We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Newlands Country House
Ranked #14 of 19 Southwold B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed in a garden room and took our own travel cot. The decor was tidy, but the furnishings were tired - duvet cover very faded and washed out. Lot's of storage for hanging clothes, although on the shelf above the hanging rail there were many cobwebs. We were led to believe that the room would have it's own fridge, but this was in the main building and had to be shared with other guests. We thought for the amount of money the room cost per night there would be a fridge in the room. The bathroom was clean but shower pressure very weak. The bed must be the most uncomfortable bed ever made, and certainly the most uncomfortable we have ever slept in, both my hips felt bruised in the mornings as the bed was so hard.
One good point was the washing line in the garden behind the building, as you could dry off damp towels instead of trying to dry them in the room.
The pool was an added bonus to the stay, although quite cold, and a pain having to remove the cover each time we wanted to use it and cover it over when we had finished. We felt this is something that should have been done by the hosts.
Breakfast for us was not adequate for the price we paid per night. Only tinned prunes or tinned grapefuit every day, and only orange juice to drink. The cooked breakfast was nice enough but not enough of it! We are not greedy, but one sausage is not enough! When we have stayed in other b&b's (and for less money per night) we have been offered variations in the cooked breakfast - smoked salmon with scrambled egg on toast, as well as various fresh fruit, and a choice of fruit juice.
Overall we were disappointed with our stay at Newlands, we won't be going back again and wouldn't recommend it. Very poor value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank FrankieBaby73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 110 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stopped here for two nights so we could explore Southwold and we weren't disappointed. Penny was so helpful, sorting out a shower chair for my wife who's a wheelchair user. Room was airy, light and quiet. Breakfasts were tasty. Yes, it's a walk to get into Southwold but we knew that - and after a good session at the Crown it was a pleasant meander back!

We stopped in a wheelchair-adapted room which was perfect for our needs. And the bed was the most comfortable of all those we stopped in during our Norfolk / Suffolk stay.

Our only regrets were that we never made it into the swimming pool and that we couldn't stop longer!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimonHJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Thank you Penny and David for your hospitality, delicious breakfasts, beautiful home and garden, all fully accessible, 5 minutes in the car from the sea front. My husband is a wheelchair user but all our needs were met in your accomodation....(we could have used your pool because a hoist is available, but we didn't have the time).....thank you. I can't honestly say anything bad about our stay with you except I never did get a cuddle from your beautiful cat xx Lots of love hopefully see you again. This is a B&B for all the family that is open to all, even those who have mobility problems !!

Room Tip: Just tell them what you want/need as they are more than happy to make your stay as pleasant as they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthamptonGaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Newlands is an excellent guest house, just on the periphery of beautiful Southwold. It distinguishes itself well from the many other B&B and hotel offerings in the area with its well-proportioned pool, which is available for guests to use each day between 2pm and 8pm, as well as for early morning, pre-breakfast swims. The place was well-occupied when we went, but we nonetheless had time alone in the pool, since this was obviously not the key attraction for all guests. Presumably they were appealed to by Newlands' other virtues of spotlessly clean, comfortable rooms and a good welcome by hosts David and Penny. They might also keep coming back for the excellent breakfast, which was sumptuous and plentiful in equal measure. We stayed in Room 2, which is their premium room, and worth the expense for its size, comfort and splendid whirlpool bath.

Some people may quibble with Newlands' location, and it's worth being aware that it is a one mile walk into Southwold Town Centre. However, in the good weather, this is a very pleasant stroll, along a reasonably well-lit street. We walked into town (in preference to driving, so I could enjoy a pint of Adnam's famous ale - Southwold brewed) in the evening, and ate at an Adnam's pub, The Crown. It is one of a set of twins - its counterpart being posher and more formal in the shape of The Swan. We'd certainly recommend the food at The Crown, which is not cheap but isn't outrageously expensive in comparative terms for the area, and was all excellent. The walk back gives you an opportunity to work off the excess you'll certainly incur if you enjoy any of their delicious desserts! Or, if it's raining, there are cab numbers available in all the many free "Guide to Southwold" booklets around. Since it is only a mile, the fare cannot be much.

In all, a definite hit, and particularly worthwhile if you will make use of Newlands' excellent pool.

Room Tip: Room 2 gets you a whirlpool bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S0uthlondontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

This is a brilliant place to stay, rooms are large and clean, breakfast is of a very high standard and the indoor swimming pool is great insurance against the British weather.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DM2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Had a lovely 2 night stay. Room was very spacious for all of us. Facilities excellent. Had the pool to ourselves. Lovely area. Would definately go back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hirons21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2011

We had a lovely two nights at Newlands the rooms were spotlessly clean, both my mother and myself were on disabled scooters, the garden rooms were very well kitted out for the disabled, the breakfasts were superb and the hostess was lovely from one landlady to another good job

Room Tip: Excellent disabled facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guesthouseChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.3 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
339 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#3 of 4 in Southwold
789 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#2 of 4 in Southwold
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#4 of 4 in Southwold
13 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
743 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newlands Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newlands Country House

Address: 72 Halesworth Road | Reydon, Southwold IP18 6NS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Southwold
Price Range: $66 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newlands Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
only a mile from the town centre is award winning NEWLANDS COUNTRY HOUSE ETB 4 STAR SILVER offering first class accommodation, Level access En-suite Garden Rooms with full disabled facilities, Family rooms, heated indoor swimming pool & ample off road parking large gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Newlands Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newlands Country House Hotel Southwold
Newlands Country Hotel
Newlands Country House Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing