We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adnams Brewery Tour

Adnams Brewery Tour
Ranked #1 of 2 Food & Drink in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Behind the walls of our Victorian building in the heart of Southwold sits one of the most modern breweries in the UK. Over the past few years the brewery has undergone a complete refurbishment with the replacement of the brewstream being the most recent update. This state-of-the-art installation recovers 100% of the heat and steam from each brew, 90% of which is used to reheat the next. This reduces the amount of gas needed during the brewing process by 30%.The new system can also brew larger batches in less time, making more efficient use of raw materials. It is also very efficient in water usage with a ratio of 3.2 pints of water to every pint of beer, compared to the industry average of 8. It even cleans itself and we're trying to programme it to make the tea too. But don't just take our word for it, book a tour, come and meet one of the brewery team and see it all for yourself. Please book ahead online for by calling our booking line to avoid disappointment.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Don't be put off by the £12 each it is fantastic.
I was put off as I have been on a brewery tour before round charley wells but this issomething else!! And better!
The lady that took us round was fantastic.
We tasted the barley itself and all different types.
We also (best of all!) Tried all different beers and we was also allowed to try wine and spirit tasting!!
We then also got a voucher each for a bottle of beer (selection of 6 to chooser from)
I honestly can't praise this enough and well worth the money! Definitely recommend!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank honeyc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, General Manager at Adnams Brewery Tour, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and we're delighted that you had such an enjoyable time and thought it was good value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    112
    30
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Must admit we were initially put off with the £12 charge, but don't be. The tour itself is really interesting, our tour guide was knowledgable and some insight into the ecosaving measures was an eye opener. There was a generous tasting session of a variety of beers at the end and then some wine tasting back at the shop! A free bottle of beer to take home and the tour was good value and not a bad way to spend an afternoon.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ausbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at Adnams Brewery Tour, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you found the tour for good value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Good value, very informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We organized trip for 7, we did the distillery tour in the morning this proved quite a surprise, did not know Adnams produced so many spirits, will come back and do the Distillery Experience when you blend your own gin. We had a great lunch followed by the Brewery Tour in the afternoon. Lots of tasting of spirit, beer and wine, just a great day out thanks to all the Admans staff who could not do enough to please.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at Adnams Brewery Tour, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that you had a brewery and distillery tour and enjoyed them both and had a very special day with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F0rmatted
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

I cannot praise this highly enough. The price may be a slight turn off at £12 but it is certainly more than worth it. Our guide Chris was witty, knowledgable and down to earth; he was more than capable of answering any of our tours questions.

Brewery is excellent and so is the beer!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank F0rmatted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, Public Relations Manager at Adnams Brewery Tour, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review your tour experience. We are delighted that you found the tour Chris gave informative and funny as well as good value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting and tasty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had a Saturday morning tour of the Adnams brewery in May 2013. It all started with much excitement as my husband had to rescue the guide from a pigeon that had become trapped in her office and she was too scared to get the keys to the brewery!

Pigeon safely caught and released outside and our tour began. We started with a fascinating video showing all the amazing diversification and ecological steps Adnams are taking to make sure they are an ethical and truly local company - very inspiring!

Our tour guide Lucy was very friendly and knowledgable and took us through the brewing process step by step, allowing us to look into the giant vats of beer and take in all the sights and smells that accompany the brewing process.

The tour ended with a generous and delicious tasting session and a trip to the shop where we were treated to a further wine and spirit tasting.

All in all it was a really interesting and fun way to spend the morning.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, Public Relations Manager at Adnams Brewery Tour, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your tour with us.

And an additional thanks goes to your husband for rescuing Lucy from the pigeon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adnams Brewery Tour also viewed

 

Been to Adnams Brewery Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing