We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic December treat!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 19 Southwold B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic December treat!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I treat ourselves to a weekend away every December as our Christmas present. We like to visit somewhere pretty on the coast with nice places to visit. It's also important to us to have a lovely room to relax in as opposed to a poky hotel room where the bed takes up all the space!

The Sutherland House hotel and Southwold ticks all those boxes!

We stayed in the Duke of York room which is very spacious, comfortable and warm, it was ideal for relaxing as it had a flat screen TV, DVDs and furniture plus the beautiful carved ceiling.

We had dinner at the hotel the first night which was superb! Every course was beautiful and the service was top notch.

The breakfasts were equally lovely and the homemade black pudding is very tasty.

Thank you to Andy and Theresa who looked after us very well, we would love to come back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Haitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    105
    43
    10
    7
See reviews for
78
587
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We returned with friends to Sutherland House for Sunday lunch today. The food was excellent as usual. Mains included roast local pork alongside the fish specialities and all four desserts we chose were delicious. Extensive wine list. The service is friendly, attentive and never rushed. Always our restaurant of choice when we visit Southwold.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_and_Tony_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

A night at Sutherland House, followed by a night at The Swan (where we have stayed on numerous previous occasions) and Sutherland House wins hands down. If you're looking for bed and breakfast it's half the price of The Swan for a similar sized, and much better appointed room. Yes, as previous reviews have pointed out, the food at S. House is expensive. It was also the best restaurant meal I've had for a long time. The staff are friendly and helpful and I can thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: The Duke of York is spectacular, but if you want a romantic bathroom go for The Earl of Sandwich
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gamlingay
2 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just arrived back from Southwold after a 2 nights spent at The Sutherland. What a lovely relaxing time we have had. We stayed in The Duke of York room with its wonderful ceiling and what a delightful room it is. The bed was so comfortable that we didnt want to get out (lovely firm mattress and very nice snugly duvets and pillows with crisp fresh white linen) The bathroom has been newly refurbished (We were the guinea pigs) and has been done extremely well. The shower is amazing and again once in didnt want to come out, lovely fluffy large towels,dressing gowns and luxury toiletries.
Dinner in the restaurant was excellent likewise breakfast. Full Suffolk one morning, Kippers And Eggs Florentine the next. Plenty of Tea and Toast with more of each offered
Our welcome was lovely and the service from all was lovely warm friendly and helpful until the moment we left. Wish we could have stayed longer and will be going back very soon hopefully.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecockerel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I have eaten here twice the manager Andy is a great host the food is fresh and service is amazing I have not stayed here but last time I ate here I asked to see the rooms and they are wonderful this is definitely the best place to stay and/or eat whilst visiting Southwold which they rightly call Chelsea by the Sea!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

What a shame such a lovely place is so mis-managed...
The food is poor value.
The owner was dismissive and appears to have no care for customer relations.
We stay in Southwold regularly and decided to try this restaurant as we had never been....
What a disappointment!

In future we will stick to the "Crown "and "Coasters ",where over the years we have always had friendly service and excellent food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ann h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHsouthwold, General Manager at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
At Sutherland House I know I can speak for all of the staff when I say we genuinely pride ourselves on the dedication and hard work that is put in to making the customers experience a memorable one and I know that everybody concerned here will go that extra mile to try and please our guests and exceed their expectations.

On the rare occasion we fail to meet an individual’s expectations it does affect us all and that is why we always try to respond to any issues as and when they occur.

I only wish you felt you could have said something at the time, however, in this instance, posting your review a month after you visited, and with no specifics in the review, I am at a loss as to how to respond appropriately.

As such all I can do is apologise on behalf of all of us here at Sutherland House for whatever reason or reasons you did not enjoy your visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streatley on Thames, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I had been recommend Sutherland house by a friend, he had been badgering me for a longtime to go for dinner there, he rated it very highly. He was right, what a great place! Great food, good wine (NZ St Clair) and a fantastic atmosphere. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.8 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
336 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Southwold
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,014 reviews
12.2 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
658 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 56 High Street, Southwold IP18 6DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Southwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel set in a medieval building in the beautiful seaside town of Southwold. Included in THE TIMES; 30 coolest hotels on the coast. April 2016 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutherland House Hotel And Restaurant
Sutherland Hotel Southwold
Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing