We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely Sunday lunch!”
Review of Randolph Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Randolph Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely Sunday lunch at the Randolf's restaurant last week. Friendly and welcoming staff, warm and comfortable restaurant, great food and fantastic value. The meat and fish was super and fresh vegatables excellent. Puddings were divine.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Nick1956

Thank you fo taking the time to write a review on us at The Randolph, we were delighted to look after you all for Sunday Lunch.

Hope to see you again soon

Best Wishes

David and Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 348 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

On another trip to Southwold we stayed again at the Randolph as we enjoyed the quality of the rooms good food and friendly service. All that said could you please ask the staff to turn that music down before breakfast, it really was intrusive and broke the peace and quiet us townies visit such places for. We were by the way staying in room 2 which I assume is above the kitchen.We will however come again.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Trinovantian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Trinovantian

Thank you for your tripadvisor review, we were delighted to read that you were a returning guest, having enjoyed before the 'quality of the rooms, good food and friendly service' as you so beautifully put it! I am of course dissapointed to read that the Chef's were enjoying the radio in the kitchen so much and have made them aware of theIr actions - without cutting the plug off! (yet) They have been warned......

Best wishes and thank you again for your kind words.


David and Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

What a lovely hotel. We had a very warm welcome on a freezing evening. Our room was welcoming (and warm) and very quiet, We ate in the bar and the food was delicious. After a very good nights sleep breakfast was served with a very cheery smile and set us up for the day. We will recommend to others and will return. Thank you all!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cambridgebarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Dear Cambridgebarney

Thank you so much for our lovely review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and we look forward to seeing you again soon

with best wishes and thanks again

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

we decided to extend a trip to Suffolk with a couple of days on the coast and found the Randolph.

As the weather was terrible we ended up arriving at the hotel much earlier than expected and we where shown to one of the top floor rooms. Please note there is not a lift here and the stairs are long and steep !

It was very nicely appointed room with a nice bathroom and a spotlessly clean - the only issue we had was the room was cold. Now this was last weekend (22 - 24 of March) and it was exceptionally cold.

We found a heater in the wardrode and that took the edge of the chill.

After spending the afternoon exploring in Southwold (very cold) we returned to the hotel where we had booked dinner - which I have to say was very nice - not exactly flawless but of a good standard and very pleasant.

Breakfast the next morning was served in the hotel restaurant and was very pleasant. Clearly they pride themselves on sourcing good ingredients

So, I'm summary a nice hotel. The staff are very friendly and the food is good.

If I was back in the area I would stay again. The only downside was the cold room but the hotel did their best to fix this adding in an extra radiator etc.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mat_C220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Matt_C20

Thank you for your review of The Randolph, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much on what has been our coldest March for years!

Future guests please note that we do not have a lift as the hotel was built in 1899 and never allowed for the provision of one, we will however happily carry your bags to your room.

We look forward welcoming you back again in the future

with best wishes


David and Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I visited the Randolf Hotel recently with family for lunch. Despite the weather being so very cold the staff offered a warm welcome and a "cheery" hello. The menu which ranged from light bites to a full three course lunch was comprehensive to say the least. Although we only ordered a main course the food was just fabulous!! I would highly recommend you visit them if you're in the area - you won't be disappointed! We have already booked and family lunch for Boxing Day!!

At this point we have not stayed at the Randolf but if the quality and standard in the restaurant is anything to go by then I'm sure we will be doing so.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DB1Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear DB1Essex

Thank you for your lovely review of The Randolph Restaurant, we are delighted that you enjoyed our food and service and thank you for taking the time to confirm this to potential guests.

We look forward to you coming to stay with us sometime and enjoying our hospitality again.

with best wishes

David and Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a business trip to Suffolk, staying the first night at the Randolph. It's the first time we've ever been to Southwold (what a lovely place) and we could not have been better looked after at the Randolph. Donna and David are very attentive and have an extremely good team of staff, for whom nothing was too much trouble. The bar and restaurant were packed and full of atmosphere, food and drink were first class and good value, and everybody (staff and customers alike) was so friendly. The room was spacious, and in spite of the cold weather was nice and cosy, with a VERY comfortable bed. Breakfast was excellent. We WILL be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Around the World in 80 Ways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Around the world in 80 ways

Thank you for taking the time to review the Randolph, I am delighted that you liked our welcome, the hotel and the food, we were delighted to read that this was your first visit to the area and we hope that it will not be your last.!

Reviews from senior contributors such as yourselves are very much appreciated and give Kudos to the hotel for which we are very grateful.

Best wishes and thank you again

David and Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Their semi regular "tenner fest" main meal and a drink £10.00
Honestly For the quality and money I don't know how they do it
Superb cassoulet great service and nice staff
SUPERB
Donna & David plus Their staff deserve 5 stars

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murraygellatly2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Murray

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a glowing review, especially from a 'Locals' point of view, The Winter Warmer nights will be returning in September 2013 (albeit with a tiny increase!) and we hope to see you and your family partaking again.

With best wishes to you both

David and Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.9 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#2 of 4 in Southwold
409 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#4 of 4 in Southwold
45 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#3 of 4 in Southwold
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
767 reviews
9.3 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Lowestoft
502 reviews
12.8 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Randolph Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Randolph Hotel

Address: 41 Wangford Road | Reydon, Southwold IP18 6PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Price Range: $102 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Randolph Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Randolph is a family run hotel in the village of Reydon near SOUTHWOLD. You will be assured of a relaxing stay in the Number One Hotel in the Southwold area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Randolph Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Randolph Hotel Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing