutherland House

There is much to be said for excellence: at Sutherland House, the eating is what Torvill and Dean are to skating, or for the grandparental generation, what Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers are to dancing. And at Sutherland House there is the capacity to attend to each generation. When we were there, grateful and immaculately behaved children, diverse parents and grandparents, a couple clearing expecting a baby were all attended to with equal welcome, warmth and precision, The food, as ever, was a treat: the starters an explosion of flavours for the grownups, mains perfectly cooked plates of deliciousness – steaks (a small version for our 7-year-old), lobster, mullet; and the puddings a celebration of understated Englishness (summer pudding) and exquisite ice-creamy closure. The service was attentive without being obsequious. In summary: we SO loved I, though we would have quite liked, on a hot night, to have dined outside. Pricing: not cheap, but excellent value. Can’t wait for our next treat in this elegantly proportioned, superbly ceilinged place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shields, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I had never been to Southwold before so both hotel and location were new - 'fantastic' sums up the whole experience. The rooms were quirky and characterful - neither of which got in the way of the excellent level of amenities, including a book already propped up for relaxed reading in the bath - ably assisted by a well equipped minibar! The service could not be faulted: friendly, humorous and charming. My only complaint - can you bring a similar hotel up to Northumberland!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southam, Warwickshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have visited Southwold many times over the years and generally stay in one of the better known hotels in the centre. However, our last visit there was a disappointment so we decided to do some research. From the moment we stepped inside to the moment we left, we enjoyed solid, old fashioned kindness, courtesy and hospitality throughout our stay. Our Medieval room was large, beautifully presented and with the most amazingly ornate plaster ceiling. The bathroom was lovely. A well stocked, reasonably priced minibar was a real plus. Our dinner was a delight. Nicky had the Halibut and loved it, I had the pork dish and we rounded off with a bread and butter pudding to share. Utterly scrumptious. We LOVED Sutherland House and are already planning our next visit there. Looking at Reviews on the competition, there seems to be a whiff of complacency in some of the better known establishments. Trip Adviser enabled us to book Sutherland House in total confidence. we also saved a lot of money too! Thank you! Peter & Nicky XX

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterHolloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have just returned from our stay in the Earl of Sandwich room and loved every minute of our stay, from the friendly greeting to the amazing bath,which we of course took full advantage of. The room was spotless and great amenities with a stocked bar and tv plus DVD s if required. We booked a table in the restaurant downstairs and the food was amazing as was breakfast. The only negative comment I have was we were surprised to find that the quoted 'super king sized bed' was in fact 2 single beds pushed together which did stop us from sleeping close together which was a shame. This is why I have given only 4 stars instead of 5.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RufusIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.8 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
336 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Southwold
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,014 reviews
12.2 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
658 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 56 High Street, Southwold IP18 6DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Southwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel set in a medieval building in the beautiful seaside town of Southwold. Included in THE TIMES; 30 coolest hotels on the coast. April 2016 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutherland House Hotel And Restaurant
Sutherland Hotel Southwold
Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing