We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place, location is unique, as are the rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Stables at Henham Park
Ranked #5 of 19 Southwold B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Superb place. Do go. You could pick holes - anyone can if they really look hard enough. There are a few little problems with the rooms. But - this is a B & B, and it is easy, because of the location, the rooms, the public spaces to start to imagine you are in a 4 star hotel! It is unique. The building is unique, The rooms are unique. Utterly enjoyable, totally hospitable, unimaginably relaxing! The couple who run it are charming and incredibly helpful.
The rooms are beamed, they are part of the old fabric of the stables, the hay lofts, where the stable lads slept. They have been turned into incredible eccentric rooms. But spacious with lots of luxurious touches. The bathroom is very nice - my only little niggle would be the height of the bath, which for short people or anyone with any mobility issues, even slight, would be a challenge. Also the water was too hot and it did run out before we hot two full baths out of it. But if you know this in advance you can have a relaxing bath, but a bit shallower as the bath is massive! We didn't have a view which was perhaps the only thing you don't get, at least from our room. which is disappointing in such a wonderful place - but it is unavoidable due to the position of the rooms under the eaves.
Breakfast is fabulous - and in company. If our little group of couples was anything to go by, there are after all only a few rooms - the conversation at the breakfast table is one of the nicest things about the stay. There is a trust bar, and we bought a picnic and had it at the tables outside in the evening with a bottle of wine from the bar (delcious wine choice) - it is so peaceful and green and English.
On the last morning we took a walk in the grounds. They are enormous. When we were there there was some preparations going on for the latitude festival. Apparently some musicians were going to be in the Stables - lucky them! We also got to see the part of the stables that has been left as it was - so atmospheric.

Room Tip: Facing the park if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StarrOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 113 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

We booked this to stay the night before the Latitude festival and loved it. We have stayed all over the world in 5 star hotels, and this place really has a place in our heart. The bed and breakfast badge should not put you off if you are used to staying in trending hotels with hi-tech facilities. This place is a gem!

The room was massive, with lovely features (exposed beams, rafters etc...) the bathroom was huge too.

The staff were very welcoming (we arrived at 11pm) and they were still happy to help us with luggage and 2 very tired kids.

We'd love to stay again!

Room Tip: Minsmere has 2 singles and 1 double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Hi We returned again to the Stables for the Queens Diamond Jubilee incorperating the bank hol. And have to say it was just as good as before, if that is at all poss. Carol and David good hosts nothing too much trouble. We stayed in the Minsmere room again out of this world. Was lovely to stay here at a different time of year . Will deff be returning again , so peaceful and relaxing just what we needed,. Thankyou.

Room Tip: Minsmere room is fab ideal for a family... Very Spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cornflower187045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I decided to take my wife for a 'no kids' weekend break and we had a fantastic time. The parkland at the Stables is just breath-taking with fields of ancient woodlands offering a fascinating variety of flora and fauna. The rich tapestry of the trees in autumn offer a kaleidscopic view of many a hue. The hospitality was outstanding, Nick could not have done more to make us feel welcome, without being over-bearing or nosey. We came here to get away from the constant demands and questions of normal life with three children and Nick's unobtrusive manner was the perfect tonic. The room was simply but beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean with stunning views of the Suffolk countryside. A PERFECT RETREAT! We will be coming back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

This was my second visit to the Stables and the park and woods surrounding this lovely old building were even more stunning in late summer/early autumn. The breakfast prepared by Nick, (the manager/chef) was excellent - the scrambled eggs on english muffin with tomatoes, spring onion and creme fraiche is worthy of Master Chef. This time I stayed in Southwold Room, which although smaller than the other two suites, had plenty of space and just as much charm. There isn't a shower but a long relaxing soak in the bath was just what I needed after an afternoon walking round the park. If you're looking for a noisy, lively break this isn't the spot for you. But if you're after a place to unwind, peace and tranquility and somewhere to stay that's full of history and nostalgia then you couldn't do better.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrangeRainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Stayed in the summer {what summer!}. Lovely setting in Henham Park - 800 acres of private park land and woodland (http://www.henhampark.com/) , a huge private estate of mainly field and parkland, with a couple of stone cottages and attractive lake and nothing else to disturb the peace. We didn't walk round the'park', but other guests definitely recommended the walk.

We had intended to stay in Southwold, but weren't tempted by any of the hotels, except the Swan which is very expensive. So as The Stables is a short 20 minute drive into Southwolde, and impressed by some Trip Advisor Reviews, we chose to stay here.

The Stables is in the original stables of the large house that used to be on the estate. Certainly looks very impressive on arrival.

The accommodation and dining room, snooker room etc are quite spartan. No great comforts. Our bedroom and bathroom were depressing and unloved with a window you had to bend down to look out of. Very large room with high ceilings, and the sort of furniture you pick up in a charity shop. We expected more. Breakfast was fine, at a large communal table.

We hardly saw Nick, very pleasant, but no great welcome. No-one asked if we were happy or enjoyed our stay. Like staying in a rented room.

We usually had meals in Southwold, at the Crown, sister hotel to the Swan. Great place, lots of atmosphere, unpretentious although frequented by media 'types' etc., and always busy. Not cheap, but still good value for the inspired menu. We can't wait to go back to the Crown. Southwold is lovely, lovely independent shops and decent restaurants and pubs. Pity it was so windy and cold (in August) we couldn't even go on the beach front some days. But that's England for you!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bird3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickkirtley, Manager at The Stables at Henham Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2012

We are saddened that these guests did not enjoy their stay but are very grateful for the points that they have raised and we have now made several improvements for 2012 as a result.
We have now repainted and refurnished The Stables both internally and externally. The dining room and snooker room are described as "spartan" but this is partially to do with the sheer size of the building and rooms and some thing most guests enjoy. We have added new sofas, art work, orchids, and new lighting to give it a more homely feel.
All bedrooms have also been refurbished and repainted.New, deeper mattresses,bedding and soft towels have all been added. We specifically choose antique and retro style furnishings which we feel enhance the beautiful large vaulted ceilings and oak beamed rooms. We feel this gives each room a unique feel and again, it is something most guests enjoy.
My approach to management is to take my lead from the guests - if they want to chat I will very happily chat with them and advise on local attractions and tell them of the interesting and eccentric history of the park. If they are quieter I leave them to enjoy their stay as guests are often having a break from busy lives and would not necessarily enjoy conversations with the manager during their time away. I am sorry that these guests may have felt neglected and I do always try to ask if guests are enjoying their stay and if everything is ok for them.
Again I urge you to read all of our other Tripadvisor reviews which are almost always very positive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Hi we stayed here for my special birthday, which I had no idea as to where I'd end up, however on arriving I certainly wasn't disappointed, we as a family of 3 our daughter aged 10 loved everything about the place, nothlng too much trouble. Clean fresh and very spacious, what more could we want. We had the minsmere room so out of this world, More than enought food for breakfast, and Nick certainly spent time adv and helping. Can't fault because there is nothing to find fault with!!!.. AND WE WILL BE BACK NEXT YEAR!!!!! The Ward Family

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cornflower187045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
3.0 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
339 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#2 of 4 in Southwold
397 reviews
3.5 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#3 of 4 in Southwold
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
743 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#4 of 4 in Southwold
11 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stables at Henham Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stables at Henham Park

Address: The Stables | Henham Park, Southwold NR34 8AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Southwold
Price Range: $107 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Stables at Henham Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat from the world at our luxury boutique bed and breakfast near Southwold set in 800 acres of private parkland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Stables at Henham Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stables At Henham Park Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing