We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food, Good accomodation pleasant propriorter.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Newlands Country House
Ranked #15 of 20 Southwold B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food, Good accomodation pleasant propriorter.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2010

We found the room of a very good standard and also prepared for disabled use.
The Breakfast utilised Local Produce of the highest standard the food was prepared and presented on piping hot plates and tasted as good as it looked.
If like me you require a soft mattress do ask and it will be provided.the garden was well kept and the swimming pool was available to all guests. First class all round!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarveyFruish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    21
    9
    7
    2
See reviews for
30
56
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

excellant food,accomodation, the hosts show you around and explain anything you need to know. super indoor pool , + some gym equipment ( if you want it )
a light, bright, tidy, friendly, and well presented guest house. we will return .!!

alan / janet from the chanel shop ( shower section ) know wot i mean pen ?

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starla100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

Reasonable location set in large gardens not too far from the town and beaches. Excellent hospitality, breakfast and accommodation and of course the swimming pool is a bonus. Large rooms with on suite shower all very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank durleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

Wonderful place to stay if you are not fit. Will be going again

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank royhug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

Newlands is not an ordinary B & B, the accommodation provided and the welcome was well above average. We spent a short holiday there with our daughter and two grandaughters who made good use of the swimming pool while we sat nearby and read. Everything was spotless and the breakfasts were something to look forward to. We certainly hope to return there.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGHS49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Eaton
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

Stayed for 2 nights in August with our 2-year old and 8-month old. We stayed in the main house and Penny was very helpful arranging an extra bed for the 2-year old and could have also provided a travel cot if needed. Lovely bedroom and bathroom, very clean and good facilities - I used the indoor swimming pool room to play in with my youngest as he was up at 5 each morning! The owners were very friendly and helpful. Yummy breakfast in the morning and a wonderfully clean highchair. The house is just outside the main town of Southwold so we needed to drive in for the beach, but that wasn't a problem and probably meant we had a slightly quieter stay. Would definitely recommend for family stays and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beagle77LongEaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

We stayed here for 1 night midweek myself ,partner & 8 year old son we had a garden room which was clean spacious and comfortable , gardens front & back , swimmimg pool was great for my son when the weather was too bad for the beach. Quiet location , and you have to drive into Southwold but this wasn't a problem for us . Breakfast was great & owners friendly and helpful but not intrusive . Quite pricey but more for your money than the average b&b and no where near as expensive as the hotels in southwold.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gingerdolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.3 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
22.1 mi away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
23.3 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newlands Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newlands Country House

Property: Newlands Country House
Address: 72 Halesworth Road | Reydon, Southwold IP18 6NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Southwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Newlands Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
only a mile from the town centre is award winning NEWLANDS COUNTRY HOUSE ETB 4 STAR SILVER offering first class accommodation, Level access En-suite Garden Rooms with full disabled facilities, Family rooms, heated indoor swimming pool & ample off road parking large gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newlands Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newlands Country House Hotel Southwold
Newlands Country Hotel
Newlands Country House Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing