We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super food, first rate service in comfortable Old World charm Boutique Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 19 Southwold B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I would classify Sutherland House as a Boutique Hotel with an excellent Restaurant more than B&B. A couple of pointers to help others are, there was one parking space on-site, though there was plenty of free parking within a 0.5-3 minute walk, which made it easy, so similar to the normal car parking lot march at a Sheraton. Now that is the only nit out of the way... We ate dinner, then breakfast in the hotel, relaxing in the comfort of an open fire, service was perfectly attentive and timely. The meals were exquisitely crafted, with locally sourced food and a good wine list. Points of note for me were the Hotel cooked bread, the Venison for dinner and smoked Haddock for breakfast, delightful. The bedroom was a fabulous period room, with the original Elizabethan plasterwork on the ceiling and some exposed timbers, the bed was large and comfortable. If you are looking for comfortable, relaxing and marvellous food for your break, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (825)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

528 - 534 of 825 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had lunch here on a weekday and what a great meal we had. The dining room, as part of a beautiful and historic building, is a lovely environment. The menu offered a great choice of fish dishes, all our choices were very well prepared and full of flavour (my starter of scallops/black pudding/quails egg was particularly memorable). The service was excellent throughout.
We hope to return, at the earliest opportunity, to try the dinner menu. Highly recommended to all who enjoy great cuisine.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Linken58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

After a lovely wander around Southwold we decided to go back to The Sutherland to try their Sunday lunch menu and was not disappointed. We had excellent service (a new waitress) who made sure we had everything we needed and a great waiter who also was very attentive. The restaurant is relaxing and has a really pleasant feel about it. We had the vension and scallops to start followed by the pork and seabass finishing with sticky toffee pudding. I cannot say a bad word about any of it and would highly recommend the restaurant and hotel (we stayed previously). We definitely will go again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I've already reviewed the phenomenal restaurant, but felt compelled to review the Hotel. I have no idea why it is listed as a B&B, as it's clearly a fantastic restaurant with rooms, or a Boutique Hotel without a concierge.

And what rooms, we booked early and had the luck of choosing from all and picked the Duke of York Room, which was fantastic, huge with an incredible pargetted plaster ceiling and enormous fireplace. The proprietor showed us the other rooms, and whilst The Earl of Sandwich room had an amazing bathroom, I would not have swapped. There's a great suite above, and for an extended family break it would be perfect to book three rooms and enjoy the suite above. We will be returning and booking The Duke of York Room early.

Room Tip: Duke of York Room - having looked at all the rooms the Duke of York is the best IMHO, but The Earl o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank designrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Wonderful atmospheric building. Host and staff very welcoming and attentive, you could not better the service we received here. Superb room equiped with all you could need. Lovely large and comfortable bed! The food, both dinner and breakfast were simply outstanding, lovely dining room, open fire very welcome as we were there just before a very cold Easter weekend.
I couldn't reccomment this establishment highly enough, - absolutely superb. My husband and I were in Suffolk as prospective house purchasers. One thing we decided was that we must be close enough to Southwold to eat at Sutherland House!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Okay ... You have to like Fish but the food, presentation and staff all get five stars. Also very reasonable pricing too. Maybe not a place to take a young family but okay for older adults too. Parking might be an issue in the summer if you have mobility challenges but no worries if you ont mind a short walk.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cicero57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

For some reason, I have had a TA account and never thought to use it, my experience at the Sutherland House Hotel has pushed me to put my first review down in writing. What an experience... Having stayed in hotels all around the world, there is one thing that sets this privately owned hotel apart - the service. We arrived to check in at 2, were shown up to our room by the on duty manager Gal and offered advice on car parking. We had researched a small fish restaurant on the harbour (for lunch) and Gal hapilly offered us directions, supplied us with a bottle of wine and even some freshly baked bread from the kitchen to take with us. Post lunch we came back to the room to get ready for dinner; we had received a pre arrival e-mail asking us if we would like to book a table at the hotel restaurant for dinner...I could not be more grateful for the e-mail - dinner was fantastic. I had the pork belly and my girlfriend had the halibut. Post dinner Gal pointed us in the right direction for a night cap, we went to the Nelson but after one drink opted to head back to the hotel for one before bed! We ended the evening with a lovely (but unobtrusive) conversation with Gal. I could not recommend this hotel highly enough. I will be booking two dates for July and August in advance. Our Southwold experience (beautiful place) was only made better by this lovely hotel and it's staff. Incredibly refreshing to see that this type of place still exists. Well done guys.

Room Tip: The 'Earl of Sandwich' room is extra special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ra2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.8 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
352 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#4 of 4 in Southwold
51 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#2 of 4 in Southwold
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#3 of 4 in Southwold
803 reviews
4 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
772 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 56 High Street, Southwold IP18 6DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Southwold
Price Range: $121 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel set in a medieval building in the beautiful seaside town of Southwold. Included in THE TIMES; 30 coolest hotels on the coast. April 2016 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutherland House Hotel And Restaurant
Sutherland Hotel Southwold
Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing