We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is one of Southwold's gems.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 19 Southwold B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We were glad our usual hotel was fully booked as we would never have found this amazing restaurant with rooms.
Some of the best food we've ever eaten in lovely surroundings.
The rooms were great, the welcome warm and the service excellent. This will not be our only stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hemminm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (822)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

566 - 572 of 822 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

Sutherland House deserves to be rated number one in Southwold: its excellent.
The food is brilliant, the wine selection superb and reasonably-priced, the setting is full of character yet sophisticated, but the real star of the show is the service. Attentive yet chilled, professional and affable, led with passion and commitment by the couple who run the place whose zeal to achieve the best dining experience shines through.
My wife and I have family in the area, so visit the town often throughout the year. We first went for their (very) decently-priced lunchtime menu (if you're there when it's warm outside, definitely go for an al fresco lunch in their picturesque hidden garden), but now save visits for dinner: romantic and top quality. We can't comment on the rooms or overnight experience as we haven't yet stayed over, but have heard only good things from family friends.
Sustainability and locally-sourced produce is a big feature of the menu, with "miles to plate" being included next to prices - they use the Suffolk-sourced ingredients extensively - and we've never been there without wanting to 'just try a little of your starter/main/pudding/wine before it's gone...'
The last time we went, having left our infant son with his grandparents, SH's Andy even sent on a book to help us with getting small children to sleep - which worked! That's pretty impressive customer service.
We love it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weekend_for_two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed for two nights in the attic suite. The beamed rooms and latched doors made for pleasant surroundings. The bed was firm and comfortable. The sitting room provided a nice space to enjoy a cup of tea in the afternoon. The bathroom was OK, but if you are on the tall side the shower may prove to be a little troublesome due to the height of the shower head because of the low ceiling. At £80 pppn b&b I was hoping for a little more. We arrived on a Monday when the restaurant at the hotel is closed, unfortunately we found it difficult to get in as the doors were locked and the curtains drawn! After a four hour drive this was not the welcome we wanted. It was cold outside. I phoned the hotel number, which went to an answer machine (no help there) then I tried the bell and knocking on the door, again no response! I went round the back of the hotel and managed to find a workman and asked if there was anyone there. He managed to find a hotel worker to come down from the first floor. As we had arrived exactly at the time that we had expected to, I asked if she was expecting us (due to the difficulty we had getting in). A rather curt reply 'We are expecting two couples today'. At this time my wife was still outside in the cold. The lady then sat at the reception desk to check 'us' in. I was flabbergasted - pointing out that I would like to get my wife inside and out of the cold before she did the computer bit. Stepping over the workman's nicely varnished floor and varnish pot lid to get to the front door we were finally both inside!! Because of the beams maybe it is difficult to get the room perfectly clean - there were some cobwebs, but also there was a little dust on some surfaces. A crack in the basin and the loo seat that did not sit down properly both detracted from what should have been a quality feel, given the price. Whilst there was fresh milk provided there was not even a plain biscuit with the tea tray (we bought our own from Tescos). The kettle sat on the floor as the lead did not reach to the unit or the table. All in all there were too many small things wrong that could have been better. At checkout the proprietor Andy was kind enough to let me get one or two things off my chest so maybe you won't experience the initial problems that we did if you decide to stay here.

Room Tip: We had the attic room which had a separate lounge area. It was a nice space for our two days. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KP999_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were sadly very disappointed with our stay at the Sutherland House. It was overpriced and over-rated. It definitely does not deserve the 5 star rating. A good 3 stars but not better. We stayed in the Earl of Sandwich room which is pleasant and clean and yes has a quirky charm. But the bath takes nearly an hour to fill due to its size and the low water pressure. The shower attachment is either boiling hot or cold. The bath fittings are loose. The only toileteries provided were a miniscule bottle of shower gel and shampoo. Given that the enormous bath is the main feature this is a bit odd and mean. A choice of teas was provided - Earl Grey or ordinary. Nothing else and no complimentary biscuits etc. Which for £150-170 per night is mean in the extreme. Breakfast was OK but just that. Poached eggs and fish were both overcooked. No fresh fruit or yoghurt or pastries etc. For this reason we didn't risk the also very expensive restaurant. The bed is very large and comfortable but the duvet is meant for a much smaller bed and led to frequent exposure. The bathrobes are a nice touch but expected at this price. You access the room via outside sairs at the rear of the hotel which were slippery when wet and poorly lit. There is no lounge area for guests and no suitable seating in the room so papers had to be read sitting on the bed - OK but not 5 star luxury!. We have stayed in many hotels that have provided more luxury for significantly less money. By the way the staff were friendly and helpful. Southwold is lovely the Sutherland House is OK - not great.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHsouthwold, General Manager at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to write a review following your experience.

I was pleased to read that you felt the hotels first impression of the hotel was pleasant and clean and that you felt our staff are very polite and couldn’t do enough for you.

I was however very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your room during your stay. As you can see from 255 reviews on our hotel page and over 240 reviews on our restaurant page, we strive to provide the best to our guests and are all very upset that on this occasion we did not. We are also very sorry that you did not tell us whilst you were here, we take all our guest feedback very seriously and if a guest is not happy we always try our best to try and put things right whilst they are here.

It is only through our guest feedback we are made aware of areas we can improve on.

Once again thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent one night at the Southerland House Hotel to celebrate our 42nd Wedding Anniversary, it was perfect. We stayed in the Duke of Yorks Room, very spacious and beautifully restored - Our meal was excellent, fresh ingredients superbly cooked and unusually presented. The homemade produce - particularly the black pudding - were delicious. The smoked haddock for breakfast was the very best. Southwold you are lucky to have this gem of a Hotel and Restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seniorpartridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here with our 3 year old daughter for 1 night in the Sutherland suite which was huge and perfect as it had a separate sitting room which could accommodate our daughter. We ate in the restaurant in the evening with our daughter and couldn't of felt more at ease and welcomed by the staff with Andy the perfect host. The food was exceptional. Breakfast good too. Managed to park the car nearby which was a bonus and hope to be back soon. Only draw back for me was the shower in the ensuite which could be better.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCP71KT71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My first ever review and necessary to share our pleasure at this stay. We afforded a stay at this splendid old residence by bagging the small room, which had all the quality and comfort of the best of hotels - and we've endured a few. The greeting set the tone as our host/ head waiter was attentive, charming and helpful. The building itself is fascinating and we felt both cared for, yet private. Highlight of the stay was the restaurant meal. The only seafood specialist in delightful Southwold and of the highest calibre. A witty salmon amuse bouche, moules of Brittany quality from Brancaster Bay and Halibut (Cod for missus) cooked to perfection. Above all, we felt treated and cared for. Ignore those who grumble about creaky floorboards. Book now to enjoy this fabulous restaurant and stay. Thank you, Sutherland hotel!

Room Tip: On a budget? Book the wee room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGent_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.8 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#2 of 4 in Southwold
409 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#4 of 4 in Southwold
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#3 of 4 in Southwold
798 reviews
4 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
767 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 56 High Street, Southwold IP18 6DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Southwold
Price Range: $119 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel set in a medieval building in the beautiful seaside town of Southwold. Included in THE TIMES; 30 coolest hotels on the coast. April 2016 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutherland House Hotel And Restaurant
Sutherland Hotel Southwold
Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing