We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveler rating
96
13
5
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
96
13
5
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty bargames roombeautiful parklandlatitude festivalstable blockidyllic settingoak beamslovely breakfast roomrustic charmamazing buildingretired race horsesamazing roomcoach houseother guestsb and bdietary requirementscommunal areas
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 119 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2011

We had a one night stay, location was lovely, very quiet. Rooms were large and beamed but I felt it lacked a "soul" for want of a better word. Breakfast was served in a large dining hall on a shared table which was great, you get to fill a menu card out the night before and your bowl of cereal, yogurt etc gets served to you so no chance for extras!! at times we wondered if there was any staff it was so quiet.
I should imagine it would be a great place for a family or friends get together.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LornajsJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

We stayed here in late April for one night and it was absolutely beautiful. From the road, you wouldn't necessarily know it was here but once you drive into the grounds you see why it is probably a best kept secret - nobody wants to share it!!

The rooms are well decorated and so large you could practically hold a dinner party in them; ours was replete with oak beams and low leaded-light windows and was both comfy and cosy. The bathroom was clean and functional and if I only had one gripe it would be that there wasn't a shower in ours (only a bath) but I was made aware of this when I booked so it wasn't really a problem.

Breakfast was included and this was also very good - a choice of traditional full English or smaller things if you weren't that hungry (we were!) Plenty of choice and they would cater for special requirements if needed.

But the best thing of all was the stunning parkland itself. We took the time to walk around the grounds after breakfast and with the sun shining, the scenery was beautiful and we hardly saw another person...plenty of cows, deer and a snake though! Maps were provided and the Stables' owners couldn't be more helpful in terms of which direction we should head off in, even supplying free water and a chocolate brownie (or two!) when we got back.

I would definitely go back again...this would be an ideal setting for a romantic getaway or even just a peaceful break in the countryside, knowing that Southwold and the coast is only just up the road. It wasn't the cheapest accommodation, but you do get what you pay for and in this case, it was definitely worth it. Thank you for having us!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milk_no_sugar_please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Loved everything about Nicks b&b..the rooms were overly spacious and very comfortable...the setting is unbeleivable and is a true relaxing away from it all getaway.. In the morning of our departure we walked around some of the grounds and were the only people there..we felt it was such an exciting find which completely added to the wonderful break that we had in this very beautiful part of suffolk. There is loads to do and discover in the area so we will definately be going back and guess what?? we WILL be booking the The Stables...

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlywarly100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2010

We opted to stay here instead of in Southwold itself because of how lovely it looked and the good reviews on here and we certainly weren't let down!

The attention to detail and all the extra touches really make this place something special. The choice of breakfast and quality was excellent and having the games room and honesty box for drinks and snacks is a really nice touch. We particularly enjoyed the chunks of chocolate fudge brownies that were out for people to help themselves to-they were delicious and melted in the mouth!

The surroundings of Henham Park were beautiful with surrounding walks. And being in the middle of nowhere meant it was extremely peaceful and dark!

We thoroughly recommend staying here and is worth being a little way out of Southwold for what the experience of staying here gives you, compared to other places in the town.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshinegirl_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

The Stables is simply in one of the most stunning parks in the UK, and it's one of the best conversions of a Grade 2 building in the UK. Nick and his staff do an excellent job in running the whole operation - really welcoming, good breakfasts and providing lots of local information - walks, attractions, restaurants....

We've stayed in a lot of places, and will write critical reports if we think there are problems and value for money issues, so, of course, others would benefit - we benefit from other contributors! However, in the case of The Stables we unreservedly recommend staying there - it's one of the very best B&Bs in the UK.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mel_the_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews