We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed there would stay again”
Review of Blyth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blyth Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Cheshunt
1 review
“Stayed there would stay again”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Nice hotel in a good location near the town and pier and good value for money
Friendly staff
Comfortable room with en suite, everything worked
Nice dinner and good breakfast
We would stay again if we go back to the area

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bry393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    299
    133
    41
    29
See reviews for
78
509
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed at the Blyth Hotel for 2 nights in late September and had a lovely break. All staff are very cheerful and welcoming, breakfast was very good with large choice on menu and the location was spot on with a short walk to all areas of Southwold. Easy parking also which is always a bonus. This was our first visit to Southwold which is a lovely relaxing place and we were lucky enough to have 3 sunny days. Looking forward to going again next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueK2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The staff here were welcoming and cheerfull. We stayed in a superior room which was decorated in modern colours, with pretty lighting. The bed was comfortable and there was a good shower. The bar is modern and there are some sofas. The food was excellent. Breakfast choices included full english, kippers, scrambled eggs with smoked salmon. For evening meal we had pan fried sea bream with pearl barley, fennel and tomato . It was excellent. The hotel is just a short walk from the main high street with lots of small interesting shops and from the sea, promenade and Southwolds interesting and very pleasant pier.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonLynette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Two night stay lovely weather asked for a quiet room, room near the main road but it was relatively quiet.Windows did not close properly, but as weather was warm not really an issue.Chose not to have our evening meal here as noticed only one other couple booked.Breakfast the first day was excellent but today with the manager on his own the experience was chaotic at best, with the tables piled with dirty plates etc.Kippers I ordered were inedible and salty.Location excellent and the hotel staff friendly, nice hotel just let down by a poor breakfast experience.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leicestersupporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

very comfortable bed.
windows frames very old, I wouldn't want to stay here in winter. as 1 of the windows wouldn't close. bathroom could do with a good clean. breakfast good. it's okay to do 1 night.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank anncrate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The good points, the staff were lovely, very friendly. The breakfasts were nice, not buffet style ordered from a menu and the bar area was comfy.
Bad points, we had an attic room (was styled superior) the room was quite cold, the windows need repairing, the room door wouldn't shut properly, the TV was so small and far away from the bed needed binoculars to read anything and as has been said carpets and decor need some tlc.
In a bizarre way those points make it sound worse than it is, has a kind of charm and of course is based in lovely Southwold.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedWimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

OK, let's get the negative stuff out of the way. Yes, the wi-fi signal is non-existent in some rooms, but I go to Southwold to escape the 21st century. Yes, the decor and carpets are looking a bit tired. But ... the rooms are clean and comfortable, the breakfasts are superb (with freshly cooked dishes that don't appear on many other hotel menus, e.g. american pancakes with maple syrup and bacon, rather than the all-too-frequently-found buffet drying out under hot lamps since 5.30am) and the dinner similarly good. For all of that I think £99 per room is good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.6 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
323 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
384 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Southwold
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
673 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
989 reviews
12.4 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blyth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blyth Hotel

Property: Blyth Hotel
Address: Station Road, Southwold IP18 6AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Blyth Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple, yet stylish. The Blyth offers comfortable, well decorated bedrooms, all en-suite with a popular bar and AA Rosette awarded restaurant. A perfect, family friendly base for your stay in the beautiful town of Southwold. Contemporary seaside hospitality at its best - personal service from a friendly and experienced team of staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blyth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blyth Hotel Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing