We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay, lovely people !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Newlands Country House
Ranked #16 of 19 Southwold B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

We went down to newlands on the 20th of April down to stay to show my girlfriend what an amazing place Southwold is and how good newlands hotel is!, and my girlfriend and I where not disappointed, the owner and his wife where lovely always providing a good service and amazing breakfast! I cannot believe how much you get for your price a heated pool and breakfast cooked for you and an amazing clean and tidy room for that it was amazing we are thinking about coming back to Southwold for longer and newlands is the place to stay !


We both just wanna say thank you to you both for making it extra special!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Smithhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 110 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2012

My boyfriend took me away for my birthday the weekend before and we had the most amazing time ever... Our room was lovely, the bed was comfy and the wirlpool bath was a beautiful touch.
Couldnt have asked for anything more, we both wish we could have stayed longer. Our breakfast in.the mornings were perfect and we couldnt get enough of the heated swimming pool. The owners were very genuine people who couldnt do enough for you... We are deffo coming.back soooonnn :-)

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinkamy94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Not sure where to start re. our recent wonderful visit to Newlands! I suppose "in a nutshell" that our fantastic experience was predominately down to the hospitality and attentiveness of Patrick who is managing the family-owned accommodation! From welcoming us on our arrival to serving the heartiest breakfasts we have treated ourselves to for a long time - nothing was too much trouble! A previous reviewer who talked about superb quality of meats was spot on! Garden room was light and airy and the management are in process of refreshing the rooms with new curtains and bedding. Location very peaceful and genuinely within walking distance of Southwold if weather hadn't have been so bad. Swimming pool clean and good temperature (but only open certain times due to no lifeguard. Think from 2pm to 8pm?) Only downside was our son cried all the way home as he wanted to stay! As a family, we cant wait to go back to Newlands soon and are already talking about when! Thanks Patrick!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philippa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

excellent weekend this B & B is first class everything is very clean food fantastic (not the usual cheap meats) swimming pool is clean temp is just right, penny and david who run this place are both lovely people nothing is too much trouble and for any disabled traveller you couldnt wish for anything else the gardens are well kept and tidy cant praise enough deserves 5 star i have stayed in many much worse 5 star establishments would reccommend NEWLANDS to everybody looking forward to our next visit

Room Tip: garden rooms the best for access loads of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kathryn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

A big thank you to Penny and David for our stay at their excellent hotel.
If we hadn't have found their hotel which had everything for my disabled husband, we couldn't have got to our son's wedding.
It was like home from home because Penny had thought of everything for our special needs.
Nothing was too much trouble for them, they simply said just ask us for anything.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

First visit to Southwold - Newlands was an amazing find - we had a huge garden room with excellent facilities for a wheelchair user, overhead hoist, huge bathroom. Penny and David couldn't have been more helpful, great breakfasts, lovely gardens to relax in. Stayed 5 nights - can't wait to go back and maybe use the pool!

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank Hotwheels801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed in a garden room and took our own travel cot. The decor was tidy, but the furnishings were tired - duvet cover very faded and washed out. Lot's of storage for hanging clothes, although on the shelf above the hanging rail there were many cobwebs. We were led to believe that the room would have it's own fridge, but this was in the main building and had to be shared with other guests. We thought for the amount of money the room cost per night there would be a fridge in the room. The bathroom was clean but shower pressure very weak. The bed must be the most uncomfortable bed ever made, and certainly the most uncomfortable we have ever slept in, both my hips felt bruised in the mornings as the bed was so hard.
One good point was the washing line in the garden behind the building, as you could dry off damp towels instead of trying to dry them in the room.
The pool was an added bonus to the stay, although quite cold, and a pain having to remove the cover each time we wanted to use it and cover it over when we had finished. We felt this is something that should have been done by the hosts.
Breakfast for us was not adequate for the price we paid per night. Only tinned prunes or tinned grapefuit every day, and only orange juice to drink. The cooked breakfast was nice enough but not enough of it! We are not greedy, but one sausage is not enough! When we have stayed in other b&b's (and for less money per night) we have been offered variations in the cooked breakfast - smoked salmon with scrambled egg on toast, as well as various fresh fruit, and a choice of fruit juice.
Overall we were disappointed with our stay at Newlands, we won't be going back again and wouldn't recommend it. Very poor value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank FrankieBaby73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southwold hotels
0.3 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
354 reviews
1 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
405 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant
2.8 mi away
The Stables at Henham Park
The Stables at Henham Park
#5 of 19 in Southwold
114 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sail Lofts
Sail Lofts
#13 of 19 in Southwold
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newlands Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newlands Country House

Address: 72 Halesworth Road | Reydon, Southwold IP18 6NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Southwold
Price Range: $70 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newlands Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
only a mile from the town centre is award winning NEWLANDS COUNTRY HOUSE ETB 4 STAR SILVER offering first class accommodation, Level access En-suite Garden Rooms with full disabled facilities, Family rooms, heated indoor swimming pool & ample off road parking large gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Newlands Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newlands Country House Hotel Southwold
Newlands Country Hotel
Newlands Country House Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing